We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a really great place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS ClockTower Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS ClockTower Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS ClockTower Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   2511 1st Avenue N, Billings, MT 59101-2320   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Billings
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Big Sky, Montana
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“This is a really great place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Only negatives: no microwave in the room, you can faintly hear trains at night, the room heater occasionally squeaks. Pluses: the rooms are completely remodeled. Great bathrooms/ fixtures/pressure. The towels are new and fluffy. Not much counter space but it is adequate and it has good lighting plus a great magnifying mirror. Sink are separate from shower/toilet so that's handy. Fridge, coffee maker (with GOOD coffee but yucky powdered creamer and no half/half in the lobby) shower cap, and hair dryer in the rooms. Clean rooms, even the remote is sanitized. Shampoo, conditioner and lotion are all environmentally friendly brands (great job BW). Bed was very comfortable. Free wi-if. Huge flat screen tv. It's a motel not hotel which I usually hate. But, I'm telling you, it feels like a hotel. You can't go wrong. I wish it was $10 less but you get what you pay for! Front desk clerk (Norma jean and her puppy) were very nice and helpful!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In-House_Coordinator, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS ClockTower Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for the honest feedback. You are correct that we do not have microwaves in our rooms as we found more guests "experimenting" in them than heating up food leaving the rooms with an odor and the microwaves with a cleanliness less that acceptable for our us or our future guests. I must say you are the first to ever comment on our creamer and I promise we will look into that and see what options are out there. I also really appreciate the feedback and the value comment as it is important we provide value for price paid. I will pass along your comment to Norma and her puppy "baby girl".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    152
    56
    23
    16
See reviews for
120
133
49
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, MN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I'm writing this review because I'm surprised by the poor ratings this hotel has gotten. The hotel staff is friendly and its in a great location. Lots of food/bars/entertainment to walk to. Located right in downtown billings its close to a little of everything. The airport shuttle is usually prompt, and a great service. The rooms are really fantastic. They appear to be recently remodled and are always very clean, and stylish. I stay in Billings several times a month, and this is my hotel of choice. You can get a good price on some of the bidding websites. Again I can't reitterate enough that this hotel is leaps and bounds above similarly priced offerings in billings. I should also add that I travel for a living, and stay in hotels up to 18 nights a month, and this is one of the few I look forward to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In-House_Coordinator, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS ClockTower Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
What an incredible review and I am really glad you enjoy your stays at our property. We really try to make sure everyone enjoys their stay and it is great to see a guest such as yourself taking time to write a glowing review. There are going to be some great things happening over this winter including newly remodeled rooms and the addition of a second elevator in a section which only has stairs to the second floor allowing for a more enjoyable experience. Thank you once again for your loyalty to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The BW Clocktower in was ok , clean , friendly service , but seemed to have constant noise ,all night, even the toilet would sometimes splash up, mentioned this to front desk staff , they sort of brushed it off as this was unusual, but nothing was done about it or even mentioned again. coffee maker in our room didnt work , again mentioned to front desk ... never fixed. Room was always clean, but this shouldn't be a 3 star, the Country Inn suites is at least a star above this one and it is only a 2 1/2 star, and you get breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In-House_Coordinator, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS ClockTower Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
I am very sorry about the constant noise, the coffee maker, and toilet. Without knowing your specific room I can't specifically address the problems. However, we had been notified of several toilets having problems in a section and have since been replaced. This sounds like you may have been in one of those rooms prior to use becoming aware of the problem and I truly do apologize for that. As for the coffee maker, ours are situated on a tray which can be moved around and as such are not plugged in. I can understand it to be a hassle but we found many guests normally moved the coffee maker around so we tried to just make it a quick second easier for the early morning risers. I appreciate the honest comments and assure you we take guest comments very seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My room, with a single king bed, was very nicely appointed. The bed was super comfortable, with a plethora of pillows. The room itself was quite spacious, with a writing desk and a comfy couch. The towels were plush and soft, and the coffee provided in packets was quite good. The HVAC system had a fan that could be set to run all night, effectively blocking noise from late arrivals.

Room Tip: It would be a noisy stay right by the pool during summer; my trip was in October so there wasn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In-House_Coordinator, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS ClockTower Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
It is nice to see you enjoyed your stay and the room was to your liking. we are currently remodeling our pool rooms so they be even better by next summer. I am also really pleased to see that the HVAC system worked well for you and allowed you to get a good nights rest. You are correct that summer the pool area is our most popular area, but we take noise complaints very seriously as one of our main job is to provide a good night's rest for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in a room with a single king bed. The bed was comfortable. The room had a small desk, reclining chair and mini fridge, but no microwave. I appreciated the sitting option. The 'closet', luggage rack and adjacent sink area is very cramped. Bathroom is small. The people at the front desk were pleasant and helpful. I would stay here again. The adjacent restaurant 'Stellas' is very good, but is not open for dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In-House_Coordinator, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS ClockTower Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
I am glad you enjoyed your stay though you felt a little cramped. We do offer several different types of king rooms and would suggest if you would like more space in the room and bathroom go with a king room by the pool as they are our largest king rooms with a pullout coach, large bathroom, and plenty of extra space to spread out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel,Gauteng,South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night only as we had to leave from Billings airport to Seattle. Found it to be clean and the staff was very helpful. They arranged a very early shuttle(4:30am) to take us to the airport and even offered us early morning coffee!

Room Tip: We had 6 suitcases for 3 people...they unfortunately did not know this so we were stuck in a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In-House_Coordinator, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS ClockTower Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
You will be happy to know we really take comments by our guests seriously and after comments of not having elevator access to a section of the hotel this winter we will be putting in a second elevator which will now give us elevator access to 90% of the property. We are always trying to improve our property and honest feedback from guests such as yourself is invaluable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had and early morning flight out of Billings after spending several days at Custer State Park. We just wanted a clean room and some dinner. We got so much more. The hotel is only about 10 minutes from the airport. It is also just a block from a street lined with restaurants. The hotel will give you a map of the restaurants,
The breakfast at Stella's is a real treat!
I don't know how they did it, but the hotel lobby smells like a pine forest!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In-House_Coordinator, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS ClockTower Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Custer State Park is a great place and I am glad that we capped on your travels with an enjoyable experience. As a traveler myself I know how a hotel at the end of the stay can make a long trip just a little bit longer. I hope you were able to actually enjoy one of the many restaurants we have within 2 blocks of us. Hope you come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS ClockTower Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS ClockTower Inn

Address: 2511 1st Avenue N, Billings, MT 59101-2320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Billings
#7 Family Hotel in Billings
#7 Business Hotel in Billings
#9 Romantic Hotel in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS ClockTower Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring an outdoor pool, Best Western PLUS Clocktower Inn is conveniently in the center of the city of Billings, Montana. Guests of the hotel can enjoy freshly baked goods at Stella's Kitchen and Bakery, on-site. Comfortably designed, each guest room at the hotel features a refrigerator, cable TV, and free Wi-Fi access. The private bathrooms come with a bathtub or shower and free toiletries. After a long day of exploring the sights of Billings, guests at Best Western PLUS Clocktower Inn can unwind in the hotel's sauna. Added amenities available here include a complimentary airport shuttle, a 24-hour front desk, and a business center. Yellowstone Art Museum is a 7-minute walk away, and a number of federal and state government buildings, as well as financial institutions, can be reached in a 5-minute walk. Zoo Montana is 12.2 miles from the hotel. Free parking is offered at this Best Western. Billings Logan International Airport is 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Best Western, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS ClockTower Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Clocktower Hotel Billings
Best Western Billings
Best Western Clock Hotel
Billings Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS ClockTower Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.