We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time travel to the past...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dude Rancher Lodge

Save Saved
You added Dude Rancher Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Dude Rancher Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 North 29th Street, Billings, MT 59101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 45 hotels in Billings
Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Time travel to the past...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We unexpectedly had to spend a night in Billings. While driving around downtown looking for a hotel, we saw the Dude Rancher Lodge. The exterior drew us in. The name intrigued us. After stepping foot into the lobby, we knew we HAD to stay here! What a pleasant surprise. The staff was friendly & accomodating. The decor was like stepping into the past...like a dude ranch lodge in downtown! :) The rate was affordable. Accomodations were clean & a throwback to simpler times. Didn't get a chance to dine in the cafe but it looked cool. The location was great because we could explore downtown on foot, eat dinner & have drinks & walk back to the lodge. No vehicle needed! Highly recommend staying here if you're looking for unique accomodations.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duderancher, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Dude Rancher Logde for your recent stay in Billings, we proud ourselves on the western theme. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write as our guests' satisfaction is our main priority. The staff here at the Dude Rancher is amazing and we enjoy hearing wonderful comments about them..

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    47
    27
    29
    10
See reviews for
29
38
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
SE Alaska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Cowboy up at the Dude Rancher Lodge. Loved the atmosphere. Their custom branded carpet is priceless. The location can't be beat, central down town Billings a short walk to resturants and attractions. Clean rooms at an affordable price what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duderancher, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Dude Rancher Lodge for your recent stay in Billings. I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed in one of twelve newly remodeled rooms. Clean, bright, excellent. The facility itself is need of a upgrade, but the new room was great. Breakfast at the attached cafe was good. Front desk people were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get the remodeled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duderancher, General Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for posting such a nice review! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appomattox, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

First, we had a hard time finding the motel due to all the one way streets in Billings. It is located downtown and quite a ways from restaurants and Cabelas but is very convenient to the airport if you have an early flight like we did. The rooms are way too small for two beds and the carpet in our room was beyond dirty. The decor is old, worn and dated. The chair looked like it was taken from the dump. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely not stay here again and pay more for a nicer place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duderancher, General Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for posting this review. We're sorry we were not up to your expectations. It would be most helpful to know your room number. We are currently remodeling and updating our rooms but the fact that you did not feel your room was clean is a concern for us that we would like to address with housekeeping.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I gave the Dude Rancher Lodge a rating of Excellent due to the high quality of service we received and the price for the room. We arrived at 7:00 PM hungry and tired thinking that we had made reservations via one of the on line sites, but we were not in their system. Even before my husband could find the receipt they met the price that we told them we had booked it at even though it was the last room of that size available. They had other customers who came in soon after us requesting the room, who would have had to pay more than what we did, but they honored our word and gave us the room. To me this is HUGE! We have two kids and to have to put them back in the car at that point and try to find something else would not have been fun. The room was clean, the furnishings were a bit warn, the rooms on the smaller side but again good for the price we payed. The only real complaint was that the air conditioning did not work as well as we would have liked. We enjoyed the rope hand rails on the stairs and it definitely had a Ranch/Bunkhouse theme which my two kids enjoyed! Unfortunately for us their restaurant was the only one close that was still open, and we would have done better ordering pizza in. It was very disappointing. Needless to say we got up the next morning and drove down the road a bit for breakfast. The location was right down town on big streets, and a good distance off of the freeway. Even with the location being not so good, we will keep the Dude ranch in mind and stop there again if we are due to hit Billings in the evenings on our trek across Montana next summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duderancher, General Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to post this review! We're glad that, for the most part, you were very happy! It would be most helpful for us to know why you were not happy with the restaurant, as we are very well known for our great food! Wish you would have tried the breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miles City, Montana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The rooms were small and dirty with exposed pipes leading into the floor. The carpet was black in places with ground in dirt. The bedside lamp was made of wood decorated with bands of fur. Tacky just isn't a strong enough word. The room smelled. The air conditioning did not work and the room was hot. The bathroom was featured an orange sink on a yellow counter top. It needed more cow fur to really make the whole thing flow together. Avoid this motel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duderancher, General Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
We apologize that you did not have a good experience with us! We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and attention to detail, so if something was overlooked we would want to know immediately. It would be so helpful to know which room you were in. Again, this is not up to our standards and we would love for you to give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed here prior to 2 week motorcyle trip; the irony of the Dude Rancher is that it's in the middle of the town, surrounded by corporate buildings and parking lots. Very funky that way; apparently, the ranch moved on. Convenient to town and walking distance to restaurants, fast food, supermarkets. Rooms have dated character - pine, orange textiles and cattle brand design on carpets. However, carpets are so stained and filthy that you want to wipe your feet when you leave the room. I am not a fastidious traveller, but this creeped me out... ! Certainly not 5-star; at least not my room.

Nice, rustic lobby area with fireplace, slate floors, couches and morning coffee; restaurant next door is fine for breakfast. Pleasant people at front desk; unhurried.

But if you're looking for a ranch... dude... keep looking.

Room Tip: Read reviews and find rooms that were renovated - mine was not!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcie L, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for your compliments. We are located right in the heart of downtown Billings, we try to bring the ambience of the country to the metro area. We are currently remodeling and are updating continuously, so next time you stay I will be excited to hear what you think. We appreciate you choosing us as your lodging choice while in Billings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dude Rancher Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dude Rancher Lodge

Also Known As:
Dude Rancher Hotel Billings
Dude Rancher Hotel
Address: 415 North 29th Street, Billings, MT 59101
Location: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 45 hotels in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dude Rancher Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dude Rancher Lodge is an historic downtown Billings hotel. We are proud to be listed in the National Register of Historic Places, which is America’s official list of important properties that provide a valuable link to the past and have been deemed worthy of preservation. Built in 1949, our hotel near downtown Billings is a rustic ranch that features weeping brick mortar and full-length porches. Our interior is designed with knotty pine paneling, custom-built western-style furnishings, decorative lampshades and carpeting that is adorned with the brands of local ranchers who originally invested in the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Dude Rancher Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dude Rancher Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.