We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of the Windmill Restaurant

the Windmill Restaurant
3429 TransTech Way, Billings, MT
406 252 8100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 278 Restaurants in Billings
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Wimberley, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Windmill was an old favorite in town which closed many years ago. They were best known for their fried prawns and bbq ribs. The new Windmill is a gorgeous restaurant with friendly - experienced wait staff. The ribs and prawns are still part of the menu and there are many other wonderful options - though I am stuck on the prawns. A bit off the beaten path in West Billings but worth the effort to find it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    6
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

we love it here! good food, quiet, very nice waitresses! great place to have a quiet nice evening with your honey! need to bring back veggies!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable setting with good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

After a long days drive, our hotel's front desk recommended another restaurant. It was packed and not feeling like being in a cattle call started to head in the general direction of a restaurant we had passed already. As is my custom in unfamiliar Towns took a different road and found this restaurant in the middle of now where.
Glad we did. Steak for me and Fish for the boss. (yes in the middle of the West) both entree's great.
Glad the other place was full. The Windmill is easy to find actually. Just past that other place off the I-90 ..Google it ;)

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Compared to the old Windmill on the wrong side of the tracks, this new Windmill in their new building and location is a total disappointment. Sure, the atmosphere is new, swanky and fresh, but the prices have gone up and the food quality has gone downhill.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

The steaks and prawns were outstanding. It has been a long time since I have thoroughly enjoyed such a great dinner. The staff was very nice and attentive and made the experience even better. For a night on the town, my husband and I enjoy going there for a wonderful meal. They also have the best patio in all of Billings. It includes wildlife, water, a walking path and firepit for those chilly evenings.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the Windmill Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to the Windmill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the Windmill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.