We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean convenient motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Timbers Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Timbers Motel to your Saves list
Timbers Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   8540 Highway 35 South, Bigfork, MT 59911   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bigfork
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Clean convenient motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Clean motel near center of Bigfork (short walk over river). Small but nice pool and hot tub. Room had small frig, microwave, coffee maker and seating area for two. They offer a limited continental breakfast with coffee and juices. It's nice to grab a muffin and cup of coffee and sit out at one of the outdoor tables.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Timbers Motel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. Since you mentioned our continental breakfast, you may be interested to know that we will be considering new breakfast options for the future. We hope to provide an improved experience for our guests, so please visit us again soon and let us know what you think.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    17
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I had no predetermined expectations. When we drove up to the hotel, one could see it was definitely not high end. With that in mind, I must say I was still frustrated to enter a huge room that overwhelmed me with the smell of Febreeze. An evening of coughing was certainly not pleasant. Additionally, the television worked but every channel was in the hue of green.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Timbers Motel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your review and for sharing your concerns. I can imagine how uncomfortable it was to spend a night in a room with too much air freshener. We generally don't use much air freshener in the rooms, but I will be sharing your comments with our housekeeping staff to ensure that we limit it's use in the future. Also, we will be inspecting every television and replacing them as needed. Thanks again for sharing your comments and allowing us to solve these issues for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice older motel that needs to be updated, beds, carpet, TVs, etc. it's clean, but shows its age. Good location near the "downtown" area of Bigfork. Other motels in the area so check around.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Timbers Motel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We agree that our motel is nice, but in need of some upgrading. With that in mind, we have added microwaves and refrigerators with service counters in every room, additional room lighting and outlets, new carpet as needed, 32 inch or larger televisions, new mattresses as needed, and an updated color scheme with accent paint. In the future, we hope these upgrades, in addition to our dedicated staff, will help to provide an exceptional experience for each and every guest. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukie, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

After reading past reviews it sounded as if issues with hot water and water pressure may have been addressed so we thought we would give The Timbers a try since it was close to family & friends. We were very disappointed to have to experience the same issues with lukewarm water and fluctuating water pressure. That was the worst experience we've ever had with the water. To go along with that when we made reservations for 3 nights we were told that the rates increased to summer rates starting at $105. a night, which we had already assumed, but you would thing that if the were charging summer rates that the pool and hot tube would be open and available, NOT ! Another BIG disappointment, after driving 10 hours to get to Bigfork we could have at least enjoyed the hot tub a little. The only answer given was "You would have to speak with the manager", never saw or was told when or how we could find the manager. And then there was the "so Called continental breakfast", choice of an apple, mini muffin, cereal, bagel or English muffin and apple or orange juice, not much of a variety for a 3 night stay. Next trip to Bigfork, this Fall. we'll pay another $20 or so and stay at a real motel/hotel such as Mountain Lake Lodge, will not stay at the Timbers again... Beware of the Front Desk guy, he doesn't seem to know what is going on when the housekeeping people asked him questions and talked to himself behind the counter. If it wasn't for the severe water issue this place might be bare-able. The rooms were roomy but furnishings and TV were outdated.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Timbers Motel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
I am very sorry that your experience was so disappointing. After reading your review, I think you have every right to feel that way. After looking back over the reviews and comments from the past summer, we have decided to tackle a few issues once and for all. The water fluctuation is difficult to trace, as it seems to happen randomly every few days. Nevertheless, we are considering installing special water valves on the main lines in the hopes that this solves the problem for good. We will also be looking at options to improve the breakfast experience, given the limited space and lack of restaurant facilities. Lastly, we generally shoot for opening the hot tub and pool for Memorial Day. Sometimes the hot tub is open even earlier. I am not certain why it was not open during your stay, but we will strive to do better in the future. Once again, I apologize for the issues you faced during your stay and hope you will consider giving us another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, MT
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have to travel to a lovely little town on Flathead Lake called Bigfork on business about twice a year. It is a great town, but many of its hotel rooms are geared towards vacationers rather than someone like me doing business. The Timbers is a great little motel just outside the town (you can walk to town if you want) with reasonable prices, comfortable, clean rooms, and a very friendly staff. I enjoy my trips to Bigfork knowing that I can rely on The Timbers, and oh yes, they accept pets! Nice if you are traveling by car with a dog...

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower level at the end of the building are the quietest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Timbers Motel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. They described our motel very well. We know we don't havethe fanciest lodging in Bigfork, but we do have comfortable, clean rooms, and a staff that truly cares about each and every guest. Our hope is that, like you, all guests come to rely on the Timbers Motel when they visit Bigfork. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The gentleman at the front was awesome ! Knew everything about the hotel and all the amenities , took his time explaining everything , had a great breakfast with him and talked with him about his new little boy for over an hour ! He is a great example of the type of employee everyone's strives to have. He should be managing the hotel ! we hope that he still works there when we come back next year , he made our vacation ! The rooms were very clean and large. thank you again for an awesome vacation. we love your motel!.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarah D, General Manager at Timbers Motel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. We strive to provide the best customer service and a clean and comfortable stay for all of our guests. We are happy to hear that we could do that for you and that you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate you taking your time to tell others about your stay with us. We hope to serve you again in the future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This motel was a huge disappointment! It was straight out of the 1970s. The beds were old, the carpet was dirty and stained, and the shower went from scalding to freezing without warning!
Not what I expect for $140 a night. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarah D, General Manager at Timbers Motel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your experience was less than satisfying. It is our goal to provide the best customer service and a clean and comfortable stay for all of our guests and in your case we fell short. Your feedback is important to us in improving our motel for future guests. We will be doing some renovations and upgrading over the winter. We hope you will give us another chance to serve you in the future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Timbers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timbers Motel

Address: 8540 Highway 35 South, Bigfork, MT 59911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Bigfork
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bigfork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Timbers Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are open April 15-October 31. Our amenities include: outdoor pool, hot tub, sauna, cable TV, free wireless internet, and free long distance calling. All of our rooms include a mini-fridge, microwave, hair dryer, alarm clock, and coffee maker. Our property is within walking distance to dining and shopping and just a short drive to Flathead Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Timbers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timbers Hotel Bigfork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timbers Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.