We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bozeman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary
Save
You added Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary to your Saves list
3185 Jackson Creek Road, Bozeman, MT 59715   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Bozeman B&B and Inns
Chesterville, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“wonderful stay !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The rooms were awesome, the views spectacular,and the company could not be beat! The breakfasts were sooo good when we left we were dissapointed that we had to cook for ourselves the next morning! ( And believe me, we could not match Chris and Mary Marthas banana pancakes)It was so nice to get to know the other guests, and exchange vacation ideas! Love this place, would LOVE to stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
133
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The Howlers Inn is very friendly and down to earth. The atmosphere very warm and inviting. Awesome experience with wolves and the breakfast was delicious. Chris and Mary-Martha are very nice. Had a great time

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

WOW - what an absolutely wonderful place to stay with the most wonderful hosts! We loved our stay at Howler's Inn Bed and Breakfast. The environment was totally relaxing and it was obvious that the hosts really enjoy having guests. We immediately felt very welcome and right at home in their house. It was nice that our hosts enjoy spending time talking with guests. As one might expect the wolves were a wonderful part of our stay at the B&B. Our bedroom overlooked the wolves and around sunrise they all started with a gentle howling - a great experience right outside our bedroom window. And the breakfast was great as well - plenty of delicious food for everyone. Chris and Mary-Martha were also very helpful in recommending excellent dinner places within an easy driving distance. We will definitely be recommending this B&B to our friends! They also had suggestions for a beautiful drive into town on some back roads when we departed.

Room Tip: Stayed in Southwest room overlooking Wolves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

In 2012 we drove down the East Coast, up to Nashville, Memphis and St Louis before flying to Montana and were absolutely enamored with its open spaces, snow-capped peaks, and flowing rivers. On that occasion, we landed in Billings, dropped into Cody and Yellowstone (Wyoming) before heading north to Helena, Choteau and Whitefish before heading to Canada.
Last year, we decided to visit Montana again and had the good fortune of staying at Howlers Inn B&B. What a lovely spot - relative seclusion yet not far from the interstate and Bozeman.
The homestead fit into the surrounds wonderfully, with sweeping views. Best of all was seeing wolves up close. Like Australia's dingos, they are suspicious and skittish by nature - and very inquisitive. It was a great treat to see them.
As for the accommodation, it couldn't be faulted: a large upstairs bedroom with a view of the sanctuary and all the other necessities you'd expect.
Breakfast was filling and our hosts great company. This was a memorable pit stop on our road trip down the West Coast and then up through Nevada, Utah, Colorado, South Dakota and then through Montana, Idaho, Oregon, Washington and, finally, Vancouver.
Thanks for helping make our odyssey so unforgettable...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was our first B&B experience and as I told Mary-Martha and Chris, the next one(s) have a high standard to measure up to. What a wonderful and romantic place! The wolves were the icing on the cake!

We stayed in the Carriage House and had breakfast in the big house in the mornings. The Carriage House has a full kitchen will all the necessities and plenty of space for the two of us with an extra room for either friends or children. I'm a bit of a clean freak and the furniture, pillows, mattress, towels, and bedding were spotless, comfortable, and even a bit luxurious. The only negative would be the shower...it was small and awkward, but worked fine.

Breakfast was a delight and presentation was tasteful and classy. Mary-Martha made low-carb breakfasts for my diabetes and never made me feel uncomfortable about it all. I'm so grateful.

The wolves were amazing. We read the wolves bios and before long, knew all their names and fell in love. To see them interact and to hear them howl was SUCH an honor.

The property was silent and serene. JUST what we needed to get away from the city. We took walks every morning before breakfast and have some pretty fantastic photos.

The most spectacular thing about Howlers is Mary-Martha and Chris. They are so incredibly kind and friendly. They made us feel so very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howlers, Owner at Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we really appreciate it. I agree, the shower in the Carriage House is rather an oddity, though an efficient use of space given the gambreled roof system. Thanks for sharing photos of some of the breakfasts, I'm glad you thought they were ociture worthy! We hope to see you some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have been staying at Howlers Inn for many years, and have only grown to love the place more and more. Can't imagine going to the area and staying anywhere else. The owners, the Bahn family, are so hospitable and welcoming. Breakfast everyone morning is truly a delight, with care given to special dietary needs. Rooms, as well as the entire Inn, are always clean and nicely decorated. Of course, you cannot write a review of Howlers without mentioning the wolves! One of our favorite things about staying here is listening to them howl in the evenings (sometimes in the morning or afternoon too). Howlers Inn is a short drive into downtown Bozeman, where you can find plenty of places to eat, shop, and explore. It's also convenient to lots of hiking trails and other recreational activities. Whenever we leave Howlers, we're already planning our next trip back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, AK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My son and I stayed at Howler's when he was in Bozeman for Freshman Orientation for MSU. It was a wonderful experience. Mary-Martha and Chris are warm and welcoming hosts, breakfasts were delicious and we enjoyed spending our mornings visiting with the other guests. The room was fantastic - lots of room (we stayed in Aspen) and very comfortable. And, of course, the wolves were fun to watch. The property is a little ways out of town, but with a car it was just a few minutes to downtown Bozeman and the University. All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary

Address: 3185 Jackson Creek Road, Bozeman, MT 59715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Bozeman
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bozeman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique lodging experience: visit a beautiful log home B&B with wolf sanctuary set on 42 acres near Bozeman, MT. All rooms have a private bath and mountain views. Some rooms overlook the wolf enclosure, home to six wolves, offering an up close opportunity to enjoy their singing and antics. Children of all ages welcome. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.