We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“alright for lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cactus Creek Steak Outfitters and Saloon

Cactus Creek Steak Outfitters and Saloon
2928 King Avenue West, Billings, MT 59102-6434
406 656 9090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #187 of 278 Restaurants in Billings
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Chinteche, Malawi
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“alright for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

meet my cousin here for lunch as its near her work, and it was alright. my fries were extremely salty, but my sandwich was good, and both my dad and cousin said their french dip was excellent. Decor and service are what i would expect from a cookie cutter type steakhouse. I wont tell you to go here, but i wont say stay away either.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBerry972, General Manager at Cactus Creek Steak Outfitters and Saloon, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments about your recent visit with us. We look forward to hearing what our guests have to say, as it is in this way that we will be able to make our restaurant even better. Frank, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    4
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Montana
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Gag”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Every time we have gone here we have been disappointed. Watered down drinks and bad food. Now when I ask my husband where he wants to go eat, he says Cactus Creek? and we both burst out laughing!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBerry972, General Manager at Cactus Creek Steak Outfitters and Saloon, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
I am truly sorry for your negative experience at Cactus Creek, and I welcome the opportunity to speak with you. If you agree, I would like to discuss your most valid concerns, and I thank you for bringing them to my attention. As I've said in the past, "I can't fix a problem if I don't know about it". My name is Frank and I am the General Manager of Cactus Creek. I hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“How does this place stay open?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

After spending many years in the restaurant business, my overall opinion of this place is that is was opened by one of the many people who know nothing about running a restaturant, yet think they can do it better. They failed. First of all, the dining area is basically a large warehouse of a room filled with tables. It is very inpersonal and uncomfortable. The acoustics are terrible and it is quite loud, even when not full. We were not offered the traditional steak house starters such as bread before our meal. I ordered a side ceasar salad to start my meal and was brought a bowl of romain lettuce with a couple of croutons and a side of ceasar dressing. I have never ever ordered a ceasar and not recieved it tossed and dressed. For dinner I ordered the shrimp scampi entree and was surprised that entrees were not served with both a side and a vegetable. I essentially paid $25 for 6 shrimp cooked in what was clearly a butter substitute, and a side of rice. Very over priced and disappointing. My take on the service was that they had just never been properly trained. They were all over the place and a little scattered. I am only giving this restaurant a 2 out of 5 because my fiance's steak was OK and it is conveniently located on King street. That being said, we will not be going back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBerry972, General Manager at Cactus Creek Steak Outfitters and Saloon, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
I would like to personally apologize for your unhappy experience with us. We have realized that certain things were being done incorrectly, and we have had made several changes in an effort to put us back on the right course. I would very much like to speak with you about your visit here, and about the possibility of you visiting us again. Again, I am sorry for your unexpectedly unhappy visit, and I welcome your call. Frank, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garneill
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Good food and was reasonably priced. Service was great. Will go back again.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBerry972, Manager at Cactus Creek Steak Outfitters and Saloon, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We very much appreciate it. Frank, General Manager, Cactus Creek Steak Outfitters and Saloon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

My husband and I went to Cactus Creek for dinner for our anniversary and it was everything we hoped for and more. We ordered a bottle of wine, appetizers, steaks, and desert, and not a thing went wrong. Our service was excellent, even though our waitress was new. We will certainly be back!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBerry972, General Manager at Cactus Creek Steak Outfitters and Saloon, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your special evening. We understand that you had a wide choice of places to celebrate, and you chose Cactus Creek. For that I am grateful. Frank, General Manager, Cactus Creek Steak Outfittesr and Saloon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Creek Steak Outfitters and Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Cactus Creek Steak Outfitters and Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cactus Creek Steak Outfitters and Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.