We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for pizza” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bullman's Wood Fired Pizza

Bullman's Wood Fired Pizza
960 South 24th Street West, Billings, MT
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 249 Restaurants in Billings
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Bayside, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Okay for pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Difficult for us to find off the highway. Since we were on a road trip from Milwaukee to Seattle, this was important to us. We spent a lot longer looking for it than we wanted. I think our navigation system was confused with 960 W South 24th St instead of 960 South 24th St W. When we drove up, a truck full of wood was being unloaded.

I started with the Greek salad. The greens could have been washed more as they were gritty. I picked at the other ingredients, which were plentiful. The ingredients seemed fresh, and the salad was huge. Definitely share the salads.

The four cheese pizza was good, but unlike European Quatre Fromages pizzas. There was no blue cheese. It’s clearly stated on the menu, but it was different from what we expected.

The Crazy Mountain was good, although the spicy sausage was odd. My son loved it, but I didn’t care for it. The 14” pizza is a good size for two people.

The tomato, garlic, and basil pizza was also good.

As for wine, they only serve by the glass. You are not allowed to bring in your own bottle either. When we asked for two glasses of Zinfandel, we noticed that the waitress reached for the white Zinfandel bottle. I quickly ran to her and corrected the order. If you want a red Zinfandel be sure to order red or you will probably get the white.

The food was fine and the wine selection poor. If we returned to this area, I would look for a different restaurant unless we were craving pizza.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    15
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great pizza in Billings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Ate here during a stopover in Billings. The wood fired pizza is a nice change from normal pizza. The thin crust was excellent although there could have been a little more cheese on our pie. Right next to an Old Chicago if you want a more standard pizza, although I would go here instead.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“OK, but nothing special.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Usually when I see "wood fired" I expect the kind of thin crust pizza similar to what one finds in Italy. Bullman's serves a medium crust that could be made in any oven. My wife and I ordered a mushroom, pepper, and Italian sausage. While the sauce and veggies were fine, the sausage was the generic Domino's type, little round balls. When I see Italian sausage on a menu, I expect coin like pieces sliced from an actual sausage. The other type comes frozen in a bag from any restaurant purveyor. Service was fine, and other than the sausage, the pizza was not bad but certainly nothing special. And it was a tad pricey for pizza. I would not trash the place, but I don't think I would return if in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good pizza, little high priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I liked that this place had many varieties of pizza. The pizza was good but the pizzas weren't very big for their price. It is good but a little pricy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is a great place for pizza. You can taste the wood smoke in the crust. It is informal and fun and the service was great. I would highly recommend this place if you feel like pizza.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bullman's Wood Fired Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Bullman's Wood Fired Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bullman's Wood Fired Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.