We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Beautiful Traditional Lodge, Generous Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Rock Lodge

Save Saved
You added River Rock Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
River Rock Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   88 Big Pine Drive, P.O. Box 160700, Big Sky, MT 59716   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Big Sky
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Beautiful Traditional Lodge, Generous Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at River Rock Lodge when we were forced to change plans in the aftermath of the East Coast snow storm in February. We had to find a place at the last minute and were basically stranded with a lot of luggage and no immediate access to transport. We were also a bit distressed because it impacted the remainder of our holiday in the US and meant a lot of re-arranging. From the moment we arrived, Pam at reception did the utmost to accommodate us and help us out. She let us into our room early so that we could relax and get on with our holiday, helped us with places to eat, general information and our ongoing transport arrangements. Every hotel should have someone like her on reception. She is a real treasure, helpful, hospitable and efficient.
The Lodge itself is as good as it looks, its not just an architectural gem and beautifully decorated, its clean and well-maintained. It's a generous place, our room was large, the lobby with cosy fire inviting with an office/reading room area as well and a hot tub I think. The continental breakfast included in the room rate was another delight and example of the generosity of spirit which permeates this place.
But mostly its the staff that makes this a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    20
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at River Rick based on another hotel's recommendation. I'm so glad we did. There is a lovely woman who works there who gave us advice on where to eat, how to get around, and how to acclimate to the high altitude, rooms are spacious and clean with comfortable beds. The hotel is well situated in the meadow with easy access to s lot of restaurants and movie theater.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We booked two rooms for 2 nights and were there at the end of their season, so very, very quiet.
It is a one hour drive to Yellowstone Park, where we spent the day.
Rooms are big, bathrooms are not and stingy on shampoo etc.. Bathtub is very small, so forget a nice long soaking on a cool night.
Breakfast consists mainly of muffins, cereals, oatmeal, toast and fresh fruit.
Like I said it was very quiet but with the wood floors could get noisy when busier. It is a cozy atmosphere and we liked sitting in the lobby in the evening with the receptionist making fresh decaf for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The beds were heavenly-would like them at home!!. Stayed on second floor so was very quiet but no elevator so slightly difficult to take ALL our stuff up the stairs. Really liked the height of their refrig. / sink unit. Liked the clothes area. Continental bkf. was very adequate with fresh fruit=even though we never ate there.
Bathroom toliet bowl could have been cleaner. Staff very friendly/helpful. Did have trouble with one door key.

Room Tip: Stay on second floor south- away from front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Comfortable spacious rooms, clean, outstanding location to the heart of big sky, quiet, friendly staff... It's really hard to go wrong with this place. I did ask for an upstairs room (2nd floor---only 2 floors) due to a previous posters complaint about people walking above them. The very nice lady who checked me in told me that they do their best to put guests with kids on the first floor--- due to noise. I had no
Issues.

The complimentary breakfast was fruit, cereal, muffins, toast, juice, yogurt and coffee. I had a muffin... Super large, fresh and very tasty.

This is a nice place to stay. I gave it a 4 instead of a five because, while nice, its simply not 5 star quality. That being said it isn't priced like a 5 star either.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The River Rick Lodge is located in what is basically a strip mall like setting in the Meadows Village, about eight miles below the main Mountain Village at Big Sky. We had not realized this when we book and were quite disappointed when we arrived. Our room was fine, though our view was primarily of parking lots and roadways, with mountains in the distance. Our real issue here was with the service, starting with the bored front desk attendant who, upon explaining that they had no elevator, pointed at the staircase and reluctantly said "You gonna need help with your luggage?" His attitude was consistent across other staff we encountered. Very unfortunate guest relations approach all the way around. We will not be back, especially when there are many other options in the Mountain Village that looked much nicer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Location was good, rooms were clean but could use some paint updating and it's nearly impossible to get the dern keys to open the door. Get a ground floor room bc there's no elevators either. The hot tub is really nice and breakfast is cereal, (all cherios, raisin brand) great bagel bread and muffin selection, fruit and oatmeal. Was overall worth the price especially since we didn't have a reservation because we decided last minuteto come up to check out the ski resorts

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to River Rock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Rock Lodge

Also Known As:
River Rock Hotel Big Sky
River Rock Hotel
River Rock Lodge Big Sky, Montana
Address: 88 Big Pine Drive, P.O. Box 160700, Big Sky, MT 59716
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — River Rock Lodge 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, Otel, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your River Rock Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Rock Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.