We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthy Effort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blues BBQ

Blues BBQ
523 Hilltop Rd., Billings, MT 59105
406 245-2583
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 278 Restaurants in Billings
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Billings, Mt
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Worthy Effort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I travel a lot and eat out a lot. Finding Blue's BBQ here in my backyard was a nice surprise.

I thought the food was very good, and the value was great!

Don't be afraid to visit if you're hankering for some good BBQ.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shepherd, Montana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Solid BBQ for the BBQ connoisseur”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

My husband and I have been to a LOT of BBQ's and since we are moving to Billings our first order of business was checking out the local BBQ. As far as we can tell, this is THE place for people to go for BBQ around here. If you go, here's what you need to know:

-Located in a gas station, don't let it scare you away!

-Prices are REALLY reasonable- they didn't have a 'sampler' plate on the menu, but they put one together for us anyway (sausage, ham, turkey, brisket, pulled pork and 2 sides) for 9 bucks! That included a drink- we shared the plate and it was PLENTY of food.

-Super laid back atmosphere

-Order at the counter-style

-You can get it to go!

We'll be back. You can't beat a meal for two for nine bucks. And it's definitely authentic smoked meat- all sorts of delish smokey BBQ flavor on the meat!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Real smoked meat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This place offers real smoked meat. Smokers right out back. The prices are awesome! Food is great! Staff is friendly. Atmosphere is very casual- fast food like. You wait in line to order and you receive your food at the counter. There seems to be only one menu to be shared with everyone. Limited seating.
Despite the things that may be perceived as shortcomings, I will eat there again and again.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Awesome brisket”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Best BBQ brisket I've ever had! Really glad I checked this place out. The place is nothing fancy, but the service is friendly, the atmosphere is warm, and the food is great. Don't pass this place up just because it's in a gas station; you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Lots of good choices for BBQ. Ribs were very good as was the brisket. The sides were very good with their house pasta a unique dish. The coleslaw and baked beans were also very good. Owner is there and interested in what's going on.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blues BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Blues BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blues BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.