We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Big Horn Resort

Save Saved
You added Big Horn Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Big Horn Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1801 Majestic Lane, Billings, MT 59102 (Formerly Wingate by Wyndham Billings)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #16 of 48 hotels in Billings
Walkerville,Montana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel lies on the outskirts of Billings, as such the location is inconvenient to say the least. The rooms are comfortable enough and fairly clean. However the hotel engages in a policy of turning off the refrigerator in the room and leaving it warm for you to save a few cents of electricity. The breakfast was not anything special either. Ultimately though the reason my experience was poor was the service. A large group of people walked into the lobby to check in. Then a member of the staff (presumably the manager) walked in and screamed at the top of his lungs for everybody to be quiet. Granted it was 1:00 in the afternoon and the hotel was desolate. There was some noise but not that bad considering that thirty people just came in the door. I thought it was a disgraceful way to treat customers and severely degraded my opinion of the establishment. Overall this hotel was an average value but you can do better in Billings. I would recommend this hotel only if you cannot find anything else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bighornresort, General Manager at Big Horn Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your candid comments. I apologize for any staff member that was not service oriented and will address this issue with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    29
    13
    9
    19
See reviews for
60
18
2
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Butte, Montana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

New management has no clue on how to run a buisness with a 20 year old running the waterpark and no actual banquet services. Must bring in a cater for any funtions. A lot of turnover in help and how they treat their help. The rooms are nice and so are most of the help. My stay was for 2 days. I seen yelling at workers and drama. Things you shouldn't see. I don't see this buisness growing more like crumbling.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bighornresort, General Manager at Big Horn Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your candid response. I am a bit confused however as we do have a full banquet service, we offer catering to be done by the Resort or you have the option to bring in your own catering as well. If you experienced staff issues I apologize and will address that with the department heads immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We live in Billings, but decided we wanted to take the kids out to have some fun at "The Reef" water park. We had a blast at the water park attached to the Hotel. Rented the room for ease of going to and from the water park and to make it a short trip at the end of the day. Awesome employees at the water park and Hotel. Highly recommend it for family fun!!!

Room Tip: We rented the Suite with a Queen, King and fold out couch bed. It was not the wedding suite, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bighornresort, General Manager at Big Horn Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your candid review, I am thrilled that you and your family had such a great time and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

First time staying here, and loved it. Rooms were big and spacious, very clean and staff very friendly and helpful. Didn't use the pool or waterside, maybe next time with the kids.
It almost seems out of the way, but really it isn't. King Ave is just a few short minutes away.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bighornresort, General Manager at Big Horn Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you for your candid comments, we love to hear when we have hit the mark. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

overall the hotel was satisfactory.the bedding was a little shaky as well as the walls between rooms..if you can hear your neighbor talking to his business partner through the walls it makes you paranoid of what you might be doing in your room.(wife or girlfriend) the staff were friendly and very nice. unfortunately,i don't think i would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bighornresort, General Manager at Big Horn Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your candid response. I am sorry to hear that you would not return as our staff, cleanliness and location scored very high with you. i will address the issues you experienced and I thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, North Dakota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We called ahead for a Thanksgiving retreat to make sure the water park would be open for the holiday. I understood closed for Thanksgiving, so I booked the room. We booked this room so my daughter could play with me at the Reef while her mom went shopping. The only reason we stayed was because of this. We woke up Friday morning, the Reef's hours were 9am-9pm, just to find out they were not going to open due to staffing issues. UNACCEPTABLE. The Bighorn is considered a resort, with one tiny little hot tub and the jets were not working! It wasn't even hot! Besides serving the same breakfast meal every morning and we found hair in the eggs. Not a weekend resort. They shouldn't advertise as a resort if they don't have a relationship with the Reef where they can use their pools and have access to them. We won't be coming back for any weekend getaway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bighornresort, General Manager at Big Horn Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
I apologize for the shortfalls you experienced while staying with us at the Big Horn Resort. I have spoken to the Reef Manager and the staffing situation will be handled for any future stays. The hotel hot tub had been cooled down for other guests who did not like the hot temperature, it is unfortunate that to please one guest upsets another. I thank you for your comments and we will do our best to correct the issues for future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed one night. Nice big room, good toiletries. Efficient air con. Bar closed early. Nice (free) help yourself breakfast. Fantastic restaurant just across the parking lot. AMAZING steak. Try the Baseball Cut sirloin. Staff were great helping us print our boarding passes for next day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bighornresort, General Manager at Big Horn Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We love to hear that we are meeting your expectations and we look forward to your next visit to Billings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big Horn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Horn Resort

Address: 1801 Majestic Lane, Billings, MT 59102 (Formerly Wingate by Wyndham Billings)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Billings
#3 Business Hotel in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Horn Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Horn Resort is your vacation destination with a 35,000 sq ft Indoor Water Park, trips arranged to horseback ride, tour the Big Horn Canyon by boat or the Wild Horse Range, trips to Custer's Battlefield or Yellowstone Park. We have a great vacation just waiting for you. Start your day with our one of a kind full hot breakfast buffet and end your day with a relaxing drink at our Big Horn Lounge before climbing into our custom made beds for a restful night's sleep. Truly a Montana destination awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Big Horn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Horn Hotel Billings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Horn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.