We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Annual Visit - it gets better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Summit At Big Sky

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Summit At Big Sky to your Saves list
The Summit At Big Sky
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Big Sky Resort Road, Big Sky Resort, Big Sky, MT 59716   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Big Sky
Belmont, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“2nd Annual Visit - it gets better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I stayed at the Summit at Big Sky to spend some time skiing in early February just as I did last year. My wife and I checked into a nice studio on the 7th floor of the hotel/condo. The room faced Lone Mountain, which provided a very good view. As I found in the past the staff was very helpful from the housekeeping staff to the bellmen. They all went out of there way to be helpful. The studios have murphy beds but we found them to be comfortable and easy to handle. The hotel keeps the rooms a little warm for sleeping but I solved the problem by opening the window. Plus with the window open during sleeping my nose didn't dry out as much. Once at the hotel, we never took our car out of the heated garage during our entire stay. I found the people that work in this small mountain community to be so helpful, I didn't feel a need to travel anyplace. Mother nature even managed to dump some snow on us while we were there, which has been pretty rare this season. I can't say enough about the ski slopes, they have something for everyone and no lift lines.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Lone Peak, although there are mountains of both sides of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    49
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
42
35
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
va
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

The Summit has everything you need for a great ski vacation. An excellent concierge, nice rooms, and a variety of restaurants and bars all help make this a great place to stay. Walk to the lifts and ski rental places. Be sure to ask for a room with a mountain view.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I made our reservations a few months ahead of time with the reservations person at Big Sky directly. She was very helpful and got us a mountain view room with a jetted tub at no extra charge. Lift tickets were also included. We stayed in a 6th floor (2 elevators for guests meant little waiting) studio condo with plenty of space and top notch amenities. The bed is a wall bed which saves floor space but was very comfortable. The bathroom was quite spacious with a jetted tub large enough for two adults and a separate shower plus two sinks. The living room included a gas fireplace (this was sort of lame as far as not exactly "roaring"). There was also a kitchen with full-sized electric range, oven, microwave, dishwasher and refrigerator. My husband was excited about the full-size coffee pot. The room was also serviced daily. The location could not have been more convenient to the lifts and the package included overnight ski storage next to the lifts. The breakfast buffet (all you could want to eat) was included and was over the top great. Other amenities in the building were a fitness room with some barbells and a universal gym, several different cardio- machines and a "pool" that was really a giant hot tub (with both an in- and out-doors section. There was a nicer restaurant (scene of the breakfast buffet) as well as a more casual (but still upscale) bar. There was also a ski clothing store. The guest laundry was a nice perk- the washing machines were free with soap available in a vending machine and the dryers were a quarter for 12 minutes ($1 was quite adequate to get the clothes dry even on perm press). The staff was universally friendly and helpful from giving change for the laundry to suggesting good places to ski for the day. It was so nice staying in the room, I didn't feel bad about taking some time off from skiing!

Room Tip: Ask for a jetted tub and mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My family attended a conference at Big Sky and extended the trip into a vacation. The Summit location is unbeatable for skiing. You went out the door and and within five minutes had your skis on and were headed up the lift. We stayed in a two bedroom, which included a center room with a living room and kitchen, a king size bedroom on one side and two queens on the opposite side. There was a seperate bathroom for each room. If we'd needed, there was a murphy bed and pull out couch. We had plenty of room and no problems with housekeeping. The front desk and concierge were helpful. There was a room to leave your skis. Due to our conference, the breakfast buffet was in another hotel (Huntley Lodge) which was a short walk from The Summit. The rooms did not have a washer or dryer, but there was a laundry facility which was free for the washer and the dryers took quarters. The outdoor pool was a big hit with the kids after skiing.

We have stayed in several ski resorts on the East Coast, as well as in Vail and Beaver Creek. While The Summit lack the luxury and numerous shops of Vail and Beaver Creek, the friendliness and concern of the staff made this one of my favorite trips. My family has already begun to plan when we can return to Montana and see it in the summer.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was fine. Great location.

Mold in shower. One of my pet peeves. No excuse for it.

For some reason they have heat programmed to 68 degrees. You change it and shortly it goes back to 68. If you are a "cool" sleeper it's a real problem. Hotl management didn't seem to care.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011 via mobile

Housekeeping....needs a refresher course, room attention was minimal at best the first night. The second, garbage was removed but towels ,robes were not. With a weeping head injury, I bled a tiny amount onto a pillow. after housekeeping "serviced" This pillowcase was turned over to face the bed! Not replaced!
One roll of toiletpaper did not last and a second roll needed two days and three phone calls to replace. With teenage girls in tow, TP gets used.
Our third nite....
We returned from skiing to find our "service room" sign still on the door, room untouched. Room service trays still in room, trollies were retrieved and removed by ?
We called for housekeeping. Told them we were going out for dinner. We returned 4 hours later , trays from room service were removed. Not the dishes... Still no TP, nor any sign of housekeeping. Three phone calls , front desk,housekeeping,front desk again.... An attendant brought 1 roll for our 2 toilets...we had to call for robes and towels as this attendant was instructed to bring a roll of TP. We collected all of our garbage cans and emptied them for our attendant.
Summit hotel has fantastic front line staff, however the housekeeping and other behind the scene folks may need help. Lazy inconsistent service will allow me to visit a different ski resort for the years to come. We take 3-5 ski vacations a year, this is our last stay at the Summit. There are better options elsewheres.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We have always stayed in a condo atmosphere in Big Sky and this year we tried the Summit. We had a 1 bedroom suite which was one bedroom with 2 queen beds and in the living room area there was a pull down bed which was also queen sized and a pull out sofa, fireplace, small kitchen, dining table and two large full baths, one had a jacuzzi tub. It was more like a big one bedroom condo than a hotel. We had a wonderful view of the lifts and Lone Peak from all rooms. The staff provided excellent service, answered any questions, took care of all of our needs we had at anytime no matter the hour. We loved the turn down service, just to make the beds more cozy. The concierge was great in suggesting things to do and places to eat, they were all very knowledgeable of the area. We ate at all of the restaurants on the property and the food was very good, nice hot chocolate/coffee stand in the "hang out" area between the two restaurants. Also has a great outdoor hot tub, I hear one of the largest you will find. Easy to get to from inside. This is a great place to experience skiing/snowboarding at Big Sky. You can't go wrong here, just get ready to be spoiled. The Summit is a beautiful place to stay, we recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view and a high floor to experience Lone Peak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Summit At Big Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit At Big Sky

Address: 50 Big Sky Resort Road, Big Sky Resort, Big Sky, MT 59716
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Summit At Big Sky 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Euro-Western Summit at Big Sky has been the vacation choice of both President Obama and Vice President Biden. The Summit is one of the finest slopeside properties in the Rockies with primary high-capacity lifts only 100 yards away. The Summit combines luxury appointments with a prime location in the heart of the Mountain Village Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Summit At Big Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summit At Big Sky Hotel Big Sky
Summit Hotel Big Sky
Summit Big Sky
Big Sky Summit
The Summit At Big Sky Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Summit At Big Sky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.