We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dude Rancher Lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dude Rancher Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dude Rancher Lodge to your Saves list
Dude Rancher Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 North 29th Street, Billings, MT 59101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save $10 on select meals
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Billings
Bozeman, Montana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dude Rancher Lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed in one of twelve newly remodeled rooms. Clean, bright, excellent. The facility itself is need of a upgrade, but the new room was great. Breakfast at the attached cafe was good. Front desk people were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get the remodeled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duderancher, General Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for posting such a nice review! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    58
    37
    35
    15
See reviews for
41
53
27
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Appomattox, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

First, we had a hard time finding the motel due to all the one way streets in Billings. It is located downtown and quite a ways from restaurants and Cabelas but is very convenient to the airport if you have an early flight like we did. The rooms are way too small for two beds and the carpet in our room was beyond dirty. The decor is old, worn and dated. The chair looked like it was taken from the dump. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely not stay here again and pay more for a nicer place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duderancher, General Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for posting this review. We're sorry we were not up to your expectations. It would be most helpful to know your room number. We are currently remodeling and updating our rooms but the fact that you did not feel your room was clean is a concern for us that we would like to address with housekeeping.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I gave the Dude Rancher Lodge a rating of Excellent due to the high quality of service we received and the price for the room. We arrived at 7:00 PM hungry and tired thinking that we had made reservations via one of the on line sites, but we were not in their system. Even before my husband could find the receipt they met the price that we told them we had booked it at even though it was the last room of that size available. They had other customers who came in soon after us requesting the room, who would have had to pay more than what we did, but they honored our word and gave us the room. To me this is HUGE! We have two kids and to have to put them back in the car at that point and try to find something else would not have been fun. The room was clean, the furnishings were a bit warn, the rooms on the smaller side but again good for the price we payed. The only real complaint was that the air conditioning did not work as well as we would have liked. We enjoyed the rope hand rails on the stairs and it definitely had a Ranch/Bunkhouse theme which my two kids enjoyed! Unfortunately for us their restaurant was the only one close that was still open, and we would have done better ordering pizza in. It was very disappointing. Needless to say we got up the next morning and drove down the road a bit for breakfast. The location was right down town on big streets, and a good distance off of the freeway. Even with the location being not so good, we will keep the Dude ranch in mind and stop there again if we are due to hit Billings in the evenings on our trek across Montana next summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duderancher, General Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to post this review! We're glad that, for the most part, you were very happy! It would be most helpful for us to know why you were not happy with the restaurant, as we are very well known for our great food! Wish you would have tried the breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miles City, Montana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The rooms were small and dirty with exposed pipes leading into the floor. The carpet was black in places with ground in dirt. The bedside lamp was made of wood decorated with bands of fur. Tacky just isn't a strong enough word. The room smelled. The air conditioning did not work and the room was hot. The bathroom was featured an orange sink on a yellow counter top. It needed more cow fur to really make the whole thing flow together. Avoid this motel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duderancher, General Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
We apologize that you did not have a good experience with us! We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and attention to detail, so if something was overlooked we would want to know immediately. It would be so helpful to know which room you were in. Again, this is not up to our standards and we would love for you to give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed here prior to 2 week motorcyle trip; the irony of the Dude Rancher is that it's in the middle of the town, surrounded by corporate buildings and parking lots. Very funky that way; apparently, the ranch moved on. Convenient to town and walking distance to restaurants, fast food, supermarkets. Rooms have dated character - pine, orange textiles and cattle brand design on carpets. However, carpets are so stained and filthy that you want to wipe your feet when you leave the room. I am not a fastidious traveller, but this creeped me out... ! Certainly not 5-star; at least not my room.

Nice, rustic lobby area with fireplace, slate floors, couches and morning coffee; restaurant next door is fine for breakfast. Pleasant people at front desk; unhurried.

But if you're looking for a ranch... dude... keep looking.

Room Tip: Read reviews and find rooms that were renovated - mine was not!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcie L, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for your compliments. We are located right in the heart of downtown Billings, we try to bring the ambience of the country to the metro area. We are currently remodeling and are updating continuously, so next time you stay I will be excited to hear what you think. We appreciate you choosing us as your lodging choice while in Billings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Prospect, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wife and I just completed a 16 day, 5200 mile motorcycle trip thru the Midwest. One of our goals was to get to the Dude Rancher Lodge after seeing the Hotel Impossible episode featuring the lodge. We scheduled one night on their websight and we were really anticipating the stay at the Lodge.
As it went, we got room 205 which we found out was one of the rooms refurbed on the show. The price that we paid was way too low for the quality room that we received. We LOVED the place so much that we decide to stay a 2nd night. We didn't have anything that we wanted to see in Billings, just the Lodge so we decided to use the 2nd day for a 'down' day to relax and rest before starting home.
We have decided that the next trip will be with Billings and the Lodge as the primary destination and maybe we will make it to some of the states that we didn't make it to this time (Idaho, Washington, Oregon)!
Keep up the great work and a 5 star hotel in my book! Thanks!!!!!
Frank and Lil Kiehner
East Prospect, Pa.
PS. The blinking light in the lobby was really interesting!!

Room Tip: Select a King or Queen bed suite room. They seem to be the ones that got refurb'd first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcie L, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Oh, that was the nicest review we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very proud of our hotel and what we have to offer. We are just getting ready to start remodeling the next 5 rooms on the list. Please drop-in and introduce yourself when you are in town next. Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Located very close to both St. Vincent's and the Billings Clinic, this hotel/motel met my needs for location. It is very worn and very dated but charming. The carpet desperately needs to be replaced both in the common areas and in the room I stayed. Orange was the overwhelming theme of my room - bright orange! Having said all of that, the room was clean, and the bed was wonderful! Very comfortable. Staff was friendly. I understand that it is being updated in a piecemeal fashion but the part where I was clearly hadn't had its turn yet. Inexpensive overall, but still gets beat out by some of its sister hotels in the same area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcie L, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
We are so glad you were happy with your stay. We have a wonderful hardworking housekeeping staff that keep our rooms spic and span. We are continuously renovating and updating, so next time you visit we will be even more up to date. Thank you for your stay and positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dude Rancher Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dude Rancher Lodge

Address: 415 North 29th Street, Billings, MT 59101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dude Rancher Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dude Rancher Lodge is an historic downtown Billings hotel. We are proud to be listed in the National Register of Historic Places, which is America’s official list of important properties that provide a valuable link to the past and have been deemed worthy of preservation. Built in 1949, our hotel near downtown Billings is a rustic ranch that features weeping brick mortar and full-length porches. Our interior is designed with knotty pine paneling, custom-built western-style furnishings, decorative lampshades and carpeting that is adorned with the brands of local ranchers who originally invested in the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dude Rancher Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dude Rancher Hotel Billings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dude Rancher Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.