We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the skiing but the Huntley has some issues with housekeeping” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Huntley Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Huntley Lodge to your Saves list
Huntley Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Big Sky Resort Rd. (Huntley Lodge), Big Sky Resort, Big Sky, MT 59716   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Big Sky
Santa Rosa Valley
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved the skiing but the Huntley has some issues with housekeeping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

After a 7 night stay, it was easy to assess the strengths and weaknesses of the Huntley Lodge. The breakfast buffet and staff in Chet's Grill were great. The food was consistently good. Unfortunately the housekeeping was nearly nonexistent. Over the 7 day period, our room was never vacuumed, the toilet and tub were not cleaned and the beds were not made 3 out of 7 days.
After contacting the housekeeping staff on one of the days that the room was not cleaned, the staff arrived at 5pm and only spent 5 minutes replacing towels and straightening out the bedding. The sheets were never changed in 7 days. If it weren't for the location of the lodge, I would recommend that you consider other options in Big Sky.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Huntley Lodge, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We take our customer's reviews and feedback to heart. Your description of our housekeeping services do not match that which our team strives for. You and our staff should expect more. Please accept our sincere apologies We will share your comments with our housekeeping team and use them to make improvements for your next visit. We invite you to come and give the Huntley another chance. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us more enjoyable please contact us directly at info@bigskyresort.com. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    59
    34
    22
    11
See reviews for
33
17
5
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Billerica, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Location is great here. The lobby is beautiful and comfortable. The beds were comfy too. Staff was very friendly, especially the ones that worked at Chets, the restaurant there. Food was good too! We did have a great view from our room and could see the groomers out every night.
My complaint was the maids were awful! I had to call to have my room cleaned. They missed us a few days so we had to go grab towels. Our toilet clogged twice and our shower/tub was clogging. Also there was no fan in the bathroom and there was mold on the ceiling. Gross, and it caused my allergies to flair up. The shower head isn't high either. I'm 5'4" and I had to bend a bit to get under it. Found that funny. Bathrooms were a little dated and we were told we had one of the older rooms.
The room was nice I thought. Some stuff a little out dated but it was cozy and a good size. I wouldn't pay $300 or more to stay here....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Huntley Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We love to hear from our guests and take their comments to heart. We are very sorry to hear about the issues you mentioned above with your room. Your description most certainly does not match the level of cleanliness our team strives for. Please accept our sincere apologies. A member of our team will be contacting you shortly for additional information. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girdwood, Alaska
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The Huntley Lodge is an OK hotel. Moderate rooms. A little outdated. The great thing about this hotel is the location. Ski in, Ski out. Another nice feature is the complimentry breakfast buffet. I have dined at many comp buffets in the past, and this one is very good. Wide variety of selections. Waffle and omelet stations. Also, the servers are really nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Huntley Lodge, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We love the Huntley Dining Room buffet! It's a hard one to beat and one of our team's favorites. Thanks for taking the time to share your Huntley experience with us. We appreciate your feedback and review. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Huntley Lodge is one of the original buildings at Big Sky. It shows its age but is still comfortable and clean. We had plenty of room, a wonderful view of Lone Peak, and comfortable beds. The included breakfast buffet is huge.

The best things about Big Sky are the staff and the skiing. You don't encounter crowds. You can find terrain for every ability. You feel welcomed there.

A note about the staff:

I was in the room when our bags were delivered. I offered the young man a tip but he said, "Oh no, your husband already tipped me." That is impressive. Anything we asked for was tended to promptly.

Huntley Lodge is near the lifts and convenient to the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Huntley Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for the great review. We will share your kind words and comments with our team. If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay with us more enjoyable please just let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

If your a skier, you know about Big Sky...It's a great mountain, big, with good snow, and no Summit County Crowds. But maybe you haven't been there yet...then let me clue you in. The Huntley Lodge sits at the base very close to its counterpart, the Summit Lodge. While the Summit appears to be the, "upscale," sister the Huntley is a bit of a step-child. Our room (112) was at the end of a hall on the first floor that, while convenient to the close-by lift access, was short on hot water + heat. To this end, the lodge experienced two conditions while we were there: the first was a record cold snap (-30 deg. F.), the second a full house due to several overlapping conventions. At first our room was too warm so we turned the heat down until we heard a, "click," from the thermostat. After that we endured three days @ 65 deg. F. The staff (very friendly) finally delivered a portable heater after a technician (very cute female...if you can believe that) couldn't diagnose the problem. A second trip to the front desk involved a complaint that we didn't have hot water (after the first day). To this we were told the lodge was, "full," + that we were probably trying to get HW at, "peak hours." I still find it mildly amusing that we had to endure these inconsistencies when every dollar we gave them seemed to work...consistently. Lastly, on the cold front, I will mention that the breakfast area was so cold we regularly had to wear jackets in the morning (this was especially true when they placed us near the double story window where it was absolutely freezing). So then, beyond, "peak hours," and the cold snap, both hot tubs made available to us were just this side of disgusting. Floating hair and debris were prevalent in both. To be fair, I will say that the staff was amazingly courteous in all matters and that I was told the hot tubs were cleaned up after an initial gripe. But there it is...the Huntley is an old building literally being supported by a young energetic staff. It needs to be revamped, or, as our tech. said, "bulldozed and rebuilt." If you go to Big Sky, upgrade to the Summit if you can afford it.

Room Tip: Stay away from the ends. If the hotel gets loaded up these rooms seem to run out of hot water first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Huntley Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your Huntley experience with us. We love to hear from our guests and take their feedback to heart. On behalf of our team please accept our apology for any inconvenience these issues may have caused. We will share your comments and suggestions with our team to help make your next visit more enjoyable. If you have any additional suggestions for our team please direct them to info@bigskyresort.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The location is great, that is the absolute best part of the place. The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly, and everything you need is right there. My only complaint about the room was how cold it was, but of course it was about -30 when we were there. The hot tubs were clean and wait staff came out to check on you. The spa was wonderful and the massage therapist was great. People stay there for the breakfast buffet, and it is good. You can fill up for a full day of skiing. Again, all the staff from breakfast waiters, to the front desk, to housekeeping were super nice.

So my only negatives are the cold rooms and yes, it is a little loud in there, but tolerable (bring ear plugs if you are a lite sleeper).

Oh, super great tip- call the front desk when you get there and ask for a rope. They are great for the hot tub.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Huntley Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thanks for such a nice review. We appreciate your time and your business. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. If there is anything we can do to make your next visit more enjoyable please just let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
1,407 helpful votes 1,407 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This was our second stay at the Huntley. As usual, a good value and we love the convenience of skiing from the bottom of the slopes to the lodge. Pools are very nice, room was clean, beds were comfy & staff was cheerful and helpful.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Huntley Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Always great to hear from our Huntley fans... and Bronco fans! Please come back and see us again soon. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more enjoyable you have but to ask. Thanks again for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Huntley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntley Lodge

Address: 50 Big Sky Resort Rd. (Huntley Lodge), Big Sky Resort, Big Sky, MT 59716
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Huntley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Big Sky's Mountain Village, this three-story hotel was part of the late NBC News broadcaster Chet Huntley's original vision for Big Sky Resort. It is as tasteful as it is convenient: the Explorer Lift is just out the back door. Under the same roof are concierge, dining, shopping, ski storage, meeting rooms, and spa. The Huntley Lodge features Boyne Beds and flat panel televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Huntley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntley Hotel Big Sky
Huntley Lodge Big Sky, Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huntley Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.