We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of things!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Summit At Big Sky

Save Saved
You added The Summit At Big Sky to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Summit At Big Sky
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Big Sky Resort Road, Big Sky Resort, Big Sky, MT 59716   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Big Sky
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“In the heart of things!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

What a nice change of pace, staying at the Summit instead of a condo farther out on the Big Sky resort property! Right in the heart of the resort, every side of the hotel has some sort of mountain view, but you can't beat the side with the view of Lone Peak. We booked last minute so had a studio/kitchen instead of a 1 BR, but it worked better than expected for two of us. Nice size room, great bathroom, decent storage for a few days. Murphy bed and sofa bed---but if you use both, it's kind of like fitting in puzzle pieces. Quiet hotel, great windows that blocked hot tub noise when it was busy, and we never heard clomping ski boots/toilets flushing/talking etc through the walls or ceiling.
Great 'ski-stay' package: for $1400, we had 5 nights, two daily full breakfasts in the (fine) dining room and daily lift tickets--no turning in a voucher, could head straight to the lift. Easy access to the hot tub and weight room. There were a few drawbacks: housekeeping does turn down service, but didn't do the little things well, such as replacing the t.p. as needed, nor leave enough garbage bags. Also, Summit really needs to stop calling their giant hot tub a 'pool'. I was looking forward to doing laps, and it's not my definition of a pool, it's a hot tub--3' deep, big concrete seat in the middle. But it is indeed big, and poolside beverage service after the lifts close can't be beat. I'm looking forward to staying in a 1BR my next trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Lone Peak, hot tub, and the lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    44
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
41
34
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a very nice ski in-ski out hotel. Our room had a fireplace, jetted garden tub, and a beautiful view of the mountain. The service was very good, and the staff was helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our stay and hope to return again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room over-looking the lifts and the hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Big Sky has it all. Snow, slopes, short lift lines and the Summit. We recently returned from a week in Montana and enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Summit. The accomodations were spot on, the concierge extremely helpful and the restaurants and related bars excellent.
The outdoor firepits, pool and adjacent hot tub offered spectacular views of the mountain.
And it was ski in and ski out. The staff was very helpful- do not go without scheduling a day snowmobile trip to Yellowstone!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

So, so handy for the slopes, which makes this hotel great. We had a self catered room, with a bed which folded away into a cupboard, but was really comfy. Our view as over the slopes which was also fab.
Breakfast was included as part of our package and I have to say was absolutely fantastic, fresh fruit, pancakes, omelettes, hot full breakfast all buffs style and superb.
The hotel bar was popular at the end of the day, and although more pricey than local pubs, it was a great atmosphere.
And the hot tub and gym were superb
A great location and fab stay

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My first stay at The Summit. Arrived at BZE with Karst shuttle reservations. A little more than an hour to Big Sky. Entered the hotel lobby and quickly given room and information. Carried my equipment to the 7th floor, entered the room, and noticed that the toilet was broken. Went back down and asked for an alternate room -- 706. Took about 45 minutes, but eventually got a better east facing efficiency with Murphy bed, small kitchen, and large bath. Room was good with the exception of pass doors between rooms that allow conversation to be heard. Otherwise accommodations were good. Breakfast (came with room) was generous. Restaurant staff were well prepared to help. Food was good. The one dinner at the restaurant was also good.Staff clean room each day, and turn down at night. Recommended, but beware rooms adjacent to elevators (loud ding) and would recommend views to the mountains.

Room Tip: The Solace Spa in the Huntley was a very good experience. Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I've stayed at the Summit four times now during conferences at the Big Sky Resort. I think it is the best place to stay at the resort due to its location and excellent services. It is about 10 stories high overlooking Lone Mountain peak on one side and the Spanish peaks on the other side. I'd recommend getting a room with a view of Lone peak (ie the ski resort) if possible, as the other direction also overlooks the parking lot.

The main lifts for the resort are literally steps away. You just can't stay closer to a ski lift anywhere I've ever been. There is also an huge swim-through indoor/outdoor hot tub with a view of the mountain where you can watch people go off of ski jumps. Oh, and you can get bar service from the hot tub. It is really an amazing and beautiful place to stay.

The rooms are clean, modern, and spacious with just a hint of rustic style. I usually stay in an summit studio room that also has a kitchen. However, you will feel more like you are staying in a hotel than a ski lodge or cabin.

The breakfast in the Summit Peaks restaurant is a real feature. It is the best hotel buffet breakfast I have ever had. It was hard to avoid having eggs, bacon, sausage, oat meal, fresh berries, coffee, and pastries every morning because each was delicious. Each item is well above average. There is also a gorgeous view of the sun hitting Lone peak in the morning.

The staff is also excellent, especially considering they are all basically ski bums there for the mountain. Very friendly people always willing to discuss ski conditions or help you find the best runs.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Lone Peak (ie the ski resort) have a better view. Also, the studios on this side are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I stayed here for a recent conference over at the Shoshone Condo complex with my family.
Very nice hotel/condo that is slopeside. We had a one bedroom condo, which is really a basic 2 double bed hotel room with an opening to a studio with pull down queen bed and kitchen. The rooms are not large, but they are well appointed. The kitchen in the studio was nice to have with the full size refridgerator and complete set of pots/pans/dishes and dishwasher/oven/microwave. We found with a family of 5 and 3 small children that it was just easier to stop and load up on groceries for the week, then to venture out in the few restaurants at the base.

The Hotel is very nice, and easy to manuever around.
The pool is really an outdoor large hottub slopeside-very nice to sit and relax after skiing.
We loved the fact that they provide a voucher to store your skiis right at the base of the lifts, but they could not accomadate the childrens skiis. Not a big deal to take them to the room.
Literally we would ski to the hotel outside sitting area, take off the skiis, and walk maybe 100 feet through the hotel to the elevators and we were up in our room for a nice lunch. It was great to be so close and not have to worry about eating bars or taking off all the gear at a restaurant. This is the best ski trip with the little children we have ever had because this was the easiest access to our room. We loved it and will be coming back next year. The bonus is that we did not have to pay for lift tickets for the children while staying at the summit. All in all this is a great hotel, at the base of the mountain with little more then 100ft to the lifts.

Room Tip: We had a view of the parking lot, not bad but the view of the slopes would have been better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Summit At Big Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit At Big Sky

Address: 50 Big Sky Resort Road, Big Sky Resort, Big Sky, MT 59716
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Summit At Big Sky 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Euro-Western Summit at Big Sky has been the vacation choice of both President Obama and Vice President Biden. The Summit is one of the finest slopeside properties in the Rockies with primary high-capacity lifts only 100 yards away. The Summit combines luxury appointments with a prime location in the heart of the Mountain Village Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Summit At Big Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summit At Big Sky Hotel Big Sky
Summit Hotel Big Sky
Summit Big Sky
Big Sky Summit
The Summit At Big Sky Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Summit At Big Sky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.