We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I cannot believe this!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Big Horn Resort

Save Saved
You added Big Horn Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Big Horn Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1801 Majestic Lane, Billings, MT 59102 (Formerly Wingate by Wyndham Billings)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Billings
Williston, North Dakota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I cannot believe this!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We called ahead for a Thanksgiving retreat to make sure the water park would be open for the holiday. I understood closed for Thanksgiving, so I booked the room. We booked this room so my daughter could play with me at the Reef while her mom went shopping. The only reason we stayed was because of this. We woke up Friday morning, the Reef's hours were 9am-9pm, just to find out they were not going to open due to staffing issues. UNACCEPTABLE. The Bighorn is considered a resort, with one tiny little hot tub and the jets were not working! It wasn't even hot! Besides serving the same breakfast meal every morning and we found hair in the eggs. Not a weekend resort. They shouldn't advertise as a resort if they don't have a relationship with the Reef where they can use their pools and have access to them. We won't be coming back for any weekend getaway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bighornresort, General Manager at Big Horn Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
I apologize for the shortfalls you experienced while staying with us at the Big Horn Resort. I have spoken to the Reef Manager and the staffing situation will be handled for any future stays. The hotel hot tub had been cooled down for other guests who did not like the hot temperature, it is unfortunate that to please one guest upsets another. I thank you for your comments and we will do our best to correct the issues for future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    30
    13
    10
    19
See reviews for
64
21
2
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed one night. Nice big room, good toiletries. Efficient air con. Bar closed early. Nice (free) help yourself breakfast. Fantastic restaurant just across the parking lot. AMAZING steak. Try the Baseball Cut sirloin. Staff were great helping us print our boarding passes for next day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bighornresort, General Manager at Big Horn Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We love to hear that we are meeting your expectations and we look forward to your next visit to Billings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, ND
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I "had" to have the water park for a late to-do on my sons Birthday, so I decided to ignore the negative reviews and make it my own.
I don't know why so many complained about the front staff; we came in late on a Friday night and recieved a very warm welcome! The women taking our reservations over the phone was pleasant and the rooms we're exactly as we reserved, even the day of! Yes, they charged my card immediately when checking in, but I don't see why that should be an issue. In today's society, if it helps this establishment avoid theft issues, I'm all for it!
Housekeeping did a great job in providing us with clean and well maintained room(s). I chose to put up the do not disturb sign, but noted they we're on the floors at a decent hour, so as not to wake anyone, but early enough to get what you might be in need of.
I heard a bit of lil' feet running above us the first morning, but not horrible as some might say. How can you not be excited with a giant slide waiting to be had!
Breakfast was a pleasant suprise! Serve yourself, was a bit above average for your typical hotel; prepared well seemed to be the key and the gals did a great job in keeping up with the crowd and its clean-up.
The water park was was a blast for the kids. The wave pool was a bit week, considering we've been to a few you might say, but all and all it was great. Staff was friendly and the pizza was actually good.
For the parents and tag-along friends, the lounge was perfect. Well stocked, drinks we're well done and not overpriced. Again staff was super friendly. I see one improvement that would benefit the hotel and its guests; they should open up serving window to the water park kitchen and provide a bar menu!
We had a great time! We come to Billings often, but they don't allow pets (our other child..haha), so we can't come everytime, but will certainly fit it in as often as we can.
Thanks Big Horn!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bighornresort, General Manager at Big Horn Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for you very truthful review. We strive to make our guests comfortable and allow them a great time. We are thrilled that we hit the mark for your stay and we look forward to your next visit. We do have the ability to order snacks from the Reef for the lounge guests and I will make sure that they have a menu available in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is an extremely great place. The waterpark is a bit pricy. However, the rooms are NICE and CLEAN, the breakfast is awesome, and the place is quiet. I stayed there a week, and try to think of reasons to stay again... but I live here! They don't allow pets... really bad move. That's the only reason we left.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bighornresort, General Manager at Big Horn Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Tnak you for your candid comments. We love to hear when we have done a great job. Sorry we do not take pets, we have alot of hospital patients and want to be allergy free for that need. I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in the Big Horn Resort after cancelling at the Super 8. It was a great move on our part. The room was big and clean, and comfortable. The staff was friendly, and the hot breakfast was so welcome after a long week. The hotel was a little out of the way from the places we wanted to see in Billings, but not so much that it mattered. I was happy to stay there, and I'll remember that if I ever visit the area again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bighornresort, General Manager at Big Horn Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for you candid comments. We love to hear when we have done a great job and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana City, Montana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Back to school shopping trip and water slides all in one! :-) The beds were comfortable & the room was clean! Good choices for the free breakfast and lots of seating. The waffle maker wasn't working the morning we were there but there was still plenty to eat!

When we checked in we asked for a room on the top floor and the staff was very accommodating!

Had dinner at the Rib & Chop House which is right next door. Great food as always!

I even went down the water slide with my daughter!! Not just once - but three times!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bighornresort, General Manager at Big Horn Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are so thrilled you had such a great time and look forward to your next visit. Thank you for the great comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

A beautiful hotel but not worth the hassels. We paid 120$ a night plus 40$ for our children to swim also 21$ for a roll away bed because the queen suite wasn't available. The first night we were there we were locked out of our room for a half hour waiting for maintenence to fix it. When we returned on our second day our room wasn't cleaned. We called the front desk they said they would send someone up. The maintenence Guy showed up emptied trashes and replaced towels. Nothing else. When we went to check out we spoke to them about discounting our bill due to all the problems. We were told by the manager on duty all she could give us was 21$ discount. If we wanted more we had to speak to the general manager. Turns out that if we spoke to the GM the 21$ was added back on to my credit card. So I called the GM, after a week of phone tag we finally spoke. After everything we had gone through our customer satisfactions was only worth 27$ and i was basically told i was lying about the do not disturb sign not even being in our room. It seems that a lazy, lying housekeeper and an incompetent front desk staff is more valuable than satisfied happy customers. Do yourself a favor and book a different hotel and save yourself the headache.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bighornresort, General Manager at Big Horn Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
I am sorry that you were not satified with your stay. We take do not disturb sign on your room seriously as that tells us that our guests do not want to be touched by hotel services and we verify all reports of no service twice to assure we do not have a lazy staff member, and at any time that the sign is removed during our service time we make sure to attend to your needs. We are not accusing you of anything, but apologize for our misunderstanding of your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Horn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Horn Resort

Address: 1801 Majestic Lane, Billings, MT 59102 (Formerly Wingate by Wyndham Billings)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Billings
#4 Business Hotel in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Horn Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Horn Resort is your vacation destination with a 35,000 sq ft Indoor Water Park, trips arranged to horseback ride, tour the Big Horn Canyon by boat or the Wild Horse Range, trips to Custer's Battlefield or Yellowstone Park. We have a great vacation just waiting for you. Start your day with our one of a kind full hot breakfast buffet and end your day with a relaxing drink at our Big Horn Lounge before climbing into our custom made beds for a restful night's sleep. Truly a Montana destination awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Big Horn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Horn Hotel Billings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Horn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.