We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was fine for the money and the area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Center Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added City Center Inn to your Saves list
City Center Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   507 West Main, Bozeman, MT 59715 (Formerly Magnuson Grand City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Bozeman
Saint Charles, Missouri
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“It was fine for the money and the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great location right in Bozeman. The rooms were clean and nice, but nothing really stood as a bad or great. The rooms were clean, the desk clerk was very nice. Didn't try the free breakfast, but the voucher sounded like you got limited choices from their restuarant menu as opposed to the typical re-heated, instant, carb-fest you normally get at free hotel breakfasts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    20
    14
    9
See reviews for
19
17
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I needed a place close to the campus and downtown, so I booked this online based on pictures and the price. I found the room I had booked spacious, clean and almost perfect for my needs. Perfection would have been a room with a small refrigerator so I could have stored some beers or snacks.
I used the exercise room a couple times and the pool and spa a couple times. My room was situated on the first floor and it was quiet [I never heard any street noise], and since I was staying three nights I hung out the DO NOT DISTURB sign and was never bothered.
There was a computer in the lobby and even though I had to wait a couple times I didn't mind because ..hey...I was on vacation and not in a hurry for anything...
I chatted it up with the receptionists and both were funny, friendly and responded quickly to requests for more coffee or restock the cups etc. I enjoyed the diversity of the guests, as one night there was a family from Korea, a family from Spain and some folks from Germany. All three were speaking their native languages and that was pure entertainment.
I would recommend a nearby Restaurant called the Montana Ale Works which serves local beers and a bison burger that was simply out of this world.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The hotel was conveniently located, however it was 10000% no where NEAR close to the beautiful photos the people at the Magnuson Grand decided to copy from the Ritz and pretend it's their own. Good breakfast, nice staff, all the basics with 90s decor, crappy outlets (blew a fuse in our room 4 times in the 2 days we stayed there before moving hotels). Basic motel-type 'hotel.' Spend a few dollars more and go to the C'mon Inn or if you must be downtown, look for flats or apartments to rent

Room Tip: Do not trust the photos on the website or you will be sadly disappointed. That was like comparing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

It looked like we might not find a decent hotel at a reasonable price in Bozeman. But then we stumbled onto this place. What a pleasant surprise! Room was pretty standard for a low budget hotel, but it was also clean and comfortable. It was quiet and had decent AC. The location was very convenient, right in the downtown and walk able to restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This hotel was wonderful! The staff was really nice and helpful. They continuously went above and beyond the expected. The rooms were very comfortable. The free breakfast was quite small, but for a fee you could up-grade. The scenery was stunning!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We booked this hotel blind through Hotwire, and when the name was revealed, our hearts sank. According to the reviews that others gave, we were sure we were in for a night in a dump. Well, I can confidently say that the place is older and going shabby around the edges, but it is not a dump. The room was very large, and quite clean--we checked carefully for bedbugs and found no evidence. In addition, the bathroom (though small) was also pretty clean. We travel a lot and just have to shake our heads at others' experience here; maybe the place is really uneven in terms of quality and cleanliness, but our night had no issues whatsoever. In addition, the breakfast provided free in the restaurant (with coupon) was *much* better than we expected! Heaps of eggs, good thick-cut bacon, nicely browned French toast. The kitchen was a little slow, yes, but nothing at all wrong with the food in terms of portions or quality or taste. Also--the pool was very clean, and not freezing!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missoula, mt
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Very reasonable price for a large room with 2 queens. A little dated with "shiney" fabric comforter but who cares. Bed very comfortable. Arrived on a very hot day to a room already cooled. Very thick and plentiful towels. You receive a coupon for breakfast that you use in attached casino restaurant. A few choices, food decent. Coffee and juice in the lobby. Lobby had comfy chairs, good for sitting and reading newspaper. Very convenient to the downtown area and a couple blocks to the live music on Thursday night on Main St. Closer to the MSU campus than the chain hotels out by the interstate. Pool area nice and clean. Overall, very good value, especially since I bid on Priceline and got this hotel.

Room Tip: Ice machine on the second floor only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Center Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Inn

Address: 507 West Main, Bozeman, MT 59715 (Formerly Magnuson Grand City Center)
Location: United States > Montana > Bozeman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Bozeman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — City Center Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the spectacular Gallatin valley, surrounded by majestic mountain ranges and stunning views.Our spacious rooms and large comfy beds will provide you with the most quality and restful stay.With a full service of amenities and complimentary high speed wired and wireless internet your stayis sure to be relaxing or productive whichever you shall choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your City Center Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnuson Grand City Hotel Bozeman
Best Western Bozeman
Bozeman Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Center Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.