We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks to the great staff our stay was comfortable and memorable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn - The Grand Montana Billings

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn - The Grand Montana Billings to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn - The Grand Montana Billings
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5500 Midland Road, Billings, MT 59101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 46 hotels in Billings
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
“Thanks to the great staff our stay was comfortable and memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Having never been to Billings I searched the IHG website for Billings Hotels because I always try to stay at an IHG brand due to their high standards. I am a Department of Defense employee and the Government pricing was the best in the area. Before arriving I contacted Mike by getting his email address from one of the other reviews and he responded that same day with some great information on the local area for us and made sure the reservation was all set and had things ready for us when we arrived. We did get into town earlier than expected due to a change to an earlier flight and decided to see if we could check in before the normal check in time. Jance took care of us right away and got us into our room within a few minutes. We did stay in the tower area and the room was clean, quiet and very comfortable. We stayed 3 nights and never heard any other guests or pets or traffic the entire stay. We used the pool and hot tub all days we were there and the water was clean and warm the whole time. The restaurant offered a great breakfast buffet and the room service we ordered came promptly and tasted wonderful. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay in a new city a comfortable and memorable one. I think we found our “go to” hotel in Billings. Thanks again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, General Manager at Holiday Inn - The Grand Montana Billings, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello Drew W,
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review based on your stay with us. I am pleased to read our staff was able to meet your accommodation needs during your stay. I will be sure to pass this information onto our staff and let them know how great they are doing. On your next trip to Billings please feel free to stop in my office and say hello.
Thanks again,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    56
    61
    38
    25
See reviews for
54
44
15
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel is very dirty. The carpet is stained and stinks, walls are dirty, furniture is old and damaged. I visited three rooms(!) before deciding to go elsewhere. All three rooms were sub-par. The customer service was the best thing about the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, General Manager at Holiday Inn - The Grand Montana Billings, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hello LEPPR,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your visit to our property. I sincerely apologize we were not able to meet your accommodations needs. I would like to offer you another opportunity to visit out property and see our tower rooms. Please feel free to stop in and say hello and we will be more than happy to show you more rooms.
Thank you again,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

As a professional touring musician, I have had the (sometimes dubious) opportunity to stay in accommodations all over North and Central America and the Caribbean. I never expected what awaited us in Billings, MT. Playing the full run of The Montana Fair, we were provided rooms at the Grand Montana. Not only is it spacious and beautiful, the beds are actually comfortable, wi-fi is fast and reliable, and housekeeping is eager and competent. The staff is top shelf AAA+, and were especially helpful with printing, scanning, and returning a crucial contract for me after my laptop crapped out. I recommend the Grand Montana to anyone looking for accommodations in Billings, MT! Bravo!

Room Tip: 2nd floor atrium jacuzzi suite...spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, General Manager at Holiday Inn - The Grand Montana Billings, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hello Timberwlf2001,
Thank you for taking the time to share how wonderful your stay is. I will ensure to let our staff know how great they are doing. I am pleased to read you stay was perfect and you were able to enjoy out property. On your next trip to Billings feel free to stop in and say hello.
Thank you.
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We try to stay at Holiday Inns due to being priority club members - free breakfast, evening drinks if available etc. The good: the breakfast buffet was fabulous! The service and selection - especially all of the fresh fruit was wonderful. The common area - atrium and lobby was very nice. From there, a maze of rooms erupted and somewhere along the way was our king suite. I don't know when the place was built but it desperately needs an update and scrubbing. All and all, if I had to travel thru Billings again, I might still stay here - the breakfast truly was wonderful.
The front desk staff must have been short handed - long wait and phone calls served before us - travelers with reservations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - The Grand Montana Billings, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear jeng4,

