We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jack Creek Grill

Jack Creek Grill
66 Mountain Loop Rd. (Moonlight Lodge), Big Sky, MT 59716
+1 406-995-7777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jack Creek Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 57 Restaurants in Big Sky
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Lone Mountain Trail
Description: The Jack Creek Grille serves elegant dinners in a beautiful setting. The Jack Creek Grille is located in the Moonlight Lodge.
Big Sky, Montana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very accommodating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Our dinner started off great by being seated at the table right in front of the gorgeous fireplace - so cozy and romantic! It continued on the same path with delicious food and great service. The staff was easily able to handle my special request due to food allergies, being very accommodating adjusting my meal even during the busy Pres week holiday. great attention to detail.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Jack Creek Grill, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We aim to please! Thanks for the great review and kind words. Our team will be very happy to hear them. If there is anything we can do to make your next visit with us more enjoyable please just let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lutherville Timonium, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Some very good, some not”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Generally nice restaurant in Big Sky. Seated promptly with reservation. Server ok, but they use the "team" serving system so we were served by about 4 different people. This was a problem as you weren't always sure who was serving you and no one was "responsible". The duck was exceptional, but the Bison short ribs were only fair, not a lot of complex flavors and they were cold. No one came to check on how things were until well into the meal so no chance to mention it. In their defense, they did not charge me for the short ribs which was nice. We had been there before and the experience had been better. It was Valentine's day and they really seemed overwhelmed from a service standpoint. Some of the food is very inspired, some not as much. The service issue was a real problem though, especially for the prices being charged. I would recommend they use a single server for a table and not this team approach. I suspect the short ribs sat in the kitchen for quite a while before they got taken out by a random server.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Jack Creek Grill, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your Jack Creek experience with us and write a review. We appreciate your business and love to hear from our guests. We are sorry to hear that the Bison Short Ribs and the service were not to your liking. You and our staff should expect more. Please accept our sincere apologies. We will share your comments and suggestions with our team to make your next dining experience with us even better. Please come back and join us again. As always, we encourage you to let us know if something is not to your liking and what we can do to make your stay with us more enjoyable. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Fl
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good service but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

$30-40 min for a meal but excellent service and atmosphere. Great view of the mountain and there is a nice bar in the adjacent lobby for a pre/post dinner cocktail. The food appeared to be small portions but fulfilling. If you are looking for a nice meal its worth checking out. Less than a 10min drive from big sky mountain lodge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Jack Creek Grill, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your Jack Creek Grille experience with us. We love to hear from our guests. Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your meal. Please come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Worth a try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We ate at this restaurant before it changed ownership. I thought we would never go back. But we met the new chef on a recent visit to Big Sky. So our next trip out we decided to give the place a try. It was worth it. The food was wonderful. The restaurant is chic, with great service. LOVED the new atmosphere and all the upgrades that were put in place. All the entrees were delicious. This is Montana cuisine with everything coming from local area farms and ranches. One of the entrees was served cold (not sure why) we said something to our waitress. They came out with a brand new entree (not just a reheated meal we know this because we took a few bites and sent it back). PLUS they took the entree off the bill!!!!
Moonlight/Big Sky doesn't have a lot of places that I would recommend ON the mountain. Definitely do in the meadow. However, Jack Creek Grill was fantastic. We will definitely revisit. The bar area is great...higher end which is more of our style when having a nice dinner. Simply put I do a quick review in my mind of what to expect when the bread is good. This was fresh baked sour dough bread served warm. The entrees that followed were in keeping with the upgrades and overall atmosphere. Looks like Moonlight got it right with this one!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Jack Creek Grill, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for giving us a try and taking the time to share your review with us. This is wonderful to hear, and we will share your comments with our team. Please stop in and see us again next time you are in Big Sky.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“fine dining in residential Big Sky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Jack Creek Grille is the only fine dining dinner option in Moonlight Basin and it is located in the Moonlight Lodge. The lodge is a big sky service facility on the slope plus superior real estate of the resort. Jack Creek Grille is worth the trip from Mountian village or the Meadows for a change of pace

My wife ordered trout while I ordered duck Both were paired with excellently crafted vegetables and starches The seasoning and sauces of the duck was good but not great.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Jack Creek Grill, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your Jack Creek Grille experience with us. Great to hear that you enjoyed yourself during your stay. A member of our team will contact you shortly to get some additional feedback about how we may improve our seasoning and sauce for the duck. We will pass along your comments to our team. Thanks again for your review. Please come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Creek Grill also viewed

 

Been to Jack Creek Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack Creek Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.