We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great climbing gym” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spire Climbing Center

Spire Climbing Center
13 Enterprise Blvd, Bozeman, MT 59718
+1 406-586-0706
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 26 Activities in Bozeman
Type: Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come experience indoor climbing on your next vacation! Indoor climbing is safe, fun for the entire family, and a great addition to your Bozeman visit. No experience or appointment is required - we will teach you everything you need to get started! Welcome to Spire Climbing Center, Bozeman's premier indoor rock climbing facility! We have something for everyone, from first-time climbers and families, to groups, to serious rock climbers. Open since 2004, Spire offers more than 6,000 square feet of roped climbing to heights of 38 ft, and 2,200 square feet of bouldering. Our walls range from slabby to overhanging, boast a spread of routes ranging from 5.5-5.13, and boulder problems rated V0-V12. Our setters create routes and problems with an inspiring range of styles, ensuring that everyone has plenty to try. Spire offers the following amenities: Over 8,000 square feet of climbing and bouldering Top-rope walls to 38 ft tall Lead routes to 55 ft in length 14 top-rope stations 2 Auto belays State-of-the-art foam flooring/landing systems Birthday party/group area complete with kitchenette Mezzanine with system-training area and fitness/cardio equipment Free Wi-Fi Retail shop Whether you're looking to train hard, checking out rock climbing for your first time, or throwing a birthday party, you'll find yourself welcome at Spire. We're open year-round, and offer air conditioning during Bozeman's hot summer months.
Bozeman, MT
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great climbing gym”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Spire offers something for everyone...a fun bouldering room, lots of lead climbing, and top roping for any ability level. I especially love the quality of the route setting, the friendly staff, and the flooring. Having visited many gyms around the country, Spire is one of the cleaner and well-kept facilities I've been to thus far.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top notch facility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This gym stands out among the many climbing gyms I have visited across the US and world. While it is not as large as those in metropolitan areas like Sunnyvale and Boulder, the routes are consistently good quality. I have climbed in gyms in Sunnyvale CA, Boulder CO, Albuquerque NM, Amsterdam, Melbourne, and several in Sydney Australia. While many were larger gyms and some had higher ceilings for longer routes, none were as reliably challenging or as accurate on route difficulty. This gym is great for the serious climber as well as the casual, and I have taken my young family and out of town guests with everyone enjoying the facility.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great small town gym”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff. Big bouldering room, half the walls are top-rope, other half set up for lead climbing. Gets very warm and busy on a Sunday afternoon--midday during the week is better

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fun place with varying levels of challenge.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

:)
It was fun at a fair price. I went there with my wife on a date. We had not been climbing in a long time. Staff was helpful. We enjoyed the experience.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, Manager at Spire Climbing Center, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for the review! Glad to hear you had a good time! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great indoor climbing center!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Fantastic indoor climbing gym. The routes are varied and fun, there's levels for all skills. The staff are friendly and helpful. They offer great classes on everything from self rescue to overcoming fear of falling.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spire Climbing Center also viewed

 

Been to Spire Climbing Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spire Climbing Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.