We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riversage Billings Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riversage Billings Inn to your Saves list
Riversage Billings Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   880 N 29th St, Billings, MT 59101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Amazing Weekend Rates!
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Billings
Burnaby B.C. Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed her for 6 nights while visiting Family, extremely good value considering that it was only $75 a night. We had a good bed, fridge and microwave, simple complimentary breakfast but terrible coffee ! The price is so reasonable that you can go to McCormick's Cafe and get a really good breakfast with great coffee, only a few minutes away. Cafe italia is owned by the same guy and is right next door to the cafe, yummy Italian food.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
himanagerBillings, General Manager at Riversage Billings Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
As the general manager of the Riversage Billings Inn I am sorry that this guest did not like our coffee.

For our lobby coffee we use a wonderful blend from Cravens coffee. The blend is made especially for our company. Craven’s coffee is a favorite in most of the local coffee shops.

We do try hard to keep our rates affordable for all of our guests. We pride ourselves in providing a lovely, friendly, and affordable place to stay.

I would like to invite everyone to come and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    44
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
33
23
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I have real mixed feelings about this hotel. If your purpose in Billings is for vacation or pleasure I would tend to tell you to stay away. If you are in Billings on business the accommodations are acceptable.
The Riverstone Billings Inn sits in the middle of a hospital campus. From what I understand many of the guests are visitors from across the state whose loved ones are hospitalized. For this purpose I would also recommend the hotel.
Since the Inn is not part of a large hotel chain it lacks some of the aesthetics and amenities of a Hilton, LaQuinta or Marriott. You can see that they run on a budget that is probably pretty tight to the vest, so the Inn features a barebones lobby and breakfast buffet area.
The room I stayed in was clean but needed a good renovation. Towels were plentiful but bring your own shampoo, there is none provided, which is something you do not see even in the most highly discounted hotels. Very odd and disappointing in that I had to drive to a drug store to make a visit that there should have been no necessity for. Sorry to be picky, but as a business traveler involved in a sport that has me on the road almost every weekend for most of the year, this was the first time in 23 stays in 2011 that a hotel did not have shampoo provided. Also the soap bars were substandard. On second thought, when you go to the drugstore use a basket and add soap to the shopping list along with the shampoo.
The hotel was comfortable and fine for a two night business stay with only sleep time spend in the building.
I must say that on the positive side it was one of the cheapest rooms in Billings, the internet connection was strong, and the front desk and room staff made in their courtesy, professionalism and enthusiasm the relatively worn hotel shine with personality.
There are a number of restaurants and stores in close proximity.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
himanagerBillings, General Manager at Riversage Billings Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
As the general manager of the Riversage Billings Inn I am disappointed that this guest did not have a positive feeling about their stay. As always, I wish this guest had talked with our front desk or management about the shampoo while he was at the Riversage Billings Inn, and we could have accommodated his request on the spot.

However, we are most pleased he gave us such a high ranking in Value, Sleep Quality, Cleanliness, and Service.

We have recently extensively renovated our lobby. It has a very comfortable atmosphere, where many guests like to spend time enjoying a cup of coffee or snacking on fresh popcorn.

We have always had shampoo available at the front desk upon request. We have since started putting shampoo in every room.

We do try hard to keep our rates affordable for all of our guests. We pride ourselves in providing a lovely, friendly, and affordable place to stay.

I would like to invite everyone to come and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We needed a motel close to the hospital and I found not only that, but also a motel that truly cares about you and your stay. I have been booking hotels in Billings for years and for the money, this motel is outstanding.I will stay here again and again even though I won't need to be close to the hospital.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

One of the reason I chose this place is that the owner/manager responded to many of the reviews (both good and bad) on tripadvisor and this act implied that the management cares. Their breakfast was a bit scarce (compared to other places) but the value and the hospitality makes up for it. Plus they have popcorn! (although I did not get any popcorn). The hotel was clean and we even got fridge with our room. Overall I was happy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We chose this hotel because it had "okay" reviews and an inexpensive price and we were arriving in the evening and leaving first thing the next morning so we didn't want to spend a lot but wanted something decent. First thing about it is it's not too close to the freeway, which is fine, but we had a little bit of trouble finding it because it's right across from a bunch of hospital buildings and it sort of looks like it's part of the medical complex. (In fact, we were wondering if it used to be just that, from the layout of the rooms and the fixtures/furnishings etc.) Checking in was pleasant, and any staff we dealt with while there were friendly and helpful. The room had very saggy beds, but clean linens. The drain on the tub was really clogged up, so that when we were showering, little bubbles were coming up out of the drain. That was kind of icky, but in general the room didn't seem to be too dirty, just not recently upgraded. We were on the top floor, which was fine. Continental breakfast was mostly an assortment of breads, though they did have a very good, heavy, whole wheat bread for toast, and peanut butter and jelly. We had the impression that mostly elderly people were staying there while dealing with a family member in the hospital. This hotel wouldn't be our first choice if we stay in Billings again, but it was okay for a short overnight stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
himanagerBillings, General Manager at Riversage Billings Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
For every comment like this, we receive a 100 positive comments (no exaggeration), applauding our tremendous value, service, cleanliness ,and lovely surroundings.

We built the Riversage Billings Inn from scratch, not a converted hospital building, and it has been independently owned and operated by the same Montana company since 1985. We have worked very hard and invested significantly in keeping up the quality.

We only wish that these guests had discussed their questions/concerns with management because we care deeply about guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Staff was friendly and attentive. Continental breakfast had enough choices. Beds were comfortable and towels were excellent. Did not hear any outside noise even though there was a hospital across the street. Not the most convenient hotel to the freeway but appears they are catering to people with business at the hospital. I will stay here the next time I am in Billings.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

I was looking for an affordable place to stay that allowed pets and was close to the hospital when a family member was in the hospital, and this place met every expectation. The staff was extremely friendly and went to great lengths to help during the hospital stay. They not only allowed my dog to stay, they completely welcome him!

The rooms were simple, but clean and comfortable, especially for the price. The breakfast was great for the price of the room, but I chose to eat at the hospital cafeteria that had more options instead. I have stayed here twice now when family is in the hospital, and I wouldn't think twice about staying here again, should there ever be a need. Great value for the cleanliness and service!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riversage Billings Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riversage Billings Inn

Address: 880 N 29th St, Billings, MT 59101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Riversage Billings Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riversage Billings Inn is a quality hotel in Blillings, MT Unique Blend of Value, Informal Elegance Situated Next to Billings Clinic Close to Downtown, Shopping, Restaurants and Entertainment Clean, Quiet, Affordable Pet Friendly Free Wi-Fi Completely Non-Smoking Facility Literally 5 minutes from airport. Billings' best kept secret! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riversage Billings Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riversage Billings Hotel Billings
Riverstone Billings Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riversage Billings Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.