We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was our second visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montana Dinner Yurt

Montana Dinner Yurt
1 Lone Mountain Trail, Big Sky, MT
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 57 Restaurants in Big Sky
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ringgold, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“This was our second visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We visited the Montana Dinner Yurt last year when we were in Big Sky and had so much fun we decided to repeat the experience. It was just as much fun as we remembered. We were driven up the mountain in Snow Cats. On arrival we were served hot cocoa and french onion soup. We then had an opportunity to warm ourselves at the fire pit or participate in the sledding, which was hilarious fun, after which we returned for the main course of beef tenderloin or salmon, both of which were quite tasty and served family style. Dessert was a wonderful fondue that we thoroughly enjoyed. We will certainly come back the next time we are in Big Sky.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    8
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zeeland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unique Dining Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

What a fun splurge for us and the kids (16 & 14)! The dinner yurt will not soon be forgotten. It was a COLD night, but well worth the ride on top of the snow cat for spectacular stars! They provide the blankets, and it was only a 15 min ride, so it was worth riding on top! I would strongly suggest wearing multiple layers/snow gear because the yurt is not as 'toasty' as the website suggests. I was seated next to the side wall of the yurt and even with the stove directly behind me, I was glad I had my snow pants on. We were given VERY hot plates for our meal and the food was very hot and stayed that way despite the cooler temps in the yurt. The kids loved the chocolate fondue and our table made short work of that tasty treat! It was a splurge for our family, but we were glad we did!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were there 12/21/12. We had such a great time, there were nine of us (family-all adults) it was great fun, great food and entertainment! The sledding is a blast too :-)

Be sure to ride on the top of the snowcat...the stars are amazing!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

A definite if you are in the area, the experience was fabulous! From the ride up, to the sledding, to the food (oh my delicious!) and all around great night! The stars were amazing to view, and it was great meeting tons of new people! Don't sell your kids short - mine (10 and 8) went with the filet and the salmon - and ate it all! I would highly recommend the Yurt if you can go!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Wow what a Yurt!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

I have no idea what I paid but I sure has a good time! This is marketing lesson: it's better to be different than it is to be better. My family had a blast! This Is a very unique experience.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montana Dinner Yurt also viewed

 

Been to Montana Dinner Yurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montana Dinner Yurt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.