We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgraded for free - comfortable and restful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Billings

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Billings to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Billings
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 North 27th Street, Billings, MT 59101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Billings
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Upgraded for free - comfortable and restful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Upon check in we were given an upgrade for free! The rooms are very nice and the beds comfortable! The staff are friendly and helpful. The only issue we had was with the parking. We were guaranteed parking with our reservation but upon arrival we encountered numerous State Farm vehicles parked everywhere, including illegally in the drive ways. Since we arrived late we did not mind parking across the street in a parking garage paid by the hotel, however the next day when we arrived back at the hotel early afternoon we did have issue with the hotel blocking off spots for the State Farm vehicles and expecting others to park in the garage across the street. Upon complaining, they did allow us to park in one of the spots, but we shouldn't have needed to ask. We are all customers and should be treated equally!

Room Tip: The hotel has a gym but not a swimming pool or hot tub. The rooms on floors 15 and above are the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHotel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Billings, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Tuckerhayward –

Thank you so much for stopping by to review your stay at the Crowne Plaza Billings. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of the rooms and our friendly staff! I will be sure to pass along your kind comments to the team. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed your room upgrade. We do offer room upgrades to IHG Platinum Elite members based on our room availability.

However, I am sorry to hear that you had some difficulties parking. We have the small outdoor lot south of our building, but the bulk of our parking is available in the City of Billings Park Two garage. This garage is connected to our hotel via a skybridge on the second floor, and we validate parking in the Park Two garage for all of our guests. The vehicles you encountered in the outdoor lot were here with a negotiated group of insurance estimators. This group was working on disaster relief estimates, and utilized part of the small outdoor lot for their oversize vehicles. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused you.

Thank you again for your comments and for staying with us. We hope you will stay with us again soon!

Best,

LaRell Baldwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    123
    65
    26
    15
See reviews for
46
100
18
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Big former Sheraton in the middle of downtown. Walking distance to good restaurants, theater, art museum. Starbucks in the lobby. Bring earplugs, since the walls are thin. Banquet food was as expected. Wines served in executive lounge and banquet bar include Crane Lake and Mogen David. Windows in the rooms don't open, so the air is musty. Decent fitness room with a view and three treadmills, two ellipticals, and a bike. Separate weight room.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHotel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Billings, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Tom of Orlando –

Thank you so much for stopping by to comment on your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Billings. I am glad to hear that you appreciated our fantastic downtown location which is within easy walking distance of restaurants, shops and museums. I am also happy that you enjoyed our cardio and weight rooms as well as our wine selection!

I have passed along your observations concerning noise levels and musty air to our maintenance team. They are looking into some noise reduction measures and will be methodically working their way through the hotel to ensure that each room is receiving quality air flow.

Thank you again for your comments and for staying with us. We hope you will visit us again soon!

Best,

LaRell Baldwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Montana, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We used the Crowne Plaza as our headquarters for 15 family members to attend a family wedding at the Billings Depot. It was a great spot because we were within walking distance of the wedding facility and many other local eateries and bars. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. A niece and her husband stayed an additional 2 days because the hotel was able to accommodate them for an extended stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHotel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Billings, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
VurnieB –

Thank you so much for stopping by to comment on your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our clean, comfortable rooms and fantastic downtown location. I am especially happy that we were able to help make it a wedding to remember!

Thank you so much for your review and for staying at the Crowne Plaza Billings. We hope to serve you again soon!

In Hospitality,

LaRell Baldwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, Wyoming
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Every time we stay in Billings over a weekend we book this hotel. The rooms are updated, clean, and close to downtown night life. The staff is always friendly and parking is free. The only downfall is there is not a pool or hot tub.

Room Tip: If you book on a third party site you get really great rates (1/3 of the standard).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHotel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Billings, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Desirae52-

Thank you so much for your comments and your loyalty to the Crowne Plaza Billings. I am very happy to hear that you enjoy our rooms, fantastic downtown location, validated parking and friendly staff. Our property does not have a swimming pool; however, there are several options in Billings if you want to go swimming! Please contact our friendly front desk the next time you are in town. They will be more than happy to let you know about the swimming choices closest to the Crowne Plaza.

Thank you again for your comments and for staying with us! We look forward to your next weekend visit to Billings!

In Hospitality,

LaRell Baldwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, Washington
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The place has very little parking in the front but around back there is a garage that you can have the hotel validate for free parking.

