We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walker's American Grill and Tapas Bar

Walker's American Grill and Tapas Bar
2700 1st Avenue North, Billings, MT 59101
406-245-9291
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 280 Restaurants in Billings
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Great food, the server we had was excellent and there was nothing we could suggest that could be better!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    52
    15
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“When in Billings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Now I'm not saying that this is the best restaurant, but I will say that if you are looking for a nice dinner, or drinks, while in Billings, MT...this is a place to consider seriously. Prices are often seen as "high" for the area and quality, but I grew up in Chicago, so they seem more than fair to me. Their meatloaf is famous for a reason...give it a try.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Are we in Billings?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Right on the corner in the middle of downtown. Spectacular food, great service, excellent bar. In addition to entrees, I suggest you look at small plates as an interesting way to get fed.

The decor is what is amazing. Modern, but not cold or pretentious, the decor is definitely western and consistent with where you are on the planet. The design is such that you are almost outside, with sky above and carefully selected elements that are just plain fun to look at. The other consideration given is that when this place is full, the acoustic design leaves you able to talk quietly at your own table without having to shout over the brassy bustle of a noisy place.

Walker's is just plain well done, with a great staff and a good outlook on what Billings is becoming. This is not your mother's Billings, nor it is old Montana. You are going to have different view of Billings and maybe Montana when you leave this place.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fine...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Good steak, nice wine, service fine. Chocolate cake and a good selection of ports upped it to "very good"! Would return with family during baseball season!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Downtown dynamo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Always wonderful food, service, and atmosphere. Menu changes frequently but sticks to local, fresh and interesting. Servers know how to take care of you too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walker's American Grill and Tapas Bar also viewed

 

Been to Walker's American Grill and Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walker's American Grill and Tapas Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.