We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never stay at a HOJO hotel again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Billings

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Billings to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Billings
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1345 Mullowney Lane, Billings, MT 59101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #34 of 48 Hotels in Billings
Elgin, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Will never stay at a HOJO hotel again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Got in after 10pm on August 30th 2012. Tired and just wanted to get into our room and relax. Being a holiday weekend they were very full. So we got put in the furthest building away from the lobby and breakfast and the pool facilities. We got into our room and there was a fridge but no microwave as promised. Then we realized the tv didn't work and then when i tried to call the front desk to complain the phone didn't work. So I had to walk through 3 sections of the building and down stairs to the lobby. I have a bad knee so this didn't make me happy. When I got to the desk, she said they were very full and she couldn't get us a microwave tonight(we were only staying 1 night). she then said she could move us to a different room. We moved and were surprised we now had a room with 2 queen beds instead of 1. we were glad that both the TV and phone worked. But in this room there was no microwave or fridge. Later noticed the toilet had been used and not cleaned in quite some time. There was debris on the carpet and the edges looked like they hadn't been vacummed in months(very dusty) so we got our rest and left as soon as we could. Didn't even try the breakfast. Another couple came to the desk and ask for extra towels. They got a few towels but were told they were all out of wahclothes and hand towels. what kind of way is this to run a hotel. I think everyone that had to stay in these conditions should get a refund.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara V, Manager at Howard Johnson Billings, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your most recent response to your most recent stay with us. I apologize for the dissatisfactions you expressed. I am available 24/7 and do apologize that I was not able to speak with you before your departure. I have spoken with the appropriate staff and assure you that these issues have been addressed. We strive to attempt to make each guests stay as pleasant and enjoyable as possible. I would like to earn your business and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    104
    94
    122
    149
See reviews for
250
79
38
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The room; old sock behind the door, candy bar wrapper on the floor, toilet only attached with one screw, long black hairs in the shower, no plugged for the tub, air conditioner goes off and on every five minutes all night and doesn't cool anything down.
The service: Extra $1.50 charge to use the water slide (one slide with two twists in it, maybe 20 feet high (not exactly a water park that might require an extra fee). Pool has large clumps of hair floating in it. Hot tub has dirt settled out at the bottom. Manager throws a temper tantrum when I tell her that the $1.50 charge for each of my kids is crazy, meets my request to waive the fee by throwing the wrist bands across the counter to me. Spends most of the rest of her time standing in front of the hotel smoking (very professional).
The breakfast was brutal, the area was dirty and the food had seen better days.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara V, Manager at Howard Johnson Billings, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your comment concerning your most recent stay at the Howard Johnson in Billings, Mt. I appreciate your feed back and assure you that guests are always put first and I take seriously customer dissatisfaction. We haveaddressed all the issues and are doing alot of training to make sure we are giving the best customer service thru out the entire hotel. I appreciate you giving us this information. Also would like to earn your business agian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Browning, Montana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

we stayed at howard johnson 3 nights in june 2012 and in august 2012 and again in sept for both of our sons will be attending college montana state university billings this fall . it is a very nice place to stay.the rooms were clean and very comfortable.the swimming pool has a waterslide and 2 hot tubs with a fitness room and even a sauna .the staff was friendly . we never had any problems will our rates online . the continental breakfast was good always has alot of food.the location of the motel is good it's not in a busy or loud area it's located in a pretty quiet area.we recomend this hotel and we will be staying again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara V, Manager at Howard Johnson Billings, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your most recent stay with us at the Howard Johnson. We appreciate your feedback and continue to try to improve our facility. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romulus, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

After being on the road for 2 days and driving through temps of 100 degrees plus, we were glad to see the hotel. Lobby was very busy upon arrival, but staff was very nice and helpful at check-in. Room was clean, spacious, and very comfortable. Considering the crowd in the lobby, we had a very quiet nights rest. Breakfast in the morning was great. The kids loved the pool. Would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara V, Manager at Howard Johnson Billings, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your most recent stay with us at the Howward Johnson. We appreciate your feedback and continue to try and improve our facility. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We made a reservation on the 800 number and paid in full. But when we arrived we were told that the room we had reserved was no longer available and the only room they had was much more expensive. When we asked why we couldn't have the room and rate we had already paid for, we were told that several others were waiting for the room and we could take it or leave it - there was nothing else they could do. We called the 800 number back to resolve, and after a lengthy conversation explaining the entire situation, they hung up on us. When we called back again, they had no record of our first call, and claimed that we had reserved the more expensive room. During both calls they asked how the original reservation was made - they apparently didn't know they had! It was clear that the overseas call center had either poor records, poor internal communication or both. When we asked to cancel the reservation and a refund, we were told that there was nothing they could do and we had to talk to another department that wasn't open until the next day. Then they actually had the nerve to charge us for the room, even though we didn't stay there. If you like dealing with overseas call centers, questionable business practices and horrible customer service, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara V, Manager at Howard Johnson Billings, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your response on your stay with us. I apologize for the dissatisfactions you expressed. I am available 24/7 and do apologgize that I was not able to speak with you about the situation. I have spoken with the appropriate staff and to assure you that these issues have been addressed. We strive to attempt to make each stay as pleasent and enjoyable as possible. I apologize that this was not to your satisfaction. I would like to earn your business and look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here over the 4th of July. We really liked the room it was comfortable and very clean. We were impressed at how professional the staff was with meeting any of our needs. My kids came to visit us and swim in the pool and the staff was very caring and understanding. Most hotels will not let you have visitors but here was different and very relaxing. The price was pretty decent and the continental breakfast was great..Most hotels offer very little but the Howard Johnson offered waffles and biscuits and gravy among other things...This is a great hotel and I would recommend it to everyone

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara V, Manager at Howard Johnson Billings, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your recent review on the Howard Johnson in Billings, Mt. We appreciate this feedback as it is helpful to us, as well as to potiontal guest. We do strrive to make everyone feel as if they were home and we are happy we have achieved that with you. We hope that you will choose us again in any future travels to the Billings area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Solid stay. Clean with friendly service. Late pool great for late arrivals. slIde fun. Cost Z 1.50 but with it to get energy out before line drive. Bfast adequate but could use protein. Kids loved the waffles and slide. Comfy beds with better than avg pillows. Room bag all we needed. Close to I90 was key for us.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara V, Manager at Howard Johnson Billings, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your review on the Howard Johnson in Billings Mt. We appreciate this feed back as it is helpful to us. We are looking into the concerns you have had while you were here. We hope that you will choose our hotel again in any future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Billings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Billings

Address: 1345 Mullowney Lane, Billings, MT 59101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 48 Hotels in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Billings 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Big Sky country at our Howard Johnson Billings hotel. Conveniently located off Interstate 90, our pet-friendly Billings, MT, hotel near Billings Logan International Airport puts outdoor adventure, vibrant night life and family fun at your doorstep. Start your day off smiling with free Rise & Dine breakfast, and use free Wi-Fi Internet access to plan your trip. Unwind after a busy day in one of our hot tubs, and let loose on the wild waterslide into our heated indoor pool. If you want to stay active, get a workout in our fitness center. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Billings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Billings
Ramada Hotel Billings
Ramada Hotel Limited

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Billings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.