We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“skiing from the door” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Summit At Big Sky

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Summit At Big Sky to your Saves list
The Summit At Big Sky
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Big Sky Resort Road, Big Sky Resort, Big Sky, MT 59716   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Big Sky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“skiing from the door”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

True Ski in Ski Out accommodation .We stayed with our 3 adult children.The rooms and beds were comfortable.The indoor/outdoor pool was just perfect after a long day skiing followed by fireside in the living area.Very convenient location as we could walk to most restaurants and there was ski check on the slope side.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    49
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
42
35
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
York, Nebraska, United States
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great summer time activities. The Adventure Zip Line was a blast. The Summit has great rooms, with impeccable service and views. We were here for a wedding and stayed 7 days. There was so much to do, all of the guides through Base Camp were a lot of fun.

Room Tip: We were here for a wedding and stayed in a 3 bedroom suite. I saw double queen rooms, king rooms, 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Summit at Big Sky before we made our way to Yellowstone. The staff was welcoming and knew lots about the area. We had a corner room on the third floor. It was spacious with a Murphy bed, livingroom and full kitchen. The bathroom was very large with two sinks, large jetted tub and a shower. The unit was very clean. The staff also does a turn down service at night. When we were in the room, we didn't have them do it. When not there, the staff came in and put down the murphy bed and set up the bedding. We were facing Lone Mt. We took the trip to the top of Lone Mt on the tram. We did some hiking too! We enjoyed seeing this place in the summer as we have been four years for skiing in the winter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a event he was participating in over the weekend. We arrived early and got a studio condo on the fourth floor facing Lone Peak. The bed was a Murphy bed which was comfy. The bathroom was huge with a jetted tub and a separate shower plus two sinks. The living room included a gas fireplace, chair and sofa. We like this condo because it had a kitchen with full-sized electric range, oven, microwave, dishwasher and refrigerator. There were laundry facilities with free washing machine. Pay for dryers which worked great. I didn't really cook but we had plenty of room for beverages and ate breakfast in the room. There is a hungry moose store in the mall and the prices were good for the resort. They had great chicken salad and basics for eating in the room. Staff was good and loved the starbucks coffee.

Room Tip: studio facing the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munroe Falls
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Summit on the end of a trip to Wyoming and Montana. It was a great place to relax at the end. Our studio was perfect for two people. Bathroom was great and the murphy bed was very comfortable. The greatest part to this location was the mountain views, heated pool and hot tub. We really needed to relax after spending a week with family. There weren't not many restaurants open, but those that were, were more than adequate. We also golfed at the Big Sky golf course and loved it. On the resort property there are activities like shopping, zip-lining, hiking and mountain biking to name a few. Last, the front desk was awesome with their help.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend for a business meeting in July. If you don't bring family to enjoy some of the youthful adventure activities, and don't take time to for a day trip to Yellowstone, there's really not a whole lot to do here in the summer other than light hiking, zip lining and downhill mountain biking; none of which are my cup of tea. Many of the activities and shops and restaurants are not available or scaled down. Restaurant service was, shall we say, inexperienced. As for the hotel, it's a good location slopeside. Hotel staff is friendly, to the point of calling your room every day with the next day's activities. I find this quite annoying. Housekeeping was so so. There are conveniences at the resort for charging food and activities to your general account. Wi-Fi is excellent. Personally, as someone familiar with many of the northwest mountain resorts, I don't see the big deal here. It's pretty isolated, and there are many other places with lots more activities year-round. If you're looking for a couple days to stay as a base for a trip to Yellowstone, that's another story. My colleagues who came to this meeting but stayed at other lodging, described this particular hotel as probably the best in the area.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed here in late March for late season skiing. Staff and Hotel are wonderful. Right on the mountain. I stayed in the slopeside corner unit room 611 and 612. Overlooks the two main lifts and stunning view of LONE PEAK.

Room Tip: Pick the corner mountain facing room. We stayed in room 611 and 612. 2 bedroom suite. Awesome views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Summit At Big Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit At Big Sky

Address: 50 Big Sky Resort Road, Big Sky Resort, Big Sky, MT 59716
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Summit At Big Sky 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Euro-Western Summit at Big Sky has been the vacation choice of both President Obama and Vice President Biden. The Summit is one of the finest slopeside properties in the Rockies with primary high-capacity lifts only 100 yards away. The Summit combines luxury appointments with a prime location in the heart of the Mountain Village Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Summit At Big Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summit At Big Sky Hotel Big Sky
Summit Hotel Big Sky
Summit Big Sky
Big Sky Summit
The Summit At Big Sky Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Summit At Big Sky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.