We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of potential” 3 of 5 stars
Review of When in Rome

When in Rome
8270 Mt Highway 35, Ste 7, Bigfork, MT 59911
+1 406-837-7663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 50 Restaurants in Bigfork
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Description: Mediterranean Restaurant. Serving Pizza Pasta and other Mediterranean dishes since 2010. Voted Best Pizza in Montana from Food Network Magazine. Local Fresh.
Kalispell, Montana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lots of potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We ate here on Valentine's Day. The menu was small and very expensive. The portions were EXTREMELY small. We just felt it was not money well spent even though the food that was served was tasty. This restaurant has excellent potential but the location is terrible. The outside of the building has trash and leftover summer junk laying around and there is hardly any parking.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pizzamontana, Owner at When in Rome, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Thank you for your review. We always appreciate any critique, whether positive or negative, as it helps us to improve the quality of future experiences for other diners. However, your review was regarding Valentine's day. We did not present our typical menu that day, but rather a tasting menu. The portions were "small", because you received multiple courses as part of a prix fixe menu. The menu was "small" because the prix fixe was the only option we presented that night. All diners were notified ahead of time when confirming their reservation that we would be presenting a tasting menu that evening and would not be serving our regular menu. You were also notified of what we would be serving as well as the price.
The price was a fixed 35$ per person, which we felt was an excellent value as the courses included prosciutto-wrapped scallops, veal saltimbocca, fresh mussels and various hand-made desserts which were all of the highest quality and took hours of preparation by our staff. If we had served some potatoes and chicken, the value might have been questionable.
Regarding our location, we have never advertised our restaurant to be in a fabulous location with wonderful lake views and charming exterior atmosphere. We are in a strip mall. No pretense there. However we feel that we have proven over time, that good food can come from the most humble of places. The exterior and location have little to do with the quality of our restaurant's food and service.
Trash does show up in the parking lot as we are next to Subway and the patrons often throw their garbage on the ground. We pick up trash daily to try to maintain cleanliness. Also, there was no summer junk outside. We did have an ice machine on a palate on the patio waiting to be picked up the following day for repair.
The parking lot is huge. We have over 50 spots available to our patrons, which is far more than you will find for the downtown restaurants. You came on one of the busiest days of the year for our restaurant, which was probably why the parking lot was full. Isn't a full parking lot a good sign that the restaurant is of high quality?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    22
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“When in Rome a hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Unassuming but a real gem to find. We had a wonderful meal here replete with a complimentary "puff" from the chef to start the meal. The uzo flamed sheep cheese started the evening off deliciously. Greek salad was adequate. My wife's Osso Bucco was very good as was the gorgonzola sauced gnocchi. Desserts were very nice also including the lemon blueberry gelato. Wine selections were nicely spread out over a reasonable to expensive price range. Wonderfully attentive waitress with a great sense of humor.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unpleasant and distasteful.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

From the trash scattered along the front outside the restaurant to the rude and insulting owner, When in Rome is almost a waste of good restaurant space. The food varies from night to night, as does the service. The owner always looks like it's the last place he wants to be. Sit at the bar, if they don't put you out as an inconvience, and see for yourself. He is not only disrepspectful to the employees, but has a very two-faced attitude about the customers. The husband and wife have been seen arguing on more than one occasion. And they don't have their Health Dept. grade displayed for the public. Twice I've ordered pizza to go only to recieve a soggy mess with cardboard textured crust and an obviously too dark on the bottom. Overall, I found my few experiences there to be unpleasant and rather distasteful.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
1 review
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

When in ROME is the best pizza in Kalispell... Quality is exceptional! Pepperoni and sausage are both thick and sliced... not typical pre packaged looking meat!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mmmmm Italiano!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I visited When in Rome for the first time tonight. They weren't very busy and I was acknowledged, seated and served immediately by a very attentive waiter. He was VERY knowledgeable about the menu, including the specials, one of which was lobster ravioli. YUM. The bread was very tasty, as well, and dessert, pot du creme (or something like that, Italian custard with fresh strawberries) was deeeelish. The wine wasn't my fave but not their fault. Overall, a great meal, a great waiter and a great experience. Will definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed When in Rome also viewed

 

Been to When in Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage When in Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.