We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Northern Hotel

Save Saved
You added Northern Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Northern Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 North Broadway, Billings, MT 59101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 46 hotels in Billings
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stopped here on our way to Canada, booking this after doing research on the road. Wow. What a hotel! From the amazing lobby to one of the best hotel rooms I have ever stayed in, this place kept on surprising me! Everything was superb! The lounge and bar food were off the charts. This place in on par with the best boutique hotels in the states and we've stayed in a few. Definitely unforgettable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern_Hotel1902, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Wow Bubink what a review! We are so pleased you loved your stay with us. We hope to see you again next time you pass through Billings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    20
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
16
25
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Great Hotel for Billings. Very quiet. Rooms were great.
They need to update their room service. Very little on the menu and no deserts. When its snowing you don't want to go out. They restaurant bar was nice.
We would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern_Hotel1902, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
We are glad you chose to stay with us during the difficult weather here in Billings! Our room service menu is always changing, so we appreciate the feedback. During your future stays, feel free to ask your Room Service Attendant to see what special desserts our kitchen has prepared for that day. We’re happy to make any order custom and love to share the joy that is our in-house dessert list!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butte, Montana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I was stranded at a meeting in this Hotel, the front desk lady called a taxi for me. Unfortunately 1 hour and 20 minutes latter it still had not arrived. One of the door persons called the other taxi service and they told him it would be 45 minutes to 1 hour before they would arrive. While this was all taking place a female staff person told me if the taxi didn't show up by 1:10 she would do something about it. Little did i know she actually die something about it, she went to her supervisor and explained my problem and allowed her to give me a ride to my motel on the other side of town. They went above and beyond and i truly appreciate it. Thank you and Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays to all staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern_Hotel1902, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you so much Arnie S. We hope to see you again during your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsaydroz
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time staying in the Northern Hotel. I come to Billings at least once a month and the hotel was a refreshing place in comparison to other hotels in the area. The bed was comfortable, sheets were nice, towels were pleasant. However, the shower pressure was worse than what I imagine a cheap hotel would deliver. It was essentially a trickle. While the bathrooms look nice from a decor perspective, it was all taken away in my mind as I stood freezing in the shower waiting to be rinsed off. They really need to fix this. I am considering going back to my other hotel that I typically stay at based on this. It took away every wonderful thing I liked about this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern_Hotel1902, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Lindsaydroz we are glad you choose to stay with us and want to apologize for your shower experience. We mentioned this to our engineers and they immediately took action to make sure all our water pressure is performing properly on all floors. We want to assure you this problem has been looked into and would like to invite you to stay with us again. During your future stays, please don’t hesitate to speak with a manager if you have any problems or concerns. You can contact us at any time at 406-867-6767. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We had such a wonderful experience at the Northern Hotel in Billings on our way to Bozeman that we decided to spend Thanksgiving there on our way back through as well. The dining experience at the Ten Restaurant was over the top. The personal attention and service was remarkable. Wonderful job on the entire renovation! We will stay, dine, and socialize at the Northern Hotel every time we travel through.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudsonville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night after a long road trip. What a great place to stay. The Northern is clean and the decor is outstanding. It is new decor in a old historical building. Food is great and location is perfect.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is a brand spanking new hotel in downtown Billings with all the features of a big-city hotel. At the time of this writing, it was offering below-market rates on rooms. It has two restaurants: a fine dining room called TEN and a breakfast/lunch cafe on the corner. We stayed there for two nights and were very impressed. The staff was great and everything was new and shiny.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern_Hotel1902, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Marintraveller we also love things new and shiny! It is so great to read your wonderful review of our property. We hope to see you on your next trip through wonderful Billings. Find us on Facebook and you’ll see all our events and special offers for your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Northern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Hotel

Address: 19 North Broadway, Billings, MT 59101
Location: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 46 hotels in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Northern Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a variety of rooms available for your discriminating taste. Our Classic rooms have one king bed or one or two queen beds. Suites have one or two bedrooms and either king or queen beds. Depending on your needs or preference, we have the perfect room for your next stay.Enjoy our big city accommodations and Montana small city charms, and we believe you won’t want to stay anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.