We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUST TRY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gallatin Riverhouse Grill

Gallatin Riverhouse Grill
45130 Gallatin Road, Big Sky, MT 59716
+1 406-995-7427
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 60 Restaurants in Big Sky
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Orlando, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“MUST TRY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This place was recommended on the chair lift by a local. OH MY GOSH this place was FANTASTIC. price was cheap and portions huge. My teens and husband loved it

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    40
    9
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bingham Farms, Michigan
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“A Carnivores Dream!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Having spent over 40 years in Big Sky as a vacation home owner, I have seen the evolution of this restaurant from a local saloon, to the 'Half Moon Saloon' and now as the 'Gallatin River House Grill'. Thankfully, this newly renovated restaurant has been revived from what was formerly a terribly managed restaurant with mediocre fare, and now transformed in to a marvelous eatery for locals and families to get incredible Ribs, Pulled Pork, Chicken, Game Sausage, and more, as well as a terrific spot for great Bar time! The new owners, Kyle and Greg, have finally brought about the combination of a great Western Bar, killer food, and terrific service.

We tried a combination plate that included smoked ribs, chicken, sausage, pulled pork, beans and a corn salsa. The price was ridiculously low, but the smoked flavor and amount of food was superb! My wife ordered the pulled pork (which we all agreed was some of the best we've ever had!)

For a totally casual night out with the family or friends... (and if you're REALLY Hungry) ... the River House will please you!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Where to begin? First, everything is homemade, including the baked beans, bearing no resemblance to anything out of a can. The brisket is melt in your mouth delicious, the sausage a mixture of beef and pork with a unique taste and texture, almost pate-like. The fried chicken is nicely done and not over-salted.

The sampler contains all of this, , and, although it "feeds two," it fed three of us with leftovers enough for lunch the next day.

It is an unpretentious, family-friendly place, and our family of four ate for less than $80, including the tip. I look forward to our next visit when in the area again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Shores, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best Value in Big Sky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

From Big Sky you still have to go back down to the main highway and travel a few miles south but well worth the trip. The bar pours generous drinks at very reasonable prices. The food is very good and again very reasonably priced. The atmosphere is pure Montana. We had the pulled pork plate and the beef brisket, more than we could eat and had to bring some home.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becker, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I received a gift certificate for here to be used while on vacation to Big Sky. We called to see about reservations and were told they don't take them but they advised that between 630-830p was busiest. We arrived at about 6p and were immediately seated next to the wood burning stove (very nice). Our order was taken promptly. Fun place to go for good BBQ. We had the BBQ sampler for 2 and it was amazing and more then enough food for 2 adults. Staff was very busy but attentive. Pricing was very affordable. We will be back. Parking lot gets quite packed and with lots of trucks it can get a bit dicey getting in and out.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gallatin Riverhouse Grill also viewed

 

Been to Gallatin Riverhouse Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gallatin Riverhouse Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.