We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best baked goods & excellent pizzas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Moon Bakery

Blue Moon Bakery
120 Big Pine Dr, Big Sky, MT 59716
+1 406-995-2305
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 60 Restaurants in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pizza, Coffee Shop, Coffee Shop, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Description: The Blue Moon serves locals and tourists the best value in the area. We are open all day every day, serve delicious and reasonably priced breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Come on down and check out why we have been serving up 'Big Sky Food' here since 1992!
Big Sky MT
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best baked goods & excellent pizzas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Blue Moon has great breads and pastries. Its pizzas are hearty and imaginative. Christian and Amy Johnsen, the owners, have made the Blue Moon a fixture for locals and visitors alike. If you want to fill up your family of 5 with great pizza or delicious breakfast pastries, go here!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    66
    16
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minot
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza But Get It To Go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I've had their pizza, and other baked goods, many times. The pizza is always excellent! They have VERY limited seating, particularly for any groups over 4 or 5. During warmer weather they do have a few tables outside, which makes for a fun atmosphere. Other than that, get your food to go and you'll be happy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in the West (so far...)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Before I left this place, I felt compelled to tell them that this is the best pizza I've had in the west. I moved to Utah back in 2008 and have visited all across the Western USA, and I have *never* been completely satisfied by pizza before my visit to this restaurant. I was blown away. Homemade dough and other fresh ingredients seem to make the biggest difference here. Really friendly staff, too. What a place! Can't wait to visit Big Sky again... to eat this pizza.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovettsville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Stopped for breakfast and dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

At the recommendation from someone on the slopes we stopped at Blue Moon for pizza after skiing. We ordered at the counter and dinner was brought to the table. The pizza was great and had a wonderful crust. Service was very friendly (as it was everywhere in Big Sky). Dinner was so good, we went back the next morning for a quick breakfast. They had ready made sandwiches on homemade bagels and ham and cheese croissants that were very tasty. Certainly a place we will stop to eat next time we're in Big Sky.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Average pizza and expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The pizza is good not excellent, but way overpriced compared to most pizzeria's. I suppose being in Big sky you pay premium prices for average pizza which is typically for this community. Bring your pocket book.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Moon Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Blue Moon Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Moon Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.