We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Christmas Get Away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Islander Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Islander Inn to your Saves list
Islander Inn
14729 Shore Acres Drive, Bigfork, MT 59911   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Bigfork B&B and Inns
Montana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Christmas Get Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was a great Christmas get-away for us. We didn't get to the motel until after 7pm on Christmas Eve so the owner was off attending a family gathering, but she made sure we still felt welcome by leaving us a note on the door, the lights and heat on in our room, and our key where we could easily find it.

The location: the motel is located right on the main highway in Woods Bay---NOT BIG FORK. The address is correct for the motel, but do not trust your GPS - ours had us more than 8 miles further south! Just keep a lookout for the teal buildings on both sides of the highway as you come into Woods Bay, you can't miss them. There are several places to eat close by, a convience store, and even a local brewery. We didn't get to try anything other than the c-store because they were all closed for Christmas.

The room: We stayed in the Wild Horse room. It was roomy and open feeling - but with the bathroom still separated, laminate "hard wood" flooring gave a very warm feeling to the room and not so typical "hotel room", The room included a nice size mini-fridge and coffee maker, racks to put your suitcases on, a little bistro table w/2 chairs, a floor lamp, and a large floor vase added nice touches. It is time for a little upkeep on the room though....the flooring near the heat/AC unit is buckled and can pinch your feet as you walk over it if you are not careful and it is time to repair/replace the bistro chairs as the wicker is breaking and someone is going to fall through one of them soon.

Value: I am not sure what the "high" season rates are, but the off-season rates were very reasonable and well worth the 30 minute drive south of Kalispell.

Dog Friendly: The motel seemed to be very dog friendly as everyone we saw had a dog with them. There is a great grassy area right outside the rooms for the dogs to play and do their "business", and there is also the dock and rocky beach across the highway at the Raven for them to explore.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    15
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
24
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed in October just one night. The room is darling with a mini kitchen. The restaurant across the street is great as is Flathead Brewing down a half block. We hiked and the weather was cool. Would be fun to come back in the summer. Think it's a great location on the lake. We met many friendly people at both restaurants, both diners and employees. Doesn't seem to be a grocery nearby, so I'd bring food to cook for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Islander! Service was amazing and the rooms were beautiful and clean. The themed rooms were adorable and they ha everything you could ever need! Beds were comfy and rooms were quiet. Wish we could stay longer!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sask.canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The bed was very uncomfortable in fact lumpy. Pillows were fine
The small room was clean and so was bathroom. Sink outside bathroom which was a plus. This is one reason to give average from poor
The fridge was unbalanced so husband put a piece of cardboard to balance & very tiny table (garden bristo table)
You could hear the noise from traffic other rooms and definitely the entertainment.
It was a Friday night so the highway was busy.
Small motel units (done in double) with themes
Would not stay longer than one night.

Room Tip: Perhaps the suites would be a lot more economical and larger in size
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I only stayed one night here. It was very clean and was nice large room with a lovely arch in the middle of the room that really added to the appeal and feel of the room. It was quiet and decorated in a Caribbean theme with colors of blue and white. It is close to Bigfork and right across the road from the lake. The staff was very friendly and there were the usual amenities of micro, fridge and coffee. The Raven, a bar across the road, served some wonderful appetizers. I was completely satisfied. There was a good wifi connection too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenner
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect when I first made a reservation here, but was drawn to it for some reason. I was a bit concerned when I saw it wasn't IN Bigfork - we had reserved it because we had tickets for the theater that night. But it is beautifully situated across the hiway from Flathead Lake, so that was a plus. The motel itself is quite nice. Very clean, well kept and the staff was great. Sound is a little bit of a problem. We could hear the person in the next room talking on the phone (through door joining the rooms), so if they were TV watchers of loud there may have been a problem. As it was that was the only "noise" we encountered. There are several places to eat/drink very close. I would definitely return if I'm in the area again. It is also pet friendly - although that didn't impact us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Nicely decorated rooms, loved the hardwood floors and nice table. Perfect place to relax and enjoy with benches on the garden and amazing views of the lake from the Raven restaurant. But from 9pm to past midnight, it was extremely noisy b/c of live music playing in the Raven. Reading the reviews I knew it would happen but I did not think the music would be so loud passed 10pm!! It definitely was and I could nothave slept without ear plugs. Not sure i'll be back if it's like that every night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Inn

Address: 14729 Shore Acres Drive, Bigfork, MT 59911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Bigfork
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bigfork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islander Inn is a tasteful collection of guestrooms and bungalows situated just a stone-throw away from Flathead Lake. The Islander is where you can put a little distance between yourself and the rest of the world. We have a pure island lifestyle with an assortment of 8 different themed suites and bungalows. Whether you gravitate toward a Hawaiian, "Maui" style, or if you're more of a Montanan "Wild Horse Island" type of person, we offer you a unique window into a tasteful and original environment. We are also "Dog Friendly," with well behaved humans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Islander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islander Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.