We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of Italy right here in Bozeman” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackbird Kitchen

Blackbird Kitchen
Main Street, Bozeman, MT
406-586-0010
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 190 Restaurants in Bozeman
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: On the corner of Bozeman and Main Street
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little bit of Italy right here in Bozeman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Everything here is done right. Bread, pasta, salads, main courses, pizzas, dessert. Much love for this place.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    25
    7
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Pizza, arrogant staff.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

If you expect to come to Blackbird for a quick and comfortable bit to eat, think again. On our 5th, and now final, time eating here we were greeted by an arrogant manager who told our party of 3 that we could only sit at a very small table built for 2 with no grace or apology. When we asked why we couldn't sit at a bigger one designed for 4/5 we were told, 'NO it has been reserved' . Wait a second this is a restaurant that doesn't take reservations..... When we questioned the man about this, he quickly backtracked and stated that people were on the wait list for the table. Fine we thought, we sat at the small table, ate our annoyingly good pizza and contemplated on how long this table was going to be reserved/wait listed. An inordinate amount of time later, 45mins, the wait-listed party of 5 turned up by which we had nearly finished and another table of similar size had opened up which could have provided for this late party. We were extremely disappointed by the parochial and small town attitude in such a lovely community like Bozeman. The excellent service mentality that characterises the USA has seemingly by-passed Blackbird. Will be sure to tell our friends of this horror story and recommend that they don't give this place business.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Extraordinary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

This is by far the best restaurant in Bozeman. We have been several times. There is often a wait, but it is worth it. The pizzas are incredible. The Kale salad and grass fed beef are some of the best I have had.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Crossing, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sophisticated Kitchen with NO Attitude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Excellent food and customer service in this impeccable bistro! I think our party of 6 ordered almost everything on the menu without one disappointment. The wine selection is small but offers good choice at reasonable prices. The kale salad, fig pizza, chicken, pasta dishes were well prepared simple and melted in your mouth. Don't order the almond dessert because it is so fabulous I want some left when I come back. This place is the real deal, it will thrive...go and enjoy. Compliments to the team.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite in Bozeman!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Simply the best food in Bozeman. The staff is friendly and service is great. Experts at wood fired cooking. The BEST bread and incredible pizzas. Fresh made pastas and delicious entrees. A great wine slection as well. Unfortanatly the music is too noisy and a little more expensive than most restaurant. Can be a long wait as well but it is the best. Blackbird is a restaurant that you won't want to miss when visiting Bozeman or living here.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackbird Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Blackbird Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackbird Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.