We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Summit At Big Sky

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Summit At Big Sky to your Saves list
The Summit At Big Sky
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Big Sky Resort Road, Big Sky Resort, Big Sky, MT 59716   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Big Sky
MA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2008

Stayed here for a conference for 5 days. Overall, very nice hotel - modern facilities, nicely decorated, and good amenities. The hotel is located directly adjacent to the slopes - truly a ski-in-ski-out hotel. Very clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and very helpful. There is a nice fitness center and a heated pool located right next to the slopes. Some nice pluses were having a guest laundry and wireless throughout the hotel.

Would have to say though that the restaurants in the hotel are so-so. Room service breakfast is very good though!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — restaurants were so-so
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    49
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
42
35
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2007

Good hotel, very beautiful area, amazing setting, would be PERFECT for skiing.

Supposed to be a four or five star, but really a very nice tourist class three star. Coffee maker in room is one of my favorite touches in a hotel.

Comfortable beds, nice decor, but pretty simple, looks like everything was bought at Target or something.

It's about the setting though, and good thing. The food in the Restaurants isn't up to par either.

Still, I'd love to spend a weekend here doing nothing.

Oh, yeah, a ski resort hotel with no Sauna????????????

  • Liked — Scenery
  • Disliked — Food quality
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

I've stayed in Big syky twice in 3 years, visited all the other hotels, and dispite it's problems with management and inexperienced staff (if you travel you realize that this is a problem everywhere) it is by far the nicest place to stay in Big Sky.
It is very clean, quiet, very upscale, has great views, a nice pool, and good food.
There are 2-4 bedroom Penthouse condos on the top/10th floor which I highly recommend. They are luxurios with plenty of room to spread out. Room rates are negotiable and they are seldom booked in the summer.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

In the summer, because this property is off the beaten path there are very nice rooms at a good price. However, Big Sky is missing the mark on a lot of opportunities. For instance, they advertise frisbee golf which can be fun...but this course is for the pros and not advisable for children. Mt. biking is for downhillers only with very, very limited cross county trails
In terms of planning an event here in the summer...forget it. It was a living nightmare. Bills have been sent to the wrong guests, they booked us in a room for 500 when our party was only 30.
Again, nice facility, but the management really needs to step it up.
The scenary is beautiful and the small amount of people in the summer may be desireable for some. I'm just wondering where everyone parks in the winter? Very, limited parking.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2007

Some interpersonal inefficiencies on the part of hotel staff. I requested that a two-page fax be sent at the front desk. Once sent, I requested that I receive a confirmation. The individual staffing the desk replied, "We only get a confirmation if a fax has not been successfully sent. Usually, if a fax has been received, we get no output and you can therefore assume that the fax has been successfully sent." Not a good response! The front desk should have had the capability to confirm faxes, especially if you are charging your guests to send and receive faxes! In my case, this was $4.00.

Next, after boiling in the heat of a 78-degree room, I asked the front desk for the location of the thermostat in my room. I made an extra plea to have maintenance come to the room to have a look. Sure enough, the thermostat was hidden behind the bed board. Here's my suggestion: Have the front desk offer a maintenance review instead of having guests trying to look for ways to fix the problem!

In any event, we enjoyed some lovely service for the most part and wonderful scenery. I'm concerned, however, that the service observations that I have outlined, could inure to the detriment of future guests.

  • Liked — Natural Beauty
  • Disliked — Indifferent and Unseasoned Staff
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, MT
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2007

'Twas the last week of ski season and all through the hotel, few creatures were stirring, and oh, how quiet it was! The employees were pleasant, the food was grand, the beds were oh so soft, Starbucks coffee for convenience in the rooms, great view of Lone Mountain, the room & bathroom were clean & bright. Great business trip!

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Summit At Big Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit At Big Sky

Address: 50 Big Sky Resort Road, Big Sky Resort, Big Sky, MT 59716
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Summit At Big Sky 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Euro-Western Summit at Big Sky has been the vacation choice of both President Obama and Vice President Biden. The Summit is one of the finest slopeside properties in the Rockies with primary high-capacity lifts only 100 yards away. The Summit combines luxury appointments with a prime location in the heart of the Mountain Village Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Summit At Big Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summit At Big Sky Hotel Big Sky
Summit Hotel Big Sky
Summit Big Sky
Big Sky Summit
The Summit At Big Sky Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Summit At Big Sky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.