We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the ten best meals I've had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plonk

Plonk
29 E Main St, Bozeman, MT 59715-4759
406-587-2170
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 190 Restaurants in Bozeman
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“One of the ten best meals I've had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Our return visit started with a bit of worry as the long-time chef has moved on to another restaurant. On the food side of things, Plonk hasn't missed a beat. Each of our meals, salads and desert were truly exceptional. We had the amazing good fortune of linking up with Ben - who helped choose a truly wonderful and eclectic group of wines for dinner and desert. This really was one of the most delightful and interesting food and wine meals we have had in ages. Well done in every way. The only reminder to other guests is that things can get a bit noisy in the evenings.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    36
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Great service. Very happening spot. Food was very good. It was very loud so go with someone you don't want to talk to on a Saturday night. Off hours were quiet and outstanding.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent cheese, wine and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

What a surprise! Quaint little Bozeman sports this world-class wine and cheese list! After a lovely wine & cocktails on the sidewalk one night, returned another night for dinner. Had to request special arrangements, and wasn't disappointed by the staff. The only reason they didn't earn five stars was the noise when it's busy, but don't let that deter you!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Service...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Made reservations for Valentine's day. Was greeted and shown right to our table. Nice interior a little dark when you try and read the menu but nothing a cell phone light can't fix...1st problem was it was a Fixed price menu with only 2 choices, although it looked good we really want a mix of food, I asked the waitress for the manager and explained why she said no to worry they would allow us to order off the menu...it was also my wife's 50th Birthday and she said she would make it a great night, she was doing a good job!
We order several appetizers and 3 different meals, scallops , Quail and a trio of Duck pork and beef...the place stared filling up and it took a while to get our apps. They were all very good and the waitress was doing a good job with drinks and water but dinner took well over an hour to get...both my son and wives dinner were perfect, mine...not so much the whole thing with the exception of my buck was ice cold...I called the waitress over and told her the problem but I did not want to wait an hour to get it back, she came back in 5 min. with a hot plate of food that was much better than when it was cold...the size of the meals are a little on the small size but the are creative. The manager and the waitress did a very good job of doing right by us as our dinner took over 2 hrs and 20 minutes and had a few hic-ups. We would go back again, god wine selection and a nice environment,,

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“The Best of Bozeman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Quite simply, Plonk is the best restaurant in Bozeman and it would stand out as one of the best in any big city with a recognized dedication to food. Lunch and dinner are served. There is an ample afternoon menu and a more extensive one in the evening. Plonk advertises itself as a wine bar with food service. In the evening it is a popular place for drinks and many of the patrons intersperse them with various dishes from the menu. Lunch is a quieter time with the focus on the food. Menu items range from small plates to substantial meals. The menu is changed regularly and daily specials are announced by the wait person. All dishes are exquisitely and meticulously prepared from the very freshest ingredients. The soups are truly extraordinary. The dining space is large and comfortable, making it a delightful setting for a lengthy, relaxed meal with friends. The servers are well-informed and conscientious. In short, this restaurant has our very highest recommendation in a town with a number of excellent places to eat.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plonk also viewed

 

Been to Plonk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plonk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.