We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and great town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Timber
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Hotel
Save
You added Grand Hotel to your Saves list
139 McLeod St, Big Timber, MT 59011   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Big Timber B&B and Inns
Easley, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel and great town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The Grand Hotel is the place to stay in Big Timber. We were in room 9 which had it's own bathroom and den area. Very comfortable! Even if we had to have stayed in a room with a shared lavetory, the set up would have been fine. This is a great hotel, and you definitely need to eat dinner at the restaurant. The complimentary breakfast was the best on our trip. It's rumored that the hotel is haunted, but we did not see any spirits during our stay. If we are back in the area, this is definitely where we will stay.

Room Tip: Get a full description of the room so you'll know about the bathroom and shower set up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    21
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
31
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We like unique not necessarily freeway hotels/motels. Room 9 - A two bedroom suite with 2 queens, 2 doubles, plus a sitting area was great for 5 women friends doing a road trip together. Dinner was excellent in the dining room. We had a delightful young woman serve us.

I found reviews on Tripadvisor and took their advice - so glad that we did. An Historic Hotel in Big Timber, Mt. about a mile off I90.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

I chose this hotel because it was a historic hotel and I prefer a hotel with character. Our room was clean with nice antique furniture.
Our meal in the saloon was great although the service was not speedy. We were there on a Friday night and had to fight for a table. Staff told us to go to the dining room to get our name on a waiting list. When we went to the dining room the young woman told us to go back to the saloon and wait. We weren't sure what to do. Several guests cut in front of us to get a table because they knew the routine. Once we finally obtained a table, we couldn't get anyone to take our order. Frustrating. However, the food was worth the wait.
The morning breakfast was a pleasant surprise. Bacon, eggs, french toast with juice and coffee all included in the price of the room which was $69.00. Wow!
We will definitely be back as well as recommend to friends.
If you find the idea of sharing a bathroom with other guests, an additional $10. would get you a private bathroom. However, the shared bathroom added to the ambience and the feeling of going back in time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon, Montana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

I had a nice stay at the Grand. The rooms are a bit tired, but clean. The dining room and food is fantastic. Possibly the best in Montana.

The Grand has free wifi. However, it was a bit spotty. A stay at the Grand is what one thinks of an authentic Montana small town ranching experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipsburg, Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

My husband and I make a point to dine at the Grand Hotel once, twice or thrice a year even though we are located a couple of hundred miles from the hotel itself.
The staff is generally efficient, friendly and jovial. You can eat in the saloon or formal dining room, both with their own menus. We enjoy having a drink in the old time saloon first...try their signature microbrew, "Trout Lips" paired with their famous onion rings! We generally have dinner in the formal dining room which is reminiscent of something out of an old western. Several of the entrees are excellent but our favorite is the Montana grown rack of lamb, carved tableside. It is served rare and is succulent, with very nice presentation. Desserts are also wonderful. If you are looking for a delicious meal with personal attention try the Grand. We are definitely fans of this place and will continue to be as long as the food is stellar & service is good!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

My daughter and I spent one night here and loved it. We stayed in one of the rooms with a bath. Much of this hotel is original and decorated for it's time period. Front desk person was also bar tender, she was very friendly as other members of the staff. We had dinner there that night and the food was amazing. Service was a tad slow but the dining room was packed. Breakfast the next morning was bacon, eggs & toast. The eggs were not cooked as we liked, the waitress cheerfully had them redone. We both would stay here again, sure wish it was closer so could eat dinner there often. Only complaint was thin pillows.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

My husband had stayed there on a solo trip to Bozeman, and when we were in Bozeman together, he said we MUST go to the Grand Hotel for a night. It was great--lovely staff, very helpful, the room was comfortable (do ask for a room with an en suite bath!). Not fancy, very old-fashioned wall paper and furniture, which suited the hotel's historic nature. HOWEVER. The restaurant. Oh, my. The best food we had in Montana, and really one of the best meals, period. I had the rack of lamb, which was the best lamb I've eaten in a long while, and my husband loved his coffee rubbed strip steak. The wine list was extensive and there were plenty of well priced wines available. The next day, we drove up Boulder River road, which is a gorgeous drive to the Boulder River Falls.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: 139 McLeod St, Big Timber, MT 59011
Location: United States > Montana > Big Timber
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Big Timber
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic hotel with Victorian charm. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.