Thank you for letting us know how your stay was with us. We are delighted you enjoyed breakfast. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced with our staff service and condition of the rooms. Your comments are important to us to ensure we are constantly focused on improving our service and we hope we can demonstrate to you our commitment to value and service. If your travel brings you to the area in the future, we hope you give us another chance.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell, South Dakota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The decor was updated and welcoming. When we checked in, the desk attendant was Tina and she was very helpful and friendly. The location was easy access from I-90. We have no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, General Manager at Holiday Inn - The Grand Montana Billings, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hello Retha,
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review based on your stay here with us. I am very pleased to see we were able to meet the needs of your stay. I will ensure to let Tina know how great she is doing with her Guest Service. On your next trip to Billings feel free to stop in and say hello.
Thank you again,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville, Nevada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Arrived a bit early (1:30) and asked if we could check in. Husband is Priority Club Member, and thought just maybe. Sandy at the front desk checked on the room and it would be 20 mins. No problem. Then she decided to upgrade us to a higher floor, gave us the keys and said wait 20-30mins. Have a bite to eat in the Casino as the restaurant was not open. Sounded good! Well about and 1 hour later, we were ready and the great bartender AMY called to see if we could get in the room. We were asked to come to the front desk before going up. Amy said I bet their going to give you another room. We laughed!! Well that is what they did because the person in the room had decided to stay early that morning and set it all up. Someone at the front desk did not put it in the computer. Okay honest mistake, Well then we were given another room but couldn't have those keys until 4:00. Kaylee was very rude at this point about us being there at all. I asked what happened to the first room we were given that would be ready in 20 mins. No answer. At 4:30 I went over, cut in line of about 15 people as I had been waiting 3 hours, excused my self of course. Finally got keys to a room 4407. Got our luggage, went in the room took a nap, husband went to the pool. We had tickets to "Steve Miller" and it was later in th evening. Husband gets in the shower and the plumbing backs up and all this black stuff comes out of the drain. Plumber came up I guess as we had to go. Same thing the next morning. Carpet really needs to be replaced all over the building. Many tripping hazards. Water fall was nice, but very loud. Breakfast was good and a great variety. Amy in the Casino really took care of us for all the mess up. My husband was really trying to make a romantic getaway as our pets even when to the kennels. This was so disappointing for him. Won't be back and will never try to check in a bit early to relax. Very noisy location, as I could hear traffic all night. They did discount our room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - The Grand Montana Billings, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear KDMadsen,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments about the breakfast and the casino staff, we apologize for the inconvenience you have encountered with our front desk staff and the bathroom incident. I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our tour bus booked this hotel on way to Yellowstone. The atrium looked good and the rooms facing it would have been good. But we were led down the corridor to another set of rooms that looked pretty fated. Their was hair on the floor everywhere we stepped ( ? previous person had a pet and room was not vacuumed enough?). Anyway we were out the next morning.

The restaurants were not within walking distance since this was not in the downtown area. Luckily the tour bus took us to Jade palace and Fuddruckers was nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - The Grand Montana Billings, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear greenvillehybrid,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and we regret the room you received did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn - The Grand Montana Billings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - The Grand Montana Billings

Address: 5500 Midland Road, Billings, MT 59101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 46 hotels in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - The Grand Montana Billings 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Holiday Inn Grand Montana has to offer. Your are at the heart of everything, whether it's business or pleasure. Our guest rooms provide all the comforts you have come to expect, from a top quality hotel. Enjoy the best night's sleep on our plush mattresses, stay connected with our free high-speed wireless Internet, swim year round in our indoor pool or relax in the hot tub and sauna. Find excitement with Montana Style Gaming in our new casino or quietly read your favorite book next to the atrium waterfall. The hotel completed an extensive facelift from top to bottom in 2008 and you will be sure to feel the warm, friendly and inviting atmosphere the minute you walk through our door. Conveniently located, just 10 minutes from Logan International Airport and easily accessible from I-90 exit 446. Experience a few of the nation's treasures, as the Holiday Inn Grand Montana is perfectly situated between Yellowstone National Park and Little Bighorn Battle Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn - The Grand Montana Billings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - The Grand Montana Billings Hotel Billings
Billings Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Billings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn - The Grand Montana Billings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.