We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange Place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Forest Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bozeman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver Forest Inn
Save
You added Silver Forest Inn to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   15325 Bridger Canyon Road, Bozeman, MT 59715   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Bozeman B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Strange Place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We took the Madison room. 2 twin beds and private bath. In the basement. Underground completely. No window, no ventilation of any sort, pitch dark, no night light...tiny, no place for a suitcase...no keys, no locks (the entire place, every door inside and out, was unlocked all the time), no exit in a fire except back up the stairs, very strange. The innkeeper was nice but apparantly was moving out the morning after we checked in-- so she said--we never saw her again. A new one didn't show up by 4:00 that next day. We pre paid three nights but left after one-unless some innkeeper was hiding out somewhere, when we left the place was completely vacant--and unlocked. The advertised outdoor grill had no starter button (gone) and an empty tank. The hot tub was full of ants and cold. The kitchen that we could use was pretty dirty. Breakfast was continental and old food. The location was absolutely gorgeous. What a way to waste an investment....

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Silver Forest Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Hi L,

I am very let down that you were dissatisfied with your stay at the Inn. At the Silver Forest Inn we do not pretend to be anything we are not, which is an Authentic Montana Mountain Experience, and in all of our marketing materials we state the honest truth of what we are. Regardless of that, you want to know how we will make this right. I am happy offer you a free-night in one of our non-cheap rooms if you are willing to give us another chance. Regarding your comments:

Innkeeper that you experienced is gone. They were going through some personal problems that were effecting their work. Not an issue any more, we have a great new Innkeeper who is vibrant, fun, and excited.

Hot tub: See above. Still no excuse from me.

Grill: The knobs stink on all gas grills, pack of long-stem matches right on the windowsill in the kitchen for this purpose. Cooked on it last night and it was at least half-full, so I will double check all is working.

Locks: All rooms have keys on top of dressers. Innkeeper should have pointed this out to you.

By booking the least expensive room online, you got the least expensive room- which is nothing special (nor do we pretend any differently).

From our website: "The Madison is on the ground-floor and features two single beds and an en suite. There isn't really anything special about the Madison room, other than the location and facilities are still second to none. This is a great inexpensive option for kids or die-hard powderhounds looking more for a place to crash more than anything else" The photos on the website also prevail the room exactly as it is, so I do not feel that we misrepresented the room in any manner. In a comparative price range in Bozeman you could stay at a motel with high traffic, no common areas, no deck, no kitchen, and certainly no views.

Contintental breakfast; well, that is what we offer. Again, from the website: All of our prices include cold AKA 'Continental' breakfast; this is cereals, bagels/ toast/ muffins, juice, coffee/ tea, and fruit. This will be set out and available to guests from 7:30am until 10:00, unless otherwise arranged directly with the Innkeeper.

Made to order hot breakfast (eggs, potatoes, bacon, sausage, the works) is available from 7:30am until 9:00am; at your convenience- unless if it is a serious powder day than things get cooking earlier. We realize not everyone wants hot breakfast, so we offer this service for an additional $10 per person/ per meal.

In conclusion, I am very sorry that you were let down at your stay with us. I would appreciate the opportunity to make this right by you. I will happily reimburse you for your entire stay, but to do so I need to speak with you directly because I cannot reimburse through the method you booked the room through and do not have your contact details consequently.

For others who are reading this review and considering staying at the Silver Forest Inn- please just call us to reserve. We will always be honest with you and make sure that your expectations are met.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    6
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
21
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Decided on a last minute trip from Bozeman to the Silver Forest Inn for Memorial Day weekend. It snowed in the Bridger Canyon all weekend and it was gorgeous. Relaxing by the fire in the great room watching the snow fall was wonderful. Enjoyed the Bridger View room and very much enjoyed the company of the other guests and the hospitality of the host and inn keepers. Even went snowshoeing a few miles up the canyon from the inn on the Bangtail Divide trail.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman,MT
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I went to The Silver Forest Inn for our 31st anniversary. We reserved the Turret Room and the Amber room so that we could have a bathroom to ourselves. The Inn is rustic and beautiful outside and very cozy inside. The Turret room view in the morning is well worth the quite long walk to the bathroom. We had the Inn to ourselves the night we stayed which was an added bonus. It was a great quick getaway.

Room Tip: Get the Turret room if you can do stairs to go to the bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

My husband, muself and 4 year old daughter decided to stay here as it was convenient to Bridger Bowl Slopes and a few miles up the mountain from Bozeman. Our room was perfect, with a King and twin bed, private bath. The views from the inn were breathtaking. Will and his pup, Augie were gracious hosts, and my daughter still will tell anyone who asks that Augie was her favorite part of her Montana vacation. Will went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed, and the hot breakfasts he prepared were substantial and delicious!

Room Tip: There are a number of well appointed rooms available. Check out photos and options on their website...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the turret room. The views from this room were breathtaking! The room was small but very cozy with a comfortable bed. We were in good company that night with the owner, Will and a couple local guests from Bozeman. Will went out of his way to make us feel comfortable and at home. He made a scruptious breakfast the next morning and he gave many suggestions for local area attractions. We went snowshoeing down the road from the Inn. We highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a cozy room with a fantastic view, definitely go with the turret room. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

As a Bozeman local I feel like I know the terrain pretty well, but wow was I suprised by this cozy little retreat. Not only was this place relaxing, but it was just minutes away from Bozeman and right by Bridger Bowl. After skiing we sat by a huge fireplace where we kicked up our feet and enjoyed full glasses of wine. The housekeeper was so nice and had even baked us cookies. We chatted away. Afterward my boyfriend and I were entranced by the serenity while we sat in the hot tub and watched the lights of the groomers go up the mountain. I cannot remember the last time I was so relaxed. We woke up, reluctantly from our pillowy bed, to the wonderful smell of baked goods coming out of the oven and a fresh pot of coffee. We are more than excited to plan our next trip, and next time we will bring friends. I highly recommend this unique local get away and add it to the "must do list" for Bozeman experiences.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

My wife and I lived in Bozeman years ago and went back to visit. We stayed at the Inn because we wanted to be in the Mountains, but still close to town. It was a beautiful place with amazing mountain views and bugling elk, just a few minutes outside of Bozeman, and near Bridger Bowl skiing. The inn keeper was friendly, personable, and a great cook. We enjoyed getting to know him, and he was also polite and let us have our restful space. The Inn is beautiful, warm, cozy and the breakfast was thoughtfully prepared. This is the best possible experience we could have had in Bozeman and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The Turret room has nearly 360 degree views, amazing to wake up in the morning to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Forest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Forest Inn

Address: 15325 Bridger Canyon Road, Bozeman, MT 59715
Location: United States > Montana > Bozeman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bozeman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Forest Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Forest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.