We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kehoe's Worth Your Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kehoe's Agate Shop

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kehoe's Agate Shop
1020 Holt Drive, Bigfork, MT 59911-6230
(406) 837-4467
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Shopping in Bigfork
Type: Specialty Shops, Shopping
Attraction details
Spokane, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Kehoe's Worth Your Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I have had visited Kehoe's many times over the past several years. My last trip, the place was jammed with people. It was great to see a small business thrive. Does it overload the sales staff--at times--but it isn't negative. Actually part of the fun. I was looking for a special pair of earrings for my sister and was waiting my turn. Very eclectic--one couple was buying fossils for their grandchildren's birthday, a young man was picking out a present for his girlfried, and many others there to see what Kehoes is about. It is a family business that has been around for over 50 years, knowledgeable staff, and then enjoy finding the perfect item for you. Reading the comments that said "no one spoke to me".....I bet the situation may have been that they were already engaged with another customer. Go, enjoy, it is absolutely worth it. Jamie

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice selection of rocks and crystals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I had read and seen many advertisements for this crystal shop so we knew we just couldn't visit the region and not make a stop. You wind through a residential area and at the dead end is the shop. When we walked in, no welcome as the two ladies continued their conversation and didn't greet us until they finished and we were asked if wanted to see anything in the cases. They had more jewelry and expensive pieces that had been polished. I was looking for unpolished, uncut original form crystals. There was quiet of bit of this here but rather expensive. We did buy two pieces of Pakistan Marble which had been made into a dish with a lid. Beautiful pieces. If you are into stone jewelry, than you will really love this place. I was in search of more crystals for my healing space.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“What a wonderful find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We saw an ad for Kehoe's in Kalispell, and called to check their hours--fortunately, we were driving through the area and they were open (they're closed on Sunday). It was quite busy when we were there, but we found the staff to be really knowledgeable and eager to help (but not pushy). We talked mostly to Logan, a delightful young man who's studying geology at MSU, and working at Kehoe's for the summer. He was a true enthusiast, really knew his stuff, and showed us several things that we wouldn't have noticed otherwise. Needless to say, we left with several marvelous things, including a little bag of wooly mammoth hair (!!). Their jewelry was also really lovely---ah, well, next time!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camano Island, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Kehoe's is a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

You might think this is rock shop and it is but it is much more! My mother bought agate rings for my sister and myself over 50 years ago from Mr. Kehoe. This store is a Montana treasure and many native Montanans include a trip to Kehoe's when visiting the Flathead valley. You will find gemstones from around the world, Montana agates, sapphires mined in Montana, earrings, necklaces, bracelets, rings and fine jewelry too. It is a store you really have to see when in the area. Call ahead to confirm they are open but in general, the only day they may be closed is Sunday. Leslie Kehoe the daughter is now the owner with in-depth knowledge. It must have been an off day if the prior reviewer did not have a positive experience. I highly recommend stopping by if looking for a gift for yourself or something to take home from Montana.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Incosiderate”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We saw signs for Kehoe's in Kalispell, so we drove an extra 25 miles (2 gallons of gas) only to find out they were closed on Sundays. There was no mention of their hours or being closed on Sundays on any of their signs, not even the one out at the end of their road. There was only a sign on the door of their shop. We never expected that on a July Sunday, at the height of tourist season, any shop in a tourist town would be closed.
Shame on you. Inform your customers instead of costing them money and time for nothing.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kehoe's Agate Shop also viewed

 

Been to Kehoe's Agate Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kehoe's Agate Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.