We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Big Sky

Save Saved
You added The Lodge at Big Sky to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lodge at Big Sky
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Sitting Bull Road, Big Sky, MT 59716 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Mountain Inn Big Sky)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Big Sky
Massillon, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We loved it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We went the first week after it opened for the summer season. The staff was fantastic, friendly and warm. We stayed two nights waiting on the rain to move out. The room was cozy,warm and comfortable. The bathroom was big and clean. We swam indoors and had a hot tub outside with a view of the mountains. The pool was warm and clean. The kids played ping pong while my husband and I did laundry. They even have a fire pit on the back patio and told the kids that if the rain stops they could roast marshmallows. The buffet breakfast was good. Not enough protien though. Over all we loved it. We did alot of lounging and it was perfect for that!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyJ, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Glad to hear you had a great time up here in Big Sky! Next time you come out hopefully the weather is better so you can enjoy the outdoor fire pit and BBQ area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    75
    35
    14
    9
See reviews for
79
66
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Butte, Montana
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I am a frequent guest to Big Sky, and I must say that this weekend was incredibly terrible.

Let me start off with getting there. We got to the hotel just in time for breakfast the day we checked in, and it was VERY minimal. Frozen food, no choices. A toaster, and some muffins. Checking into our room.... They said we could go to our room and when we got there it wasn't cleaned yet. Bed not made, garbage everywhere, dirty bathroom, etc.

Got towed with no notice like ALL of the other cars, and then the General manager "Jeremy" could not provide an explanation.(No signs that said no parking, Fire lane, anything) We had no means of transportation, all of our food and money was in that car. Could not get a later checkout time, because of course we were there to ski, and we missed out on the last day of the season because of "Jeremy". And all he could provide was a shuttle to get the car.

"Jeremy" was incredibly rude. In his mind, the costumer is NEVER right. His employees were terribly rude also.

We now know why the hotel is priced much lower than all the other hotels, because you get the service that you payed for... CHEAP. The atmosphere was not even one that should be at a big time resort like Big Sky. Last resort place because all other places were booked.

I would never reccomend this hotel to ANYONE. "Jeremy" also manages a hotel in Bozeman, and Butte MT, which are equally as terrible.

Thank you "Jeremy" for ruining what should have been an Excellent time in Big Sky MT.

Life lessons....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyJ, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
It was unfortunate that we had to have you and your vehicle removed from the property. Best of luck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

If you're looking for an inexpensive lodge option at Big Sky, then this place is fantastic! I had a nice big room on the ground floor, which wasn't flash, but had everything I needed plus more, including a small kitchenette area with sink, fridge and microwave. The staff were all really helpful - in particular the dude driving the shuttle, who went out of his way to help me out when I got injured. I really enjoyed the free breakfast and the free wifi was faster than in some fancy hotels where you pay a fortune. Oh, and I loved the lounge area with the open fire and huge windows looking out to the mountains. I rarely used the free shuttle, since it's just a 5 min walk to the mountain village where the shops, restaurants & ski lifts are located. The pool and the jacuzzi, along with much of the property, are a little old, but they do the job just fine. My only complaint would be the noise of the heating, but then I just turned it off and it was plenty warm enough inside although it was around 0F outside. If you know what to expect, you should love this place for the price, facilities and convenience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyJ, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback on our shuttle driver and our facility. We are glad you liked the lounge layout with the mountain back drop. Hopefully mother nature will grace us with another great snow year in 2013/2014 and we will see you back up enjoying our deep dry powder!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to The Lodge for six years and have never been treated so poorly. The bar "operator" is a complete idiot, power hungry jerk. He told our group of 14 families that he didn't need our business. The front desk is unfriendly. Lets people smoke in stairwell. Doesn't like to make extra keys for guests! Shuttle bus is slow and not very accommodating. Only housekeeping has been great and hardworking. Sad that it has turned out like this. We miss Jeff!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyJ, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We're sorry you seem to had problems with our Lounge and Front Desk staff. Thank you for the great comments on our housekeeping. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Nice hotel. Very attentive management and staff. Great location. Services were adequate. My only issue, really, is the lack of light in the hotel rooms. And the need from less room noise. Sound like a small issues, but it's actually quite palpable. Lack of room light is really noticeable when you look outside when snow is on the ground. Management has installed these energy-saver twisted lightbulbs. OK, I'm fine with that. But it leaves the rooms which already suffer from a lack a central ceiling light real dark. Floor lamps don't do a lot. Instead they have low wattage energy saver lights which makes your room seem like a cave. Regarding sound, on the third floor they have air and heat ducts that run the length of the building. if you leave the room heating and air on the "off' position there is no noise. But if it's hot or cold in the rooms, you're in for a low whooshing sounds that will drive light sleepers a little batty!! My suggestion is to go for a lower floor on a south facing direction. I tried to move rooms, but they couldn't accommodate me.
Otherwise, Jeremy and staff are great!

