We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tiny breakfast, no compensation if you are dissatisfied” 2 of 5 stars
Review of City Center Inn

Save Saved
You added City Center Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Center Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   507 West Main, Bozeman, MT 59715 (Formerly Magnuson Grand City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 29 hotels in Bozeman
Brush
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“tiny breakfast, no compensation if you are dissatisfied”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The staff was all very nice. However, we had 3 criteria when picking a hotel. 1) It had to have an indoor pool. We have a very active preschooler and we needed that for his activities. 2) We needed a first floor room. I have MS and we needed to be able to go in a door and get to the room. 3) We needed a free sufficient breakfast. We did not get any of the 3. We got to the hotel, our first floor room smelled incredibly strongly of paint / VOC some kind of chemicals. We went to the front desk, were told they were re-sealing the pool, so that is what the smell was. Were offered a different room on the second floor and took it. Needless to say, the pool was out of order 2 of the 3 days we were there. We dealt with a few tantrums from a little boy who we had promised he could swim. The next morning we went to the restaurant. On this site it says free breakfast from the restaurant. We were offered our choice of (I think) 6 different meals. They were all only large enough to fill our preschooler. Our teenager and my husband were still starving after breakfast. AND a tip for the waitress was not included, so we had to dig into our pockets for more breakfast and a tip. It isn't the waitress's fault that it was a crummy tiny breakfast. The staff was all very nice, but when I told the front desk clerk about my 3 criteria and how very unhappy we were, she talked to the manager and I was told that since we were still staying in a room, there would be no discount. The breakfast was still breakfast like they advertised (though it sure sounds like it would be a big one and it was not) and the pool was just maintenance they had to do, so it wasn't their fault. We were offered NO compensation whatsoever, no offer of a free dinner or extra breakfast, not even an offer to let us out of our reservation for free if we wished to go to a different hotel for the rest of our stay in town. I let them know I would be giving a negative review, though I have NEVER given any restaurant or hotel a negative review in my life. Not offering any compensation to a dissatisfied customer is bad business, and it takes a lot for me to complain. I would not recommend this hotel. You are better off going to a hotel like a days inn or la quinta where there is a sufficient breakfast, a ton of first floor rooms if the first one isn't satisfactory, and the pool is always open.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    17
    12
    8
See reviews for
17
15
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CORVALLIS
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The big selling point for this hotel is an ideal location for downtown/MSU campus visits together with free parking. Rooms are spacious and clean but old fashioned in furnishing and equipment - no flat screen television, no refrigerators. The lighting is particularly poor with wall mounted fittings high above the beds rather than reading lights. The pillows provided are notably lumpy.
The front desk staff appeared overwhelmed by three guests checking in at the same time - my check-in took over 15 minutes
Typically of older hotels with pools there is musty smell from the chlorine pervading all of the corridors. The hotel is well equipped with vending machines - only one of which is stocked with bottled water - this machine ate my 2 dollar bills but stubbornly refused to either return the money or dispense a bottle. The staff at the desk helpfully confirmed that they knew the machines weren't working properly but since they didn't belong to the hotel they weren't responsible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great location right in Bozeman. The rooms were clean and nice, but nothing really stood as a bad or great. The rooms were clean, the desk clerk was very nice. Didn't try the free breakfast, but the voucher sounded like you got limited choices from their restuarant menu as opposed to the typical re-heated, instant, carb-fest you normally get at free hotel breakfasts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I needed a place close to the campus and downtown, so I booked this online based on pictures and the price. I found the room I had booked spacious, clean and almost perfect for my needs. Perfection would have been a room with a small refrigerator so I could have stored some beers or snacks.
I used the exercise room a couple times and the pool and spa a couple times. My room was situated on the first floor and it was quiet [I never heard any street noise], and since I was staying three nights I hung out the DO NOT DISTURB sign and was never bothered.
There was a computer in the lobby and even though I had to wait a couple times I didn't mind because ..hey...I was on vacation and not in a hurry for anything...
I chatted it up with the receptionists and both were funny, friendly and responded quickly to requests for more coffee or restock the cups etc. I enjoyed the diversity of the guests, as one night there was a family from Korea, a family from Spain and some folks from Germany. All three were speaking their native languages and that was pure entertainment.
I would recommend a nearby Restaurant called the Montana Ale Works which serves local beers and a bison burger that was simply out of this world.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The hotel was conveniently located, however it was 10000% no where NEAR close to the beautiful photos the people at the Magnuson Grand decided to copy from the Ritz and pretend it's their own. Good breakfast, nice staff, all the basics with 90s decor, crappy outlets (blew a fuse in our room 4 times in the 2 days we stayed there before moving hotels). Basic motel-type 'hotel.' Spend a few dollars more and go to the C'mon Inn or if you must be downtown, look for flats or apartments to rent

Room Tip: Do not trust the photos on the website or you will be sadly disappointed. That was like comparing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

It looked like we might not find a decent hotel at a reasonable price in Bozeman. But then we stumbled onto this place. What a pleasant surprise! Room was pretty standard for a low budget hotel, but it was also clean and comfortable. It was quiet and had decent AC. The location was very convenient, right in the downtown and walk able to restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This hotel was wonderful! The staff was really nice and helpful. They continuously went above and beyond the expected. The rooms were very comfortable. The free breakfast was quite small, but for a fee you could up-grade. The scenery was stunning!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to City Center Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Inn

Address: 507 West Main, Bozeman, MT 59715 (Formerly Magnuson Grand City Center)
Location: United States > Montana > Bozeman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 29 hotels in Bozeman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — City Center Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the spectacular Gallatin valley, surrounded by majestic mountain ranges and stunning views.Our spacious rooms and large comfy beds will provide you with the most quality and restful stay.With a full service of amenities and complimentary high speed wired and wireless internet your stayis sure to be relaxing or productive whichever you shall choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your City Center Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnuson Grand City Hotel Bozeman
Best Western Bozeman
Bozeman Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Center Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.