We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's nice, but not great” 2 of 5 stars
Review of By Word of Mouth Restaurant & Catering

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
By Word of Mouth Restaurant & Catering
77 Aspen Leaf Drive #3, Big Sky, MT 59716
406-995-2992
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
By Word of Mouth Restaurant & Catering is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 60 Restaurants in Big Sky
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, International, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Fresh, local ingredients, seasonal menus, a casual atmosphere, and gourmet flavors - this is the list of ingredients that makes By Word of Mouth (By WOM for those in the know!) a cherished local favorite in Big Sky, Montana. Your dining experience will be topped off by our welcoming, attentive staff and our lively bar with handcrafted cocktails and an award-winning wine list.
Santa Ana, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's nice, but not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

the music is way too loud. It took the enjoyment of our meal away. the food is very good. Doubtful that we would go back. I'd rather relax and enjoy great food with a better, more quieter atmo.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    22
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Big Sky, Montana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food but please turn the music down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The food was wonderful and the wine was fabulous but we found ourselves yelling over the table to hear each other because the music was so loud. The volume seemed to go up as the evening went on.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good cocktails, ok food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Somehow the ideas on the menu sound interesting but the execution misses the mark. The calamari was not the best - like it wasn't fried long enough and the sauce wasn't very good. The bison burger was good and the basil martini was very good. Service was good and ambiance was nice and more unique than the typical brewery or lodge feel at most of the places in the area.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Milford, New Jersey
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice eclectic menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This restaurant is definitely for those who want a good wine selection. Even the cocktail menu is fun. The food itself is different, but not the best I've ever had. My ahi tuna was enjoyable mainly because the sauce it was cooked in was light but flavorful. My husband thought his Bistro Steak was fine but nothing great. My mother liked that her Spinach Pappardelle was light and not too heavy. The calamari appetizer was so-so. We had 6pm reservations and we were one of the first people dining there but by 7pm the restaurant was packed, so definitely make reservations if you plan on eating here! I had left a message on their answering machine earlier on in the day and they were good at getting back to me so I could make reservations. Since it was summertime, the restaurant got really warm as more people filtered in. My husband wished he had worn a t-shirt instead of a button-down as he was sweating by the time we left.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor Service and mediocre food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

We all have bad days, but one would hope you didn't take it out on your customers. Inattentive at best. This is our third and final try. We agree with the fish fry comments from last year and love the wine list, but wish the up selling would stop. Once we finally did get our wine, no one checked back. Sorry WOM, we won't be back.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed By Word of Mouth Restaurant & Catering also viewed

 

Been to By Word of Mouth Restaurant & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage By Word of Mouth Restaurant & Catering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.