We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Billings

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Billings to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Billings
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1345 Mullowney Lane, Billings, MT 59101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Billings
North Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We were charged $188. for a room that we could not even get a key that worked. We waited at least 45 minutes to try getting a key that worked and finally got into the room and just locked the door----the key never worked again. Then a large bug crawled out from between the sheets and got under the bed before we could kill it. The whole place smells nasty and was not clean. We felt badly for the gal trying to help us as she was doing her best to make a card key that worked. The coffee maker in the room also did not work. When we mentioned all this to the attendant at the desk in the morning his reply was "Ya, I've had a lot of problems with those keys today".

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo406, Manager at Howard Johnson Billings, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I apologize that your experience was less than satisfying. We have addressed your concers with our entire staff and any and all issues have been corrected. For future reference, we do provide a 24 hour Housekeeping/Maintenance staff and if there are any issues we guarantee to correct it. Thanks again and I do look foward to accommodating you in the future.
Sara VanBoxel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    111
    104
    126
    169
See reviews for
269
87
42
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

The hotel rooms in Billings were very booked and I could only get a from at the HoJos. They charged $275 a night for a room so small you had to walk sideways between the bed and the tv. The "closet" was a bar hung above a night stand. When I finally got into a better hotel, they told me the HoJos was the only place in town with rooms and they were charging $375/night! This is shameful for a national chain. DONT STAY HERE!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo406, General Manager at Howard Johnson Billings, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Prices of rooms are subject to availability, room type, number of persons, length of stay, suites, etc. I am sorry that the room cost was perhaps not in your budget. Although we appreciate your business, you had every option to refuse the room and stay elsewhere.
Thanks again and if you have any further comments, please feel free to call me at 406-252-2584
Sara Van Boxel, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre, Montana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

the room was disgusting. smelled molding and dirty. had to open the window to even sleep. the bathroom looked like it had mold in the shower. I would never stay there again and will tell everyone else i know not to stay there. also the price was way to high.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo406, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Billings, responded to this review, July 23, 2011
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your comments to better our hotel. We did address your concerns with our housekeeping and maintenance staff and want to assure you any and all issues have been corrected. I do invite you to our property again to see the improvements we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carman, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

On the road for 7 hours before trying to find a comfortable hotel...all of our regular hotels were full, Quality inns, Holiday Inn, Kelly's, Marriott.

The HJ had a room available for "1st quote" of $189...refused and got 2nd quote of $179...refused and because of tiredness accepted 3rd quote of $160 for the night...shafted by HJ's....

The joint needs a full reno. it was old, musty and damp and the room was very cramped.

We could hear the outside noises all night long.

The self serve breakfast was average (no fruit or cereal available).

Very disappointed and was glad to get out of there.

Room Tip: Do not stay in this hotel, find another
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo406, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Billings, responded to this review, July 23, 2011
I appreciate your comments! We only improve with them. I am sorry to hear that your had a unfortunate experience at our hotel. We have addressed all of your concerns with our management and staff. I do invite you back to our hotel to see the improvements that we have made. We have added additional members to our staff, brand new carpet, casegoods, and bedding will hopefully make your next stay a plus. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We arrived and immediately were hit with a dirty wet cigarette smell. It smelled like that throughout the hotel. The rooms smelled dirty and we wouldn't even sit in the chairs because they were visibly dirty. At breakfast time I had to open the draw to get plates out because they were under staffed. There was mold in the drawer with the plates. The girl at the front desk was doing her best but was in charge of the front desk and the breakfast area. The pictures on the website look a lot nicer than it really is. It was run down and dirty.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo406, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Billings, responded to this review, July 23, 2011
A wet cigarette? I imagine thats a good thing for our hotel is aiming for 100% smoke free! Please accept my sincerest apologies! We value your comments for we can only improve by them. Yes! WE CLEAN OUR HOTEL, DAILY AND BY THE MINUTE! I have addressed the issues with our staff and we can only improve by them. I invite you to our hotel the next time you are passing by Billings to see the improvements that we have made.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

As budget travellers, this was one of the cheaper establishments we stayed in.

Overall, it was perfectly satisfactory. Although there were a considerable number of young single guests, the expected noise did not happen and they were actually very polite.

Room cleanliness and breakfasts were on a par with many other similar establishments.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

My family has stayed at this hotel for 10 yrs. every summer, once or twice. This yr. the room we normally ask for was remodled and had more space. The hotel staff was great, room service was always helpful with our needs. My grandaughter,son, and family that live in Billings, all have a great time in the pools, the water slide is always the hit. My son uses the exersize equip, and I enjoy the hot tub. There is a $1.50 per person charge to use the water slide, they do have life guard and the slide is open from 1 to 10 pm. We also in the passed, have been picked up at the airport without any problems. For the money this 2 star hotel is a great stay for a family.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Billings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Billings

Address: 1345 Mullowney Lane, Billings, MT 59101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Billings 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Big Sky country at our Howard Johnson Billings hotel. Conveniently located off Interstate 90, our pet-friendly Billings, MT, hotel near Billings Logan International Airport puts outdoor adventure, vibrant night life and family fun at your doorstep. Start your day off smiling with free Rise & Dine breakfast, and use free Wi-Fi Internet access to plan your trip. Unwind after a busy day in one of our hot tubs, and let loose on the wild waterslide into our heated indoor pool. If you want to stay active, get a workout in our fitness center. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Wyndham, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Billings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Billings
Ramada Hotel Billings
Ramada Hotel Limited

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Billings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.