We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, ok salad.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Bay Bar and Grille

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Bay Bar and Grille
2825 W Main St, Ste 5K, Bozeman, MT 59718-3901
406-587-0484
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 193 Restaurants in Bozeman
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: College
Transit: The Streamline makes a stop just outside of the mall entrance located next to the restaurant.
Montana City, Montana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good service, ok salad.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I've been going to the Bay for a number of years. I continue to like the menu, but there have been some changes over the past year or two that I do not agree with. In particular, I will say that the "London on the Greens" is not nearly as good as it used to be. I don't mind that the quantity is less, it's still a nice size salad. What I don't care for is the quality of the steak, and the fact that they are using only outside leaves of the romain. This makes for a very dull salad. I would be happy to pay another $1 for mixed greens, or some of the inside romaine.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    12
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Gets Better and Better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

If you want a great lunch or dinner and the best Bloody Mary in Bozeman, eat here! Justin and the rest of the staff are great, the prices are very reasonable, and don't be put off by the fact that it is in the mall.....Eat here, you won't regret it. Plenty of bang for your buck. The portions are large and tasty, drinks are big, and the adjoining casino is cozy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Decent tasting, slow delivery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have been to the bay twice before and both times it took forever to get our food. Yesterday I took my folks there and we literally had to wait 50 minutes to get our meal. (Salad, fish tacos, and crab cakes). We had a 2pm appointment that we were late for. It was very frustrating and a nice reminder why I won't bother going again.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food and a great waiter!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have been the the Bay a few times for dinner in the last year. The food is consistently good and if you are fortunate enough to sit in TJ's section, you will have an awesome experience. TJ has been my waiter the last two times. He is friendly, knowledgable and very attentive. The Bay ++

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Montana
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Drinks and Tiramisu”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our friends and I went out for sushi and wanted dessert. The hostess was very snooti before she even seated us. I guess we were dressed too casual for her liking. Then she gave us attitude for asking for two tiramisu desserts and drinks. I have to say that the tiramisu is delicious but I've noticed that the portions are now half of what we were served before. I've spent good money there before... You won't see me back. I guess the word customer service escapes your employees.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bay Bar and Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Bay Bar and Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bay Bar and Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.