We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the hashbrown casserole.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cracker Barrel

Cracker Barrel
5620 South Frontage Road, Billings, MT 59101
(406) 254-9403
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 280 Restaurants in Billings
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
missoula
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Try the hashbrown casserole.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

the food is really really good. I hade the pecan pankcakes. and a side of the hashbrown casserole. gotta tell ya the hashbrowns were yummy. bottomless coffee too.
the gift shop is fun too, kid trap for sure but fun all the same

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    65
    19
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great comfort Food - cramped store”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

the food is great, service is ok. Never seem to be able to get a server around for a refill. No real seating for a family of five, always a chair in the aisle and the servers continuously beat that person to death. Even with open seats I swear they make you wait to browse the store. The store is so packed you cnnot really browse or see much anyway. Chick Fried Chicken to die for!! Family likes the dinners. Would be nice to have some Meat breakfasts with pancakes. Not much call for grits in montana.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
570 reviews 570 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 191 cities Reviews in 191 cities
330 helpful votes 330 helpful votes
“The usual Cracker Barrel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you are in a strange town, and do not want to stray far from the interstate, Cracker Barrel will fill your stomach. This is not fine dining, but ordinary, calorie-laden, homestyle cooking. At this one, I had salmon patties and my wife had two eggs and biscuits. Both of us ate, and my wife had a hot tea, for just under $14, plus tip. Can't beat that! One thing I like about CB is the chance to rent a good audio book. We found a Ken Follet book in Arkansas, and were able to return it 6 days later, in Montana.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“So consistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

As always Cracker Barrel food is tasty and plenty of it. In addition to that I found a dog toy my pup had destroyed, but loved, and I was able to purchase it there. NOw I know where to buy replacement toys.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Favorite Restaurant in the WHOLE WORLD!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Cracker Barrel is an excellent resturant to eat at, and also do some country shopping. They are always changing their store for all the different holidays and seasons. It is so fun to come here and shop and to see the different things that you can buy, but the most important thing about the Cracker Barrel is the food. When we get the chance to come through Billings, MT. we always eat here.
I order the chicken and dumplings with extra dumplings and fried apples. This is just so amazingly good. You just have to stop by here and eat. And while you are there you might as well look around at all the different country stuff they have.
I think that they should be a Cracker Barrel to Rapid City, South Dakota.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracker Barrel also viewed

 

Been to Cracker Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cracker Barrel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.