We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay Visiting Yellowstone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Big Sky

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Big Sky to your Saves list
The Lodge at Big Sky
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Sitting Bull Road, Big Sky, MT 59716 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Mountain Inn Big Sky)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Big Sky
Idaho
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Overnight Stay Visiting Yellowstone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at The Lodge during a quick weekend trip to Yellowstone National Park. The rooms were large and most of us thought the beds were very comfortable. It was the off season but the staff made sure our party had a great experience at their hotel. They made a fire outside so we could enjoy s'mores and beverages at night which gave us a change to meet other hotel guest. They also made sure we had reservations that night for one of the local restaurants. I was entertaining friends from Europe so they wanted to try both elk and bison. Everyone thought there was a good selection for breakfast the morning we left. Check in/out was very easy and quick. We were staying during the off season the the room rates were highly discounted.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinL285, Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at The Lodge. We hope to have you back in the future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    79
    37
    16
    10
See reviews for
85
72
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
kiama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We found this hotel by accident in our travels, the rooms were huge, service was fantastic and they couldn't do enough for you even though it was off season and they don't have many travelers the only problem I had wad the plastic plate and utensils for breakfast

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinL285, Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are always open to new ideas and are constantly making upgrades to our services and amenities. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Plains, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We spend 5 nights at The Lodge at Big Sky in Big Sky, Montana for a get away, fly fishing trip since my husband was interested in fishing the Gallatin River. There are actually three areas at Big Sky; the Canyon along the main road, the Meadow starting up the mountain, and the Mountain Village at about 2290 meters. Each area has restaurant, shops, etc. It is a drive off the main road (Hwy 191) up to the Lodge located in the Mountain Village, about 9 miles, but it does abound with wildlife and beautiful scenery. At the Mountain Village there are amusements, shops, and restaurants within walking distance of the lodge. There are several hotels, close to one another, which we were not expecting, but there still was a beautiful view. The Lodge itself has a friendly staff, an indoor pool, and outdoor as well as indoor hot tubs. Although there is not a restaurant or bar in the summer, there is a drink/snackshop. The rooms are large and nicely furnished and come with fridge, micro, wet sink, etc. to do meals in the room if one so chooses. There is a breakfast included with hot and cold items, which perhaps could be somewhat expanded. The lounge is very nicely done with a great view of Lone Mountain and decorated in a Prairie motif. If you want a room with a view of the mountains, expect to pay for it. We booked online then learned upon arrival that if we wanted a room with a view, it would be quite a bit more per night. All in all, after checking out the prices for the other hotels in the area, The Lodge was by far the best buy.

Room Tip: There are three categories of rooms; without a view, a view of the meadow, or with a view of the mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinL285, Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us and the area. Big Sky is well spread out on the mountain, with each village having its own charm and differences. We are happy that you chose to stay with us. We hope you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our family got to enjoy a trip to Big Sky Montana. We made last minute reservations and the hotel was very accommodating. The room was a nice big room. We had a room overlooking the valley. In the main area of the hotel, we had a nice cozy feel. They had TV's a many board games to entertain the guest. I loved the feel of the place. The hotel is right next to the ski lifts, which during our trip were not in season. We were only a few minutes from the gorgeous town, that happened to have music in the park for some great entertainment. This is a place that I will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinL285, Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed The Lodge and its many offerings. We constantly strive to satisfy and delight our guests in as many ways as we can. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We just came up for a quick visit. I imagine the area is very busy in the Ski Season, and convenient too. Beautiful in summer, would love to see in winter! The Meadow Village is busier area this time of year, so the mountain area was a little quiet. Lots of talk of the upcoming off season by employees around the resort areas. Much needed break I am sure!

Check-in was easy & the employees were very kind. The lodge great room was inviting, and the information of the property amenities was appreciated.

The room and hallway carpet was stained, but in looking at the reviews perhaps the exterior bedding was new, but not the sheets. Nothing remarkable about the bathroom, and the towels were not best (thin & one was torn).

The room itself is VERY spacious, it would be nice size with ski gear/winter garb. There is also a nice size sink/frig/microwave area that would be great for longer stays and quick snacks. We did not make it to breakfast, so I cannot comment on that.

You can hear the noise from the rooms around you, but the "neighbors" were considerate with their personal noise. If someone around you showers, flushes the toilet, etc it is not without notice.

I would return if the price was right, but honestly I expected more as Big Sky is known for Big Money...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinL285, Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments and feedback with suggestions of how to improve the property. We hope you return this winter and stay with us on your next ski trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very nice place to stay if you're in Big Sky, very close to most of the places on Lone Mountain - walking distance for sure. The rooms are certainly adequate but are very 'lodgy' so if a lot of wood puts you off it might not be enjoyable. The mountain view rooms are worth the extra cost for sure. No restaurant on site is disappointing and the bar is not open during the summer which could be an issue for some people.

Room Tip: Get the mountain view room - it's well worth the small extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinL285, Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for your positive review of the Lodge. We truly value your feedback and your business and hope to see you return the next time you travel to Big Sky.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We recently stayed at the Lodge at Big Sky for my son's wedding, we stayed 4 nights. We had a block of rooms and several family members stayed at the lodge. The Manager, Jeremy went out of his way to help find a caterer/location for the rehearsal dinner. I could not have done it without his help. The entire staff made us feel welcome from the time we arrived to the time we left. The gentleman who built us a fire outside every night was super friendly and had lots of knowledge about the area and the various wildlife. We looked forward to chatting with him every evening. Unfortunately, I cannot recall his name. There were a couple of negatives to the lodge; the interior, it was a little worn and outdated, but still clean and I would stay again and the breakfast left a little to be desired but the customer service and friendly staff made our stay quite enjoyable!

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinL285, Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us and the positive comments about the Lodges’ customer service. We look forward to the next opportunity to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Big Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Big Sky

Address: 75 Sitting Bull Road, Big Sky, MT 59716 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Mountain Inn Big Sky)
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Big Sky
#4 Family Hotel in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Big Sky 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the Base Village area yet quiet and private, The Lodge at Big Sky is Big Sky's only private Ski In/Out resort located slope side in Big Sky Montana. We are the best value on the mountain. Come visit us and see what sets us apart from the others:) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Lodge at Big Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Big Sky Hotel Big Sky
Hotel Big Sky
The Lodge At Big Sky Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Big Sky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.