Room Tip: Select a room that doesn't have an overhead air/heat duct if you want quiet and go for a sunny r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyJ, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for the great feed back on the attentiveness of our staff. We will be working be addressing the swooshing noise that came into your room when then air/heat was turned on. We hope to see you this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Oaks, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Overall, this is a decent place, especially as a value proposition. Nightly rates are much lower than the competition (Huntley/Summit) and you're still within walking distance of the village/lifts. The views are excellent and the staff is competent and friendly.

That said, if management spent a night or two here, they'd easily see the opportunities for improvement. And they're cheap and easily achieved. Here are a few changes I think would contribute to a better experience:

- Make good coffee. The coffee served at breakfast is easily the worst I've seen at any ski
resort in the country. I can only assume that the people who run this place are not coffee
drinkers, and would not recognize differences in coffee quality. But for many of us coffee is
an essential ingredient to a good breakfast, and the start of the day. This is easy to fix, just
pick a high quality brand such as Starbucks. Easy!

- Put a little more investment into breakfast. How about some bacon or sausages! The dining area would smell much better. Maybe some homemade oatmeal. If management would just take a look at what a good motel chain puts out there, say Country Inn and Suites, take some notes and emulate what those people do, the Lodge's breakfast would be at least as good as you'd find along the interstate system. A pretty low bar for a ski resort lodge!

- Upgrade the TV sets to current technology. Flat screen TVs are the obvious choice. It seems to me that one of management's parameters would be to be at or above the standards set by the big motel chains.

There are a number of reviews giving demerits for the shuttle. My take on the shuttle problem is a bit different. The walk to the base area, although not terribly long or strenuous, especially for skiers, is not very pleasant. Much of it is on a busy road. If there were a walking path along side the road, perhaps more people would choose to walk rather than be subject to the shuttle's schedule. This is not a revolutionary idea, most destination resorts have good walking paths because most skiers also enjoy walking. Boots can be easily carried to the base, where there are many lockers available for little money. Skis can be checked overnight at the base for a reasonable fee. Of course, this is a resort investment deficiency rather than a Lodge issue. But I just wanted to put that out there.

So, for my wife and me it was a mixed bag. If we return, we'll definitely bring our Mr. Coffee brewer and a good supply of Starbucks or Caribou coffee! Enjoy.

Room Tip: Choose the mountain view if you can afford it. It's spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyJ, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback concerning our breakfast. We will be coming out with a "new" breakfast in the Summer of 2013 based on your comments and feedback. I will pass along the great feed back about our staff and hope to see you in this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Jeremy, i was there with Boeing Ski club a few weeks ago for my first ski Trip out West...We had a wonderful experience... The rooms were nice , spacious, clean and the view of the sunrise over the mountain spectacular... It was very quiet until the Rail Jammers arrived on our last night ...You and your wife were very accommodating - really could not have been any pleasanter! I would love to stay again... Oh and by the way... Your "crock pot " breakfast was fine...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyJ, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thanks for you great feedback. Hope to see you this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Big Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Big Sky

Address: 75 Sitting Bull Road, Big Sky, MT 59716 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Mountain Inn Big Sky)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Big Sky
#2 Spa Hotel in Big Sky
#6 Family Hotel in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Big Sky 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the Base Village area yet quiet and private, The Lodge at Big Sky is Big Sky's only private Ski In/Out resort located slope side in Big Sky Montana. We are the best value on the mountain. Come visit us and see what sets us apart from the others:) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Lodge at Big Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Big Sky Hotel Big Sky
Hotel Big Sky
The Lodge At Big Sky Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Big Sky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.