The front entrance has a "For Sale" sign smack in the front window which can make a weary traveler a little suspicious of the place.

We made a reservation for three adults and went up to the 14th floor, opened the door to our room and discovered we had one queen bed. So back to the lobby to go through the process again for two queen beds.

The rooms are old style- tight with a bathroom completely enclosed behind one door so that the sink is not accessible if someone is using the toilet or shower.

They provide WiFi and television. But no continental breakfast here.

The carpets are looking stained and ready for an update; the whole place really. The location is conveniently located so we were able to walk down the street to one of many options for dinner.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHotel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Billings, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
pinkpepper9 –

Thank you so much for stopping by to review your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Billings. I am glad you enjoyed our fabulous location and got out and about during your stay with us. I am also glad that you used our free hotel-wide Wi-Fi and our validated City of Billings parking garage access! However, I am sincerely sorry that some aspects of your stay were not satisfactory.

Allow me to apologize for the difficulties you experienced at check in. I have discussed your comments with our Front Desk Manager who will be providing some refresher training for her staff.

There is office space at the top of our building which is leased to several businesses. There is currently some office space available for lease which accounts for the sign you saw when you checked in. I am very sorry that this caused you some suspicion, and I can assure you that there are no plans to sell the building. We also appreciate your feedback concerning the bathroom layout and condition of the carpets as this helps inform our future renovation decisions.

Thank you again for your comments and for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Best,

LaRell Baldwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I don't understand some of the lukewarm reviews of this hotel, we fount it top-notch. Great location center of downtown, great front-desk, well-appointed room, lots of amenities and quiet! Free parking. And lucked out on Priceline for a great price.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHotel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Billings, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
drelde –

Thank you so much for taking a moment to comment on your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Billings. I am very happy that you enjoyed our friendly staff, quiet rooms and fantastic location! Thank you again for staying with us and for your kind endorsement. We look forward to serving you again soon!

In Hospitality,

LaRell Baldwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Motel lobby and porte cochere are very dated and awkward. Rooms have been remodeled, but still have outdated old brick walls and are very dark. Bathrooms very nice, and probably about as good as you can find in Billings. Partially redeemed by Starbucks next door for this coffee lover. On site restaurants limited, but decent room service menu.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHotel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Billings, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Lisa A –

Thank you so much for stopping by to review your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Billings. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed our bathrooms, onsite Starbucks and fantastic downtown location!

However, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy some aspects of our interior decoration. The Crowne Plaza Billings is one of the tallest free standing brick structures in the west, so the brick was left exposed to incorporate this charm into our décor. We do appreciate your feedback regarding the design scheme of the hotel, as this will help inform future renovation decisions.

We have one onsite full service restaurant on the 20th floor and in addition to the Starbucks and lounge in the lobby. However, there are many great downtown Billings restaurants within walking distance of the Crowne Plaza. Be sure to ask our friendly front desk staff about our nearby local eateries the next time you are in town.

Thank you again for your comments and for staying with us! We hope you will visit us again soon.

In Hospitality,

LaRell Baldwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Billings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Billings

Address: 27 North 27th Street, Billings, MT 59101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Billings 3.5*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Billings; our location sets us on 27th Street, between I-90 and Billings Logan International Airport. Be sure to visit our new Starbucks located in the lobby of the hotel. Our Billings hotel is 100% non-smoking and features complimentary wireless Internet access. The Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage program features 7 layers of comfort and sleep amenities. With over 16,000 square feet of meeting space the Crowne Plaza Billings is The Place To Meet. Allow our sales professionals to cater your next business or social event. This downtown hotel offers an incredible dining experience 20 stories above the competition. Visit our Montana Sky Restaurant to enjoy our American cuisine and breathtaking views or relax with colleagues over cocktails in Montana's Lounge in the hotel lobby. Minutes from the local business corridor and area attractions such as: Wells Fargo, Conoco Refinery, Billings Clinic, Exxon Mobil, St. Vincent Hospital, and the Metra Park Arena. Only 120 miles from Yellowstone National Park and within a short distance to Little Big Horn Battlefield, Pictograph Caves, Pompey s Pillar and many historical sites. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, our professionally and friendly staff take pride in providing guests with personalized service and memorable experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Billings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Billings Hotel Billings
Billings Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Billings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.