We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Pool is awesome.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Billings North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Billings North to your Saves list
Motel 6 Billings North
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5353 Midland Road, Billings, MT 59102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 48 Hotels in Billings
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
“Great Value and Pool is awesome.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Well, we usually stay at the Motel 6 across the street, but discovered this one when I was researching a place to stay in Billings. When I read that it had a pool I was in. The staff was pleasant. We got towels whenever we asked. We thought the pool was great. The toilet was loud and had like a pressure assited flush, but was just fine. The shower also had force, but after a little adjustment the shower force was fine. Beds were soft. TV was okay, some channels were kind of fuzzy, but I mostly just watched weather. We did not go on vacation to watch TV in the Room, so that was fine with us. Did not pay the extra fee for internet. I still think it is a good price for what you get. Great Stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    8
    2
    30
See reviews for
16
10
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miles City, Montana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

We checked into the hotel and couldn't even get clear directions to our room. We had to pay extra for wireless internet - which was laggy, and often couldn't even load a basic webpage in less than 4-5 minutes. A housekeeper -walked into our room- at 4 in the afternoon, after we'd been checked in for over an hour. The toilets in all the rooms around us, as well as ours, were so loud that it would wake you in the middle of the night, and they often wouldn't flush the first time but instead would make a loud clunking noise, and when it did flush was loud enough to be heard in the other rooms. The only outlets you can use are behind the tv, because all of the rest of them have blank faceplates over them, so if you need to use your computer or have your phone within reach while charging it, you're totally out of luck. The television got horrible reception for the very few channels you could pick up, as well. A minor issue - the tv had no jacks, so I couldn't plug anything into it, and there was no LAN connection available in the room. The pool was also disgusting and milky looking, to the point where neither of us was willing to get in the water. When I filed a complaint with Motel 6, I got a form letter that told me it was an isolated incident, and they refuse to speak to me regarding the issue now.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountains
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

My husband and I chose this place because the rate was reasonable compared to other hotels in the area that cost twice as much. We also wanted a quiet, clean place to sleep and this hotel appeared that way at first. How wrong were we! That night, at about midnight, we were awakened by loud voices, slamming doors, banging on walls, car doors slamming, headlights shining through our hotel window, etc. There was nonstop noise and activity. At about 2:30 a.m., with no sleep whatsoever, I urged my husband for us to change rooms. On his way to the front desk, he passed several drunken individuals cursing and shouting and waiving beer bottles around. My husband even overheard women moaning and groaning behind closed hotel doors. It was clear this hotel was being used for late-night sex. When my husband arrived at the front desk, the hotel clerk was in the process of having the cops throw out an unruly, verbally abusive, intoxicated guest. After my husband waited 20 minutes for that to happen, long story short, at about 3:00 a.m., we finally switched to a quiet room and were able to sleep a few hours before our long 12-hour drive home. My advice to the public is to avoid this shabby place unless it cleans up its act and refuses certain customers!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

We went on vacation this fall and did a western tour. We decided to leave deadwood late to get a head start on driving to Yellowstone. Around 1 am we looked around Billings for a place to stay and did not have much luck. We found the Red Roof in the dark! When we woke up in the morning we realized we ended up in the wrong part of town across the street from a porno shop and lord only knows what else goes on in that facility! I take it the red roof corporate does not know about this place. This place is a DUMP! It is disgraceful, i considered sleeping in my car but decided not after some man was behind me in the hallway i though i was getting mugged. I could not sleep a wink thinking about what could be crawling on me. The carpets are absolutely filthy I would not even shower in the place I waited until we got to our wonderful lodge in west Yellowstone. I about died when i removed the bedspread to find it stained in lord only knows what. I am thinking they probable have special rates for the book store! If you want a good night sleep i do not recomend this.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria, VA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

They consider the phone jack "access" to the internet if you have a dial-up connection account--I complained bitterly about that and the fact that the pool wasn't open--so couldn't use it--they were too lazy to open it on time, laundry facility broke (my reasons for being there), outside door by room broke--didn't mention that bathroom had a LOUD leak and smelled moldy, halls dirty, etc.--anyway, they gave me $20 off bill. So point is: COMPLAIN! False advertising re: high-speed internet (none), pool and laundry not open. Even the coffee machine didn't work.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2008

I recently stayed there in Oct. I flew in to a freak storm and got to the Red roof just about. The staff were very friendly but that might just be my personality too and fact I was Irish. Who knows. They especially went out of there way to help me. On first night one member allowed me to use his cell phone as mine had no coverage and another gave me a pack of cigerettes as I had none. Thats above and beyond their duty. So everyone else who says they were unfriendly must be bit grumpy themselves. I am going back to Billings next march and possibly will stay there again again was very reasonable and nicely located. They made a 3 day snow in very very bearable.

The rooms themselves a basic but what else would you expect for price. It was clean and did have maid service for 3 days I was there.
There was plenty of hot drinks available in reception for all guests. And no limit to amount you could have.

  • Liked — The Staff were really wonderful to me.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

My wife and I recently stayed at this motel and we were disgusted not only with the filthy room that we were put in, but also the lies that the general manger told us.

The room was absolutely filthy, the carpet was stained with huge paint spots not to mention it was covered with food particles and dirt. The shower had hair on the walls and in the tub to. The towels that were supposed to be clean had hair on them, and they were also stained. We had a room with two bed, not just one but both beds had stains on the sheets and pillow cases, the stain appeared to be fisces. We returned to the first desk and ask for a refund we were told that they had closed the cash drawer out and that the manager would be back in on Monday and she would send a refund to us. After waithing another 4 days the manager told me that she would be sending the check that afternoon (Thursday) I waited for another week and never received a check, when I spoke with her again she said that she had to send the refund request to corporate and they would issue a check. Ispoke with her again and she told me that she would be going down to get a money order that afternoon and send it to us. Many weeks have passed and still have not received a refund check from corporate or from the motel. Everytime I try to reach the manager at the hotel she is always out, and the sorporate office keeps saying to contact her, but that is not possibly because she is never there or at least that is the story that I am told when I call to speak to her. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PROPERTY IT IS FILTHY AND DISGUSTING.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Billings North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Billings North

Address: 5353 Midland Road, Billings, MT 59102
Location: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 48 Hotels in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Billings North 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Billings North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Billings North Hotel Billings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Billings North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.