We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montana Dinner Yurt

Montana Dinner Yurt
1 Lone Mountain Trail, Big Sky, MT
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 57 Restaurants in Big Sky
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ringgold, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Had a wonderful time, I would definately recommend for groups of all ages.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    8
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A fun experience and good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

For children, young and old, this is a different and fun evening out! Riding up the slopes inside or on top of, a snow cat is quite the experience. Once at the top, the food is very good and the service is professional. Try it!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“WOW, I couldn't have dreamed for a better time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

The Montana Dinner Yurt was an absolutely amazing time, we got to ride on top of the snow cat up to a private yurt at the Big Sky Resort. They had soup waiting for us and after the soup you take your first sledding break. They have a sled hill right outside the yurt, lit up by tiki torches. Then you go back inside for a delicious dinner, served family style. The atmosphere in the yurt is simply described as superb, they have a guy playing on a guitar and the yurt is candle lit. I could see this place as being a great out of this world date (I was with a platonic friend, so no romance). After dinner you take another sled break and who doesn't love a sled break? The laughter and smiles filled the snow hill as people flew down the hill. After our second sled break, we headed back inside for a chocolate fondue dessert and that pretty much blew my mind. After the dessert you get back on the snow cat and head back down the hill to the lodge. I would recommend this to couples, families, singles and anyone who just wants an amazing time! A big thank you to the staff, they were very nice and helped make it an even more special experience.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Such a fun night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Montana Dinner Yurt is such a fun experience!! You meet up at the Summit Hotel at the "cow couches", and head up to a dinner yurt via snow cat. (Make sure you get outside first if you have a big group so you can ride on top of the cat!!) You take about a 20 minute ride up to the dinner yurt which is surrounded by flaming tiki torches - a nice touch! After the cold ride, you're definitely ready for the bowl of steaming hot soup they immediately place in front of you upon arrival. While you wait for the rest of the meal to cook, sledding outside is a blast!! The dinner options were quite good and they can accommodate vegetarians as well - choices being an amazing filet mignon, salmon, or vegetarian pasta along with all the side fixings! There's an even a guy playing some fun songs on his guitar while you eat creating a perfect atmosphere. After a delightful dinner, some more sledding is in order before an amazing fondue dessert - YUM! Remember, this dinner is BYOB so bring your own alcohol if you want it with dinner :). After a fun-filled evening, you head back to the Summit on your snow cat.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great dinner adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

We thought they were joking when they asked if we wanted to ride on top of the snowcat! The clear cold night was beautiful and the laughter kept us warm while sliding around a bit on the cushions up there (with rails for safety and blankets for bundling). Up at the Yurt, the kids had a blast on the short sled run, and the food was plentiful and delicious! The entertainment was low key local and contact lens wearers might have a little trouble with the wood stove smoke, but we had a fabulous time and will definitely reccommend it to friends! We were back on top of the snow cat for the ride down the mountain, but more timid diners can ride inside.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montana Dinner Yurt also viewed

 

Been to Montana Dinner Yurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montana Dinner Yurt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.