We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beignets in Bozeman!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Zydeco

Cafe Zydeco
2711 W College St Bozeman, Mt 59718, Bozeman, MT 59715-4010
406-994-0188
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 190 Restaurants in Bozeman
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Clemson, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best beignets in Bozeman!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Super yummy lunch of shrimp and grits, etouffee, and of course beignets! There was a jazz band playing and the restaurant was full on a sunday morning, but the service was fast and friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    27
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good, But...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Staff was personable and friendly, very clean and pleasant dining areas. Prices were definitely on the high side. Lunch for two (catfish taco, shrimp po-boy (no sides with these items), a shared bread pudding, and what was supposed to be two small cups of gumbo) came to $45.

That said, the chicken and andouille gumbo had a great flavor. I didn't actually care for the meats themselves (too large pieces, chicken grainy), but the rice was well prepared (not mush, just right) and flavors were great. Bread pudding was rich and very silky. The catfish taco was shy on fish, and the fish was definitely of the frozen-mush variety. Cabbage on the taco was terrific, though a fine shred would work better; the sauce on the catfish taco is great!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We make sure to eat here every time we're in Bozeman. The seafood gumbo and beignets are fabulous! Although they're a little expensive for what you get, the po'boys a are really good. The only negative thing I can speak of is the fried oyster po'boy. It came drowning in a sea of mayonnaise and if there's one thing I can't stomach, it's mayo but that's not really Cafe Zydeco's fault. As it turns out, I don't think much of oysters but that's not their fault either. Fortunately, I brought home a large bowl of gumbo for my lunches this week. Soon, that mayo will be a distant memory.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“All That Jazz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

A must visit. Their new location is really nice and comfortable. Every time i go, i leave happy and satisfied. About once a month i enjoy an All That Jazz Po'boy which is my favorite.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Try the Shrimp Po Boys !!!! The Best !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

At Zydeco you order at the front desk and your order is brought to you. I like the Po Boys- Shrimp is my favorite. The fried oyster Po Boy was also delicious.
The fruity white sangria is fantastic !

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Zydeco also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Zydeco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Zydeco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.