We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Summit At Big Sky

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Summit At Big Sky to your Saves list
The Summit At Big Sky
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Big Sky Resort Road, Big Sky Resort, Big Sky, MT 59716   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Big Sky
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Pretty Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hey- it ain't Vail and if that's what you're looking for- you're in the wrong place. However, if you want ultimate convenience, a totally SWAG slope side outdoor heated pool, and some nice bars for après-ski- this is your place. The mountain is awesome- great for families or the hard core survivalist. Low key, relaxing, fun.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    49
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
42
35
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, Vermont, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This property has a great location and incredible ski access to Big Sky Resort. I had a Studio room with a Murphy bed and overall it was comfortable. It was a bit annoying to not be able to watch TV from bed but it was nice to have the kitchen facilities. The restaurant was OK. I'm not a big fan of breakfast buffet's and the servers weren't sure where people were sitting or when they were seated. They have a second restaurant but it is all the same food. Close to the lifts, close to other restaurants and bars. Montana is a great place to go and even though it was "busy" there was still no one around! This property gave me everything I needed and everything I expected, just nothing spectacular. Met my expectations and I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: request a mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Some highlights:
- Giant hot tub w/drink service
- Huge breakfast
- Thoughtful and helpful service
- Spacious rooms

Really enjoyed skiing at Big Sky and staying at the Summit. The team that works at the hotel did a great job. Expect things to take a little longer than they do in cities and you'll really enjoy your stay. My room was $183/night, so it could be less of a value if you're paying more.

Room Tip: You have to leave a card in the green lighted switch by the door to keep the room at the right tempe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here for a sky trip. The room was very comfortable and in good condition. It was close to the lifts. Breakfast was healthy and good. I look forward to my next stay here. Hi Richard, the breakfast manager.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

What a nice change of pace, staying at the Summit instead of a condo farther out on the Big Sky resort property! Right in the heart of the resort, every side of the hotel has some sort of mountain view, but you can't beat the side with the view of Lone Peak. We booked last minute so had a studio/kitchen instead of a 1 BR, but it worked better than expected for two of us. Nice size room, great bathroom, decent storage for a few days. Murphy bed and sofa bed---but if you use both, it's kind of like fitting in puzzle pieces. Quiet hotel, great windows that blocked hot tub noise when it was busy, and we never heard clomping ski boots/toilets flushing/talking etc through the walls or ceiling.
Great 'ski-stay' package: for $1400, we had 5 nights, two daily full breakfasts in the (fine) dining room and daily lift tickets--no turning in a voucher, could head straight to the lift. Easy access to the hot tub and weight room. There were a few drawbacks: housekeeping does turn down service, but didn't do the little things well, such as replacing the t.p. as needed, nor leave enough garbage bags. Also, Summit really needs to stop calling their giant hot tub a 'pool'. I was looking forward to doing laps, and it's not my definition of a pool, it's a hot tub--3' deep, big concrete seat in the middle. But it is indeed big, and poolside beverage service after the lifts close can't be beat. I'm looking forward to staying in a 1BR my next trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Lone Peak, hot tub, and the lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a very nice ski in-ski out hotel. Our room had a fireplace, jetted garden tub, and a beautiful view of the mountain. The service was very good, and the staff was helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our stay and hope to return again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room over-looking the lifts and the hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Big Sky has it all. Snow, slopes, short lift lines and the Summit. We recently returned from a week in Montana and enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Summit. The accomodations were spot on, the concierge extremely helpful and the restaurants and related bars excellent.
The outdoor firepits, pool and adjacent hot tub offered spectacular views of the mountain.
And it was ski in and ski out. The staff was very helpful- do not go without scheduling a day snowmobile trip to Yellowstone!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Summit At Big Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit At Big Sky

Address: 50 Big Sky Resort Road, Big Sky Resort, Big Sky, MT 59716
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Summit At Big Sky 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Euro-Western Summit at Big Sky has been the vacation choice of both President Obama and Vice President Biden. The Summit is one of the finest slopeside properties in the Rockies with primary high-capacity lifts only 100 yards away. The Summit combines luxury appointments with a prime location in the heart of the Mountain Village Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Summit At Big Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summit At Big Sky Hotel Big Sky
Summit Hotel Big Sky
Summit Big Sky
Big Sky Summit
The Summit At Big Sky Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Summit At Big Sky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.