We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big potatoes!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montana's Rib and Chop House

Montana's Rib and Chop House
1849 Majestic Ln, Billings, MT 59102-6728
406-839-9200
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 249 Restaurants in Billings
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Billings, Montana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Big potatoes!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

You can tell when you walk into this place that it's not the old grub and greasy spoon. Rib and Chop House is classy and they treat you that way. You know that your chop didn't come from an old fashioned grill where everything from eggs, to hamburgers, to steaks, to pancakes is made. At R&CH, your meal is prepared by an experienced chef and your servers "know their stuff" including wines, beers, and well-drinks. It's a good family atmosphere including small children. I highly recommend R&CH !

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    63
    34
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best steak place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The steaks were so tender & flavorful. Never needed any steak sauce, they were very flavorful. Will repeat this experience!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snoqualmie, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not bad but expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The ribeye I had was seared perfectly but not seasoned very well and was medium rare when ordered it medium. The salad had lettuce that looked like some of it had frozen. Calamari and garlic mashed potatoes were good and the staff was very friendly. A bit pricey too, I would say it's more in the range of $$$

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLENTYWOOD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Local steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had the steak and mashed garlic potatoes with Carrot Souffle. It was on of the better steak dinners we ever had. Everything clean and friendly, professional wait staff. Some people may like the decor others not. We stopped in for lunch and where on our way within a half hour. This restaurant cam highley recommended by family and friends. Will definitely return. Love the quiet and that the meat is local.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Montana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It's alright.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Food is OK...not hugely impressive. Atmosphere is not good at all. Too dark. Way too dark. Dining room feels like the lobby of a cheap hotel. If you do go...pork chop IS good. I won't go out of my way to return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montana's Rib and Chop House also viewed

 

Been to Montana's Rib and Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montana's Rib and Chop House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.