We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Huntley Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Huntley Lodge to your Saves list
Huntley Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Big Sky Resort Rd. (Huntley Lodge), Big Sky Resort, Big Sky, MT 59716   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Big Sky
Mandan, North Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Older Facility but doing a great job with service, housekeeping took a long time to get us into our room the first day, was after 5
Location is perfect
Keep working on room improvements doors are old
Meal at Chets was awesome
Breakfast was great and included with the room

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    70
    40
    26
    11
See reviews for
41
23
5
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I think I paid the most for my loft room and mountain views during the absolute peak season that anyone could possibly dream of but I really had no choice and so I guess I am a little bitter as I write this review. For $425/night I would expect close to luxury lodging, not "hotel 6" accomodations. I realize that this is about as close as you can possibly come to the mountain if you are a skier and for some it may be worth it. As you can see from some of my pictures, the ski lift is right out the back door. But what you have to put up with for this convenience is just absurd. Old beds, old carpet, creaky floors, dimly lit hallways, paper-thin walls, outlets that don't work, bathroom doors that dont shut because they are warped, and furniture from a couple decades ago. Maybe someday I will try this place again, but I can for sure tell you it won't be soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed here with the family in one of the loft rooms upstairs with mountain views. The location was great and most of the staff was nice and tried to help, but overall I would not stay here again. The facility is old and the rooms are not very well taken care of. Our experience with housekeeping was abysmal! At one point the front desk told us to go into one of the public restrooms in the hotel to take toilet paper from it because housekeeping was so horrible. Even when they did make up the room, it was barely touched and not a place you felt was clean and well cared for.

On the bright side, the breakfasts that came with the room were outstanding and the people helping us here were generally great! The pool and hot tub were great as well. Had a wonderful night in the Fondue Stube in the facility as well.

Big Sky Resort was AWESOME and this place is really convenient and fairly reasonable with specials, but it's time to either update it and get rid of it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philomath, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Huntley Lodge for three nights while I attended a conference. The scenery is beautiful...can only imagine how gorgeous it must be when there is snow on the ground. Our room was clean, although very dimly lit and there is no ventilation fan in the bathroom. The floors in the room and the hallway creak when you walk and the carpeting really should be replaced. Conference facilities were good. However, as it was the last week before the place shuts down for break before winter rush, we really found places to eat and shop very, very limited. We would highly recommend Chet's Bar & Grill (in the Lodge), however....excellent food each time we ate there. If we had the time, I'm sure heading out to Yellowstone would have been great...but with limited time after conferences, there was not enough to keep us occupied. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascade, Montana
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The views are incredible and breathtaking. The staff are efficient, the only problem I have is there is no exhaust fan in the bathroom and the floors creak when you walk on them (both in the halls and in the rooms). This hotel is older than most but it is in a beautiful location surrounded on all sides by huge mountains.

The awesome scenery & service-friendly staff make up for an older facility - maybe that makes it quaint?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annapolis, md
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We came for the long Labor Day weekend and they were mobbed with check ins. Short staffed for the number of people milling around. No one to park the car or help with bags which we had to drag up three big steps before we were on a level with elevators. The rooms were adequate, but dated, a tad frumpy. We were on the fourth floor, fortunately. Our friends were on the first floor and the room next door to them had four dogs in it (we were there to begin with because friends' daughter and spouse and dog were joining us and needed a place that allowed dogs). There was a music festival going on nearby and musicians and attendees were staying at the Huntley. Lots of noise on that first floor and our friends didn't get much sleep. Noise abatement is non existent.

The good: staff was super, friendly , helpful, cheerful. Went out of their way on many occasions. They were just stretched thin, I think. Labor Day is the end of summer and this is basically a ski area.

The pools and grounds were nice, and at least one of the pools was heated. There's a nice gift shop inside the Huntley.

We had a fantastic breakfast buffet one day and the next day (Labor Day), the buffet was not available. Our friends were not pleased with the regular breakfast offerings; we skipped it.

In all fairness, I can't give the Huntly a higher rating than three stars.

Room Tip: When you check in, ask to be away from noisy areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

When I arrived on September 4th, it was like a ghost town - quiet with very litle going on. Disappointed to see a few places "closed for the summer," but I guess that is to be expected for a Winter resort. As another reviewer noted, the walls were thin - but the rooms were comfortable with a coffee maker and small fridge. Beautiful views and some nice hikes for those who just want to take in the awesomeness of Big Sky. Free wi-fi was great. Health club was small, but since it was pretty quiet, I never had to wait for a treadmill - whirlpool, sauna, and steam room where all in good condition. I'd like to see the resort in winter when everything is open and there are more activitiees going on - I hope they are able to keep up their friendly and prompt service with a crowd.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Huntley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntley Lodge

Address: 50 Big Sky Resort Rd. (Huntley Lodge), Big Sky Resort, Big Sky, MT 59716
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Huntley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Big Sky's Mountain Village, this three-story hotel was part of the late NBC News broadcaster Chet Huntley's original vision for Big Sky Resort. It is as tasteful as it is convenient: the Explorer Lift is just out the back door. Under the same roof are concierge, dining, shopping, ski storage, meeting rooms, and spa. The Huntley Lodge features Boyne Beds and flat panel televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Huntley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntley Hotel Big Sky
Huntley Lodge Big Sky, Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huntley Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.