We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive night out” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Walker's American Grill and Tapas Bar

Walker's American Grill and Tapas Bar
2700 1st Avenue North, Billings, MT 59101
406-245-9291
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 278 Restaurants in Billings
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Billings, Montana
1 review
“Expensive night out”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our family went out for a fun evening while our grandson was home for spring break from college. The atmosphere was noisy which we could have handled, but as the evening progressed we had more and more disappointments with this dinning experience. The waitress was good ...the calamari was well breaded and tasty but a good resturant would not serve clams that were not open after cooking....our plate had several. When we were served the main course we really were unhappy with a dish that cost over $17.00 and was almost ineditable. The two of us that ordered that lamb dish left over 1/2 of the food on the plate and did not even choose to take the leftovers to the dog. A steak that came to the table was so undercooked that the meat was cold and ozzing with blood, My son-in -law had asked for med. rare,,,,,but raw was unaccebtalbe. It was sent back and cooked a little more, but still tough and uncooked. He ate it. One of our dinners even lost his appitite before his salad was served and asked to have his meal cancelled. This only touchs on the night but we did want to let it be known that of the better restaurants in Billings this was a huge dissappointment. Our family enjoys a good meal and next time we will choose a different venue.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    49
    14
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best dinner in Billings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Walkers is a beautiful setting, with very good service and a wonderful menu. I had a very spicy soup - loved it, the server warned me about the heat and she was right, but great flavors. The steak tacos, more of an appetizer or tapas than an entree, were very, very good. 4 small tacos. Good wine menu, I had a glass of a very good cab at reasonable price.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Highlight of our dining experiences in Montana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

After two weeks in Red Lodge, we stayed in Billings overnight for an early flight. We had read about Walkers, and asked desk clerk at Crowne Plaza where it was located. Pleased to find it was walking distance, directly across the street. She said it had been recently remodeled and was fabulous. We walked over and were impressed with the sophisticated ambiance. A large bar area in front with wine on display. The walls had subtle black and white images of the "wild west" illuminated by small tract lights. Overhead fixtures were set on panels picturing cloudy skies. Everything evoked "Big Sky country" but was not kitschy. Servers were all dressed in black shirts and slacks. There was an open kitchen. We only shared four small plates - crispy artichoke hearts with aioli, roasted mussels, fried calamari, and bacon wrapped dates with Spanish chorizo and gorgonzola. Everything was delicious. Wish we'd have been hungerier, as menu had lots of intriguing choices. Wine list was also interesting, and we had a half bottle of red and half bottle of white. Service was excellent and friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Evening dinner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Excellent service and wonderful food. Enjoyed the experience. Would definetly go back. A good place to go with friends.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardiner, Montana
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Appetizers - Great, Meat - Fair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We just got back from a conference in Billings and ate at Walkers 2 nights in a row. It is downtown with convenient evening parking. It participates in the "farm to restaurant" program so we went to check it out. There was 3 of us. The place is very nice with bar seating and a dining area. Sunday was Jazz Night and the music was nice.
It offers small plates - appetizers, medium plated and large plates - dinners. The first night we had 2 rib eyes steaks and filet Minot. Both rib eyes were over cooked and the filet was chewy. That were quite pricy ($120) for how the meals came out. The waitress, "Clair" was very attentive and accommodated our dietary restrictions. We were disappointed but it was far from a bad experience.
So, we gave it another chance the second night and it turned out great. There was 2 of us and all we had was a bunch of small plates and they where fun and delicious, especially the fried artichokes, tacos and sweet potato fries. We had 5 appetizers and a glass of wine and it was under $50. We left satisfied.
I would recommend this restaurant but maybe speak to the manager before you order any steaks!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walker's American Grill and Tapas Bar also viewed

 

Been to Walker's American Grill and Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walker's American Grill and Tapas